We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We had booked the superior room, not knowing there were other options. Reception asked if we'd like to upgrade to Executive or another one, which gives you access to the executive lounge (free food, drink and internet all day).
We had a look at all 3 different types of room and decided we'd go for the executive.

The room was at the front of the hotel, with windows on two sides. Bed was devine and pillows were large but not filled very much so you could scrunch them up which I found very comfortable. The bathroom could have been a little bigger but it was adequate.

I spent a lot of time in the executive lounge, which was fantastic. The pool area is beautiful, with saunas, jacuzzis and louging area.

It was a bit of a hike down to the river, but it was such a beautiful hotel I didn't care. I could have just spent the whole time there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,388
    1,169
    264
    100
    46
See reviews for
904
3,778
208
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Seriously, you need sixth star for this place. We arrived in at nine o'clock in the morning, and instead of the typical eye-rolling you get when you try to check in that early, we were welcomed with offers of champagne and coffee. We were told we were the "guests of the day", and the General Manager greeted us personally. They upgraded us to a suite which had a massage chair in the living room with widescreen television, his and hers bathrooms, and a Romeo & Juliet balcony in the bedroom overlooking the street.

The hotel is one perhaps the most beautiful I've ever seen, the location excellent for seeing Budapest. The breakfast was very good, and the complimentary afternoon snacks and aperitifs in the executive lounge were very handy.

I can't say enough about this hotel, especially given the price we paid -- about 100 Euros on Expedia.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliengruvgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

For no reason except that we seemed to have been selected as "special guests" of the day we were upgraded from a regular room we had paid for in advance (150 euros) to an immense corner suite. The hotel, rooms, corridors, lobby were exceptionnally chic. The spa had been an historical one that the hotel fully renovated and it was spectacular (and free of additional charge). We had access to the lounge when awaiting for our room. We had a grand dinner from room service in our suite. This hotel was bliss. Yes the Gresham is exceptional but I am certain it is a far more better value to stay at the Corinthian.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Excellent hoteland I enjoyed every minute. Exactly what you should expect from a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floppzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We like to be central when staying in a city, and the Corinthia gave us the location and a lot more besides. It's a five minute walk from Octagon Metro and about fifteen minutes to the opera house. It's also very close to Liszt Ferenc tér, a square full of bars and restaurants, where we ate several times during our long weekend break.

The hotel looks old on the outside but in fact has been completely refurbished recently and everything was in excellent order. We particularly enjoyed the Executive Club facility, based on the Mezzanine level, which meant we could have a snack lunch or a pre-dinner drink as part of the deal. Some people seemed to spend a lot of time in the Executive Club, and I can't blame them. The canapes on offer are very tasty and it is a pleasant way to spend an hour after a day's sightseeing. The spa is also superb - city centre hotels with a good sized pool are not common, and this one is sophisticated with an air of calm. Spas are popular and numerous in Budapest and the hotel spa has the ambience of a hammam - the pool is in the centre and jacuzzis and massage and sauna rooms adjacent.
Our bedroom, which was an executive room, was comfortable although not particularly large. It looked out onto an indoor atrium which meant that it was a bit dark. It was very quiet except during a function which was held in the atrium on one evening. We closed the window and the sound stayed out.
On one of our trips we visited Memento Park, where statues of now-disgraced communist leaders and other monuments from the old regime are on display. This was a highlight for me - fascinating to see how they regard their recent past - gone but not forgotten. The tour of the opera house is also to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

While excellent service is always appreciated, it's when a problem arises that service really makes a difference. The service during our stay at the Corinthia Grand was exceptional in every way during our stay. While my sweetheart had some trouble remembering our room number the concierge always remembered our names. Throughout our stay we were waiting for an important package to arrive. When we were ready to checkout we got notice that delivery was rejected by the hotel. It was then that the real service kicked in. The hotel tracked down our package and paid for our taxi to and from the expediter - quite far away. The Hungary Postal Service showed no indication that they had even tried to deliver the package, so it may have been their are fault. In all events, the Corinthia Grand did everything one could to rectify the situation. Otherwise, our room on the avenue was lovely, the public areas were beautiful - all the more impressive when you consider the Soviets shot the hotel to pieces in the '56 Hungarian uprising. Not that there weren't problems - the breakfast was so copious and delicious that we ate enough for breakfast and lunch - we had less opportunity to experience Hungarian restaurants :). If you're going to Budapest, enjoy your stay at the Corinthia. Worth noting: the Corinthia is a fair taxi ride from the Chain Bridge and old city. However, the tram runs just in front of the hotel. Taking public transit can turn out a great convenience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkerRedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

When we arrived having booked a superior room with full breakfast and a print out from the Budapest tourist board on the hotel which stated that both the superior and executive rooms had access to the executive floor and room. (The site we had booked through had the superior with full breakfast at the same price as the executive with which you get small breakfast and access to executive room for teas and things.) Reception offered to look into it and offered an upgrade to executive at 70 euro. The following mornings breakfast was very good, as were all the breakfasts and later reception confirmed that they were not accountable for what was the wrong information on the tourist web site so no access to the executive. Not the brightest solution in customer relations.
Do book all your additions on the site you book with as the prices at the Hotel are very expensive.
There is a bottle of water on the table in the room and the first nights price was 2300huf nearly £8 The second night a new label and the price reduced to 1950 huf just £6.50. It's free at breakfast!!! Grab your bottle then if you are into bottled water, although the water in the hotel is drinkable.
Beware the conciege, they only recommend where they get a personal commission from. We were told that the Tigris was closed down and recommended an other reataurant. They LIED, Tigris is very much open and a fantastic place to eat and drink.
Taxis at the Hotel are priced by the Hotel. Better to get your own ask the price before you go and you will find the same trip much cheaper. Example, taxi, from airport to hotel 4800 huf. Hotel taxi to airport 6700 huf.
We did enjoy our 4 days in Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,643 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing