We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #18 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We have just returned from a brilliant 4 day break in Budapest for our anniversary. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which made the holiday. We thoroughly recommend the executive lounge which we used throughout-espcially recommended is the pink fizzy wine.

All our meals out in Budapest were off a really high standard and we had a memorable evening at Gundels-the violinist was lovely. The Bock Bistro and Tigris were both also special meals.

I am sure we will return to Budapest and most definitely will stay again at the Corinthia-maybe we will then get to try the Rickshaw.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph59465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,322
    1,155
    263
    99
    44
See reviews for
894
3,729
206
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Right in the centre of Pest, this converted series of townhouses is an excellent hotel. The lobby area is fabulous with swooping staircases, our room was large and comfortable, but the crowning glory is the swimming pool which is large and quite beautiful. Thge staff are friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We chose the Corinthia Grand in Budapest as at the time it was Tripadvisor's No1 in Budapest. The hotel is really easy to get to by public transport from the train station, and upon arrival we were whisked up to the executive lounge check in and all the necessaries sorted - including dinner recommendations.

The Corinthia is a business and leisure hotel - its big, modern, clean and friendly. We shared the hotel with a large PwC conference but the service levels were fantastic despite the hotel being really busy. It has all the services you require - huge buffet breakfast, lovely big thermal spa, big rooms, comfy beds, and the staff are just lovely. Highly recommend upgrading to the exec lounge - we were popping in there for drinks, nibbles, internet, etc constantly. Its great value. We also visited the thermal pools once but found it hard to get a lounger - maybe the one small experience of the hotel being so busy.

We wanted a very traditional Hungarian restaurant for dinner and the concierge in the exec lounge did us well - a very traditional and reasonably priced option within 5 min walk of the hotel and we were the only tourists and welcomed with gusto. Just bear in mind that in Hungary when you're asked if you want a non smoking table, that generally just means you don't have an ashtray on yours. All around you will be puffing away like there's no word in Hungarian for cancer.

As much as I'd originally I had my heart set on staying at the Hilton in the heritage listed area on the other side of the Danube, I'm glad I went with the Tripadvisor recommendation. It was a really lovely hotel and totally made our stay in Budapest easy and pleasant.

My top tips for Budapest: take your appetite - the food is fantastic and the cafes are lovely (don't miss the Dobos Torte at Gerbaud), the little old subway system is adorable and efficient (yes, a subway that's adorable), and even for the foreigh language inept like myself, one little word 'kursenem' - Hungarian for thank you, goes a really long way with these really friendly people.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed in Boedapest for a wedding in September 2008, and we have chosen the Corinthia GH Royal.
It is an excellent hotel: stylish and quiet. The breakfast buffet was splendid, and we have enjoyed the daily afternoon tea with pastries at the mezzanine.
The restaurant within the hotel was of good quality; the restaurant staff was very friendly and well informed regarding local wines etc.
Room was very good; same for the spa facilities with great jacuzzi.
Boedapest is a nice city with still high tourist potential; a bit more external marketing and renovation works to monuments would be useful.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelDeMeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We travelled to Budapest for a 3 night short break to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary at the end of May this year. We had booked into an executive room, & were delighted when checking in to be told that we had been upgraded to a suite.
The hotel itself is understated & extremely elegant. The location is first class. The executive lounge is a really good addition, with access to drinks & snacks available most of the day.
The spa facilities are brilliant, & without the intrusion of children, provide a highly relaxing experience.
The breakfasts are excellent, with as much choice as anyone would wish for.
A truly memorable hotel to visit, & one we would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I stayed at the corinthia for a two day conference and stayed for a further 2 days. The hotel is a large city centre international place. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful and professional without being over the top. Only had breakfast and buffet lunch in the brasserie during the conference and no complaints. It was perfectly fine. Room again was very clean but a bit dated and could do with a refresh. My only criticism was the quality of the bedding and towels. Towels were suitable for a motel as were the pillows. In comparison to similar standard city hotels. They were just plain cheap. The bed was just not comfortable at all. I have not slept for 4 nights and for that reason only I would hesitate to recommend this hotel. Oh and the Internet access was very patchy

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdori, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.

I am pleased that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your comments regarding the hotel bedding. Usually we receive high ratings on our ‘Sleep Quality’ and our apologies if this was not the case during your visit. We will revisit our standards here to provide better consistency for the future. We have also investigated the internet problems and have corrected the issues to ensure better access.

I thank you once more for your kind comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest on a future occasion.

Yours Sincerely,

Adrian Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife and I, both in our mid-eighties, usually take just one holiday per year and therefore spend a fair amount of time researching on the internet before booking a destination/hotel.

We hadn't been to Budapest before but it appeared,at first glance anyway,to have a lot in common with Prague which we had enjoyed so Budapest it was.

We use TripAdvisor a lot, so, when we saw that the Corinthia was listed as No.3 of all the hotels it soon became our choice. We found a good deal on Expedia which included use of the Exec Lounge and booked our room well ahead of our eventual arrival on May 24th.

First impressions are important and so it was comforting to be greeted at Ferihegy Airport by a well dressed and delightful Tibor (Teddy) bearing a large card with our name correctly spelt. An immaculate car whisked us to the hotel and we were directed the 1st Floor Exec Lounge for a speedy book-in.

The ambience of the hotel is just super, no other word for it, and the room itself (2220) was immaculate. A welcome message on the TV screen greeted us and my wife was soon exploring the room facilities which included tea making facilities.

During our week's stay we used both the Rickshaw (Chinese) restaurant and the Brasserie restaurant and found both to offer excellent menus. The buffet breakfast was as large as any we have seen anywhere in the world and the waiter service was always more than adequate.

One highlight, as far as eating was concerned, was the Sunday Buffet Lunch.
It caters mainly for families with kids and all the restaurants were open to offer a huge range of food. At 7500 Forint per head for all drinks and food this was wonderful value and I cannot recommend it too much.

Because of our ages we decided to forgo the use of public transport (although the trams passed right outside the hotel door) and used cabs to go wherever we wanted. One special word of praise here for the Chief Concierge, one Tamas Ungar.

We had tried back in the UK to book seats for The Barber of Seville at the very nearby Opera House but found them all booked as the opera was for one night only. I asked Mr.Ungar to see what he could do and within 24 hours he had got us perfect seats for a memorable production.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and despite the odd remark made on this forum about the hotel not being central we never found it so and considered the location ideal.

Would we go again ? ..... without any shadow of doubt !

Ron

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ex4thhussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,590 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing