We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I liked the Hotel very much, very stylish in every way and the rooms are great too.
You can have a wonderful time there.
The Spa is very nice too, but not that big and nothing special. It's hard to get a "bed" for resting, the just have 14 for so many Hotel guests.
About the Coffee house, wonderful, but the staff is "sleeping". The Chinese Restaurant/Sushi Bar is very good, but I think you will find the same quality in other areas in Budapest too and not that expensive, ok its a 5 star Hotel.
All in all a great hotel, but next time I will try another one with a better spa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicemanaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,596 - 4,602 of 7,386 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

We arrived at the hotel at 19:00 in the evening, and check-in was very efficient. I would advise anyone who wants to stay here to book it with a travel firm e.g. Travel Republic because you'll usually get a cheaper price than if you book direct. Also, make sure that you get breakfast included in the price because even though it's excellent, it costs 28 Euros and it would only be worth it if you are a massive eater. It is truly a 5 star hotel, it even had a doorman with a hat to open and close the door for you. The only bad thing I can say is that prior to our arrival (we were a group of 3), I had asked could they make sure that we had 2 single beds and an extra bed rather than a double bed and an extra bed. In the email they sent me they said that they would give us a room with 2 single beds and an extra bed, but when we opened the door to the room we found that it was a double bed and an extra bed, but we survived. The room was massive. It would have sad even more space if we didn't have that extra bed. We stayed there for 3 nights. The beds were comfortable, it had a settee and a comfortable chair plus a normal chair and desk space. On the television the only English channels were BBC World News, Sky News and CNN, but we didn't go on a city break to watch TV so it was fine. The hallway from the door to the room itself was large too, with 2 wardrobes. The bathroom was also very big with a large shower and a bath separate. In this hotel, most rooms didn't have a window that overlooked the street outside but it overlooked one of the many restaurants of the hotel. This was good because there was hardly any traffic noise and to cope with any heat there was air conditioning. Like I mentioned before, the breakfast was spectacular. There was all types of things. Bred rolls, croissants, caked, pancakes, waffles, cereals, German style (meat and cheese), fruit, English cooked, Japanese and many types of tea. Scene as we had breakfast included in the price, we didn't have to spend too much. So, we filled up a lot in the morning then we could get away with just having a snack for lunch which I find ideal for a city break. There is also a spa. You are supposed to be 16 or over to enter the spa, but my brother and I got in and I was 15 and my brother was 14 at the time. We also saw another boy in there who looked about 13. The things that you can use for free are the swimming pool, the jacuzzi, the sauna, the steam room and the gym. We stayed there for a good hour and a half, it was great. The hotel's location is also worth a mention. It is on one of the main streets and you can walk to most city central areas in under 20 minutes. The other reason I booked this hotel was because it was very close to the Madách Theatre. One of the reasons for the trip was for me to see Az Operaház Fantomja (The Phantom of the Opera) and the theatre is only about 100 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidphillips2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal - Budapest
From the minute you arrive at this architecturally impressive hotel, you can sense the Grandeur. But it's subtle exterior only gives a hint to the true beauty of the décor in the hotel itself.
The entrance hall was beautiful, with marbled floors large chandeliers and an impressive central stair case. We were greeted at the door by bell boys who welcome you and take your bags in. The reception staff were very friendly and most of which speak at least 3 languages in addition to Hungarian and English.

We stayed in an Executive Room, which was presented as a modern, spacious and classy room. With two mirrored wardrobes, a writing desk, a sofa, a king sized bed, a safe and a marble tiled bathroom. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with brilliant water pressure and also a large bath with Victorian style taps. Fresh towels were laid out as well as complimentary soaps and slippers for your stay. The dressing gowns were also for the guests use however be sure not to pack them as they cost 60 Euro's if you want to buy them or take them home.
The bed was very comfortable and although the hotel is situated right in the heart of the 'Pest' side of Budapest there was no traffic noise at all.
The bottle of water in the room when you first arrive, is priced at about 1700 HUF roughly £5.60 so it's quite pricey.
We ordered room service a few times and it arrived promptly with a friendly waiter to bring the dishes in. The food was excellent and there is a fairly wide choice of menu for a few of the different restaurant.
We also went to the Brasserie for dinner and the Rickshaw, both located in the hotel. The service was second to none and they were very keen to attend to your every need. As soon as you had finished your meal they would whisk your plates away and ask if you would like anything else. The food is not cheap but it is a 5* hotel and therefore you would expect the prices to be higher. It was wonderful food with a fantastic atmosphere and we felt very welcome there.
Now, for the Breakfast.... All i can say is wow! what a spread, we had any kind of breakfast we could possibly want and you could help yourself to whatever you fancied. There was no shortage of food, and as soon as we were seated a waiter/waitress would come over and offer tea or coffee. You could have a cooked breakfast, healthy options such as fruit and muesli, cakes/Pastries, cold meats, cheese and fish and cereals.
We looked forward to breakfast the most as it was a thoroughly relaxing and delicious experience.
The concierge were fantastic, they were more than happy to help with any questions that we had about Budapest. travelling around and even booking day tours etc. Nothing was too much to ask. They all spoke at least 3 different languages including quite fluent English.
We used the Spa facilities several times and were very impressed with the cleanliness and efficiency of the staff. There were a few Sauna's.& Jaccuzi's, Good size indoor pool, and various treatments that you can book.

Lastly the location... We were right in the centre of town and you literally took a few paces before there was somewhere to eat of some shops to see. We bought a Hop on - Hop off bus ticket from the concierge which was a 24 hour ticket and took us round Buda, Pest and across the Danube river. It was a fairly inexpensive, a great way to see the city and an opportunity to learn more about its history.
Other places we visited were Budapest Zoo - a very good price for the amount of things to see, Natural thermal baths - great fun and very warm water. Also we took a boat trip along the Danube which entailed a brief stop at an Island on the Danube called Margaret Island. Very impressive architecture and well worth a visit.

A few examples of costs ......
Zoo - 3780 Huf (2 people) = £12.60
Thermal Baths - 3000 Huf p/p = £10
Main course at the hotel Approx 3600-4500 Huf = £12.60-£15.00

TRAVEL ADVICE:
Watch out for Pickpockets and be sure to use marked taxi's with prices on the side of the car. If possible agree a fixed price before you travel in the taxi.

***If you like to relax on holiday, treat yourself, and feel thoroughly welcome then this is the place for you.***

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0velyh0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Corinthia Grand Royal is more than a 5 star. Totally rebuilt in 2002- 2003 the marble everywhere was amazing. We stayed from Oct. 25 - 28 and were suprised to be chosen " the guests of the day" and were upgraded from an executive room to a suite. Huge! Frontroom, bedroom, two bathrooms. Having read on Trip Advisor about taking the Executive level it allowed us to totally relax after seeing so many sites on a 15 day river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest. The executive level gave light breakfast, lunch and supper including all beverages. It became our refuge and the staff went out of their way to ensure all our needs were more than met. At the concierge desk there was a glass award presented to the Corinthia from Trip Advisor in recognition for being voted top hotel by members in 2009. We agree.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyokgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

What a wonderful hotel and staff! They really made you feel special. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Enjoyed the spa so much, that it was hard to leave the hotel. Travelled 3 weeks throughout Europe, and this by far was the best hotel we stayed at.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanneyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Booked the hotel through the Malev website - the luxury offer, which cost 309 euros per person for the plane tickets and three nights accommodation.
Upon arriving at the hotel, we got an upgrade to an executive room and access to the executive lounge, with different breakfast and complimentary snacks and drinks all day long.
Even though the hotel is not in the tourist centre of Budapest - along the banks of the Danube or around Vatci Utca - it is very conveniently located.
The staff were extremely helpful, particularly the girls at the reception of the executive club. The room was spacious and very clean. The pool area was e ven better than expected and the spa treatments offered are of the highest standards.
It is only fair that this hotel holds the first position in Tripadvisor's popularity index.

You can get great deals for Corinthia Hotel on Malev's website or from bookings.com and hotels.com.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikosioannidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Not going to repeat all the positive comments they are all true. I would stay at this hotel in hotel again in a heartbeat.
If like the time that I was there the weather wasn’t too great you could easily spend a day in the hotel flitting from the spa to the swimming pool to the executive lounge, and of course not forgetting the bar.
Go enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
4,449 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £114 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing