We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This place oozes five star quality I'm sure like all big hotels it has it faults but I could not find a single one.

It really is an absolute gem and i would not hestitate to recommend it to anyone.

The manager and staff should be really proud of their service because the standard throughout was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwethereyetmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,588 - 4,594 of 7,386 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

We had a four night say as part of our honeymoon over the New Year. On arrival the booking in staff were obviously stressed and as a result were brusque. Our fourth -floor interior room was adequately sized and styled with comfortable furniture.
Depite the temperature being below 0 throughout our stay it proved impossible to cool the room to an acceptable temperature. The windows opened only to an interior courtyard where food is served and guests permitted to smoke. Request an exterior room!
Public areas were clean and luxuriously appointed.
Food served during breakfast was from a wide selection andof a good standard.
Leisure and spa facilities were good although pool very busy at peak times. Service staff were ammeniable and helpful.
Plenty of decent bars and restaurants within 10 minutes stroll - especially if you are prepared to explore the surrounding side streets.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Chumbeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This recently refurbished hotel is very well located for tourists with easy access to the public transport system. It operates to high standards and the staff are clearly proud and want to make guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay. Facilities are very good - free wi-fi for example - and the Spa onsite a particular advantage at the end of a tiring day. The breakfast is expensive if not included in a package, but probably the best we have ever experienced, and the mini-bar is to be avoided as usual. Overall the experience was excellent and only spoilt by the heat in the bedroom (26C) which was impossible to turn down. Some rooms do face the street rather than the atrium but the noise would then be a factor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This place was only 5 star if you upgraded to the executive package and then you have add quite a bit of $$. The spa downstairs was one of the most amazing things about this hotel. The staff at the spa desk I found to be poor on the service end...they gave me someone else's key when I left the spa and I couldn't get back into my room. I was in my bathrobe and wet. They expected me to go to the front desk to get a new key, when in fact they handed me the another person's key with another person's name on it. They didn't even bother to ask me my name.

I left a charger at the hotel and they charged me $50USD to mail it and it didn't come for 3 weeks.

When we needed a cab, the hotel had a mercedez but they charged us double the cost of a normal taxi but didn't tell us about this additional charge.

Overall, if you want a 5 star experiece you have to pay more than the advertised price or you will get a dreary room with no view and ugly sheets. The service here can not compare to the service in the US howere the concierge was so incredibly helpful with helping us book our train tickets to kakow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmaddipati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Great city.... Great location. Great Breakfast. Hotel is Okay.

Be sure to request an outside room in shoulder season. That way you can get some fresh air and control your own room comfort. They can't seem to get the temperature right in the courtyard rooms.

Had an inside room - stuffy-hot and no way to have room control override the master setting. Took 1 1/2 hours to finally get them to give us an outside room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_River_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Previous reviews convinced me to book this hotel and I was not disappointed. It is a beautiful hotel in an ideal location. The pool was amazing and an excellent facility to have in a city hotel. The ambience as you enter says it all! The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would advise anyone going to ring up before hand and book the 'Bock' restaurant as it was full when we arrived but fortuantely,on our last night, the hotel invited us to a musical evening with a 4 course meal and wines ( plenty of them - sparkilng, white, red and desert!) for only £39 per head - superb value, really enjoyable and not too high brow!
I wouldn't recommend the 'Sack in a cat' Hungarian restaurant - a toat rip- off with little atmosphere, but we found a very interesting bar on Keraly Utca called Mignon which was excellent. The food was beautifully presented, tasty and good value with a good atmosphere.
Another tip for transport to the hotel is to visit the Budapest visitors website- very reasonable and reliable - you pay in the driver in Euros.
Budapest is certainly worth a visit and at the moment very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The Corinthia is an extraordinary hotel. It is located right in the center on Budapest, and just a block from the metro. The tram stops at the front door. The hotel is beautiful, lavish, and immaculate. The rooms are huge by European standards, and very comfortable. Many open into an indoor space, and it would be nice to request a room with an outside view. The basement spa is very well done, with a pool, whirlpools, and steam and sauna. I was able to get a reasonable rate for our room through Hotels.com. I would not suggest you include breakfast with your room, as it cost an additional US $70 a day! Instead, go the corner grocery and get some bread, danish, and juice, and eat in your room for a few dollars a day. The hotel has complicmentary coffee in the AM.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the hotel. They are helpful, friendly, and seem to truly care about their guests. They helped us to navigate the excellent public transportation system in Budapest. While the city feels very safe, a security guard in the metro tried to scam us, and I had him reported to the city's tourist complaint board. They took my complaint very seriously, and followed up with the scammer and offered my a sincere apology and a gift! Thanks to Zoltan and all of the staff at the concierge's desk for helping us with this issue.
This is a wonderful place to stay in Budapest. Look no further!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £116 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing