We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #18 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible!”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Corinthia Grand Royal at the beginning of February and our stay was incredible from beginning to end.

Our original flight to Budapest was cancelled so we arrived later than expected at about midnight. As soon as our taxi pulled up outside the doorman greeted us and a porter came out to take our bags for us. The lobby of the hotel was very grand and completely spotless, to be honest we were both a bit lost for words!

After checking in the porter accompanied us to our room with our bags. We were given an upgrade to the executive room having missed a night of our stay due to the cancelled flight. The room was massive and beautifully furnished with a seating area and marble en suite. The bed was AMAZING!

During our stay we ate at the Rickshaw restaurant, not cheap but wholly worth it for the quality and service. We tried to eat at the Bock Bistro also attached to the hotel but this was fully booked unfortunately- quite a popular one I think! We also had coffee and pastries at the cafe attached which was also lovelyand reasonably priced. Recommend the chocolate mousse!

The spa was gorgeous. Probably down to the season but every time we went down there it was empty. Decent sized pool and 2 jacuzzis. Wer also made use of the saunas and steam rooms. All were impeccably maintained.

During our whole stay we never saw anything in the hotel that was less than immaculate and the staff were always discreet and efficient.

It was the perfect place for a romantic getaway; we would go back today if we could!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJack2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,529
    1,199
    271
    107
    52
See reviews for
928
3,885
213
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

This hotel is an average style hotel. the room was spacious and the spa facilities were overpriced. The staff are very professional and corteous,

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prehim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Just got back from Corinthia Grand Hotel and all I can say is "wow". Had a fantastic experience from the minute we stepped out of the taxi. Taken up to the executive lounge, served champagne and this was just the start of our weekend. Room was excellent, big, with views onto the front street. Executive lounge was great value, being served drinks and snacks any time of the day. Will certainly be returning - checking the dates already!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller40Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We had a great time here. Followed the advice and got an executive room. Access to the executive club is really useful both for breakfast and a pre and post dinner drink.

The staff were very helpful and the lcoation couldn't have been better. The attached Hungarian restaurant Bock was so good we went twice (and we wre only there 4 days!) Can highly recommend Lesko as a starter!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Highly recommend this hotel for the following:
- truly a 5 star in the North American sense
- not sure how - perhaps it's automatic or it's when you book a Superior room but you have access to the Executive Club floor which means a comfortable respite with complimentary breakfast, all day snacks and evening canapes with beverages. A fabulous deal
- the staff are very well-trained, they were pleasant, efficient, hard working, did upselling when and where appropriate and weren't in your face hanging around for tips - which is my mind compelled to want to tip more!
- clean hotel, very centally located - in fact liked that it was in the centre, halfway point to Heroes Square (about 25 min walk or 5 minute train ride); 10 min walk to New York Cafe; about 15-20 minute walk to Vaci street, about 10 minute walk to Opera / restaurant square (can't recall name) that has a fab restaurant Menza; whereas hotels such as Sofitel, Intercontinental, Four Seasons while near the bridge are further away from some of other spots I mentioned above)
- it was not promoted but through enquiring at hotel elected their car service from the airport and return, efficient, on tme, professional
- suitable for a lone traveller, was on my own for a couple of days before friends arrived; you could simply dine / snack in the Executive Club if you didn't fancy going out all the time on your own
- the pool and whirpools were fabulous, not overly busy (but could be Feb and during the week factor)
- would recommend skipping the spa services though, didn't measure up - I tried a facial and massage - should have read someone's comments earlier!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBNYC-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed for two nights and we had a fabulous romantic break. The service was excellent. Every person we encountered could not do enough for us and all were really friendly and polite.

Our room was huge, quiet and overlooking the atrium with excellent facilities. Clean, spacious and comfortable. The location is great, just a ten-minute walk to loads of fabulous bars and restaurants along the famous world heritage listed street, Andrassy Ut. Once we arrived, we walked everywhere to explore Buda and Pest and found it really close to everywhere we wanted to go; the Danube, the castle, the fisherman's bastion, the chain link bridge, st stephens Basilica, the list goes on.

The spa was also excellent and not too crowded. We soaked in the jacuzzi, swam in the pool, relaxed in the sauna and the steam room.... and all at no extra cost to residents, an absolute bargain. We loved it and hope to go again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoFHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This hotel is a true delight. The staff are very professional and corteous, nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in an executive room which I would highly recommend, the facilities of the executive lounge are quite amazing. The SPA is one of the nicest I have been to, I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,029 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing