We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine, comfortable hotel with top class facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #15 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

It would be easy for a hotel this large to feel empty and unaccommodating however the Corinthia is anything but. From its impressive lobby area, friendly/helpful staff, to the large perfectly kept rooms (with fantastic all marble bathrooms) you really get the best of everything.

Complimentary WiFi was great and fast when unwinding in the rooms and the house keeping service were fantastic.

Cannot fault this hotel. Its setting, it's staff, its spa, it's proximity to rapid transport links, this establishment has it all.

Would definitely return to it or a branch in another city.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darragh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our complimentary WiFi service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 7,389 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Two Australian couples have just stayed 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and has such astonishing history. Food and service was outstanding and rooms were spacious and comfortable. If I had a complaint it would be that some of the wait staff in the restaurant were a little 'gruff' but nothing could take away from the grandeur of the hotel and the comfort of the stay. A great experience!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tulloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I appreciate you mentioning our history, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest History section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is very nice, luxurious and clean. The room was great- nice desighned with comfortable bed and sitting area with spacious marble bathroom.
We both liked the Mezzani executive V.I.P. Club where you can enjoy glas of wine, snack, coffee etc and the very good breakfast in the main restaurant.
The SPA area is very good with swimming pool, steam, sauna etc- great bonus is, that kids are allowed only from 11 am till 3 pm.
It was simply great and by our next time we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for mentioning our Royal Spa facilities, from about you may find further information on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hi all,
I have been at the Corinthia for a week end , and on my own,I had a Great experience there, and It has been like living in a castle , surronded by lot of smiles and kindness from everyone, The staff is polite and well trained, the service was good, the quality of the food excellent, and what was really surprising me, was the 24 hour room service , fast and good, with any kind of spoilt you will never even believe about.
Thank you so much to all of you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scelsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. I appreciate your recognition of our staff who take great pride in providing first-class service to our valued guests. We are enthusiastic about the prospect of welcoming you back in the near future.
Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived for a one night stop over having stayed at the Boscolo the week before so we were interested in comparing the two closely located 5 star hotels.

We arrived by cab and were greeted by a very keen young doorman who helped us in to the check in with our bags.

The hotel would benefit by changing their uniforms though (please drop the hat) unfortunately they tend to give a scruffy look which isn’t the fault of the staff.Bright shiny shoes also give a good first impression.

The check in desk staff were extremely well presented, “booted and suited” and professional and after a slight glitch we got checked in and made our way to our room.

The room was as exactly we expected and did what it said on the label so the accuracy of the hotels web site can be relied on so no surprises other than no turn down service which we took as standard for 5 star . All well presented and in good order

Also sadly no free bottled water!

Due to time constraints we didn’t use the pool or spa facilities but we did have a tour and they were unique and exceptional and when we return we will spend a day in the hotel using them! 10 out of 10!

This hotel is very slightly higher priced compared to the same standard competitors within the same location and its worth the money if you are sassy enough to secure a sensible deal before you book.

All the staff we met were well trained,polite, and spoke excellent English and were extremely welcoming.

This was especially noticeable at breakfast which was a very pleasant experience.
Also special credit to the brasserie staff and manager! We had an excellent dinner in the brasserie- I highly recommend that if you visit the Corinthia you dine in the hotel!

Check out was painless and prompt.

We will certainly stay at the Corinthia again just as we would the Boscolo , the spa at the Corinthia is however a huge plus and the dining there more refined and that’s what would just swing it for me

Well done Budapest- great hotel choices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and I had arranged in advance for the hotel car to pick me up. On that note, I had emailed back and forth with the concierge about various activities around the area before my arrival and he always was prompt and informative in his replies. The driver was waiting for me when I arrived and was polite and very nice and gave me some background about the city on the way to the hotel. The hotel itself is VERY clean. I mention this because cleanliness in a hotel is my very first priority. The pool is beautiful and plenty of room in the sauna and steam room. These are co-ed which was fine. I had a Chakra massage given by Lydia and it was nothing short of amazing. I stayed in a room that had a king bed (very comfortable) the pillows were a little lumpy but the sheets were clean as was the whole room. There was also a desk and small couch so plenty of space. I went alone but certainly plenty of room for two. The location is perfect. I walked around the city every day of the 5 days I was there and I found amazing areas East, West, North and South of the hotel. There are literally hundreds of cafes, restaurants, and bars within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. Budapest is a beautiful city and I would definitely stay at the Corinthia again. In fact, I will be looking up where their other locations are for my next adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLisa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was glad that you were impressed by the service provided by our staff and you pointed out our location. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from about you may find further details on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a fine hotel in a historic building that has been finished to a high specification. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The lobby area was beautiful with live music coming from the bar.
But the real selling point of this place is the great spa in the basement. As beautiful as some of the more famous ones elsewhere in the city if not as big. A real bonus for guests.
We didn't have the breakfast as we felt it was rather expensive and there were so many great cafés nearby. In fact the location was great for a number of things. A tram stop right in front of the hotel and the underground 5 minutes walk away.
My only small complaint was that it was so large (500+ rooms) it felt a little impersonal compared to some other nice hotels, but the helpful and friendly staff did their best to alleviate this and they all spoke perfect English.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MSE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and took advantage of our wonderful spa to refresh after your exciting adventures in the city. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,450 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £115 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing