We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* spa quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We went for our short 3 night honeymoon break, we had booked a superior queen room. We had pre-booked a taxi from the airport 23euros. On arrival we were met by 2 staff who advised that we were "guests of the day" and we were upgraded to a junior suite. Large queen bed overlooking the main street, with separate lounge, wardrobe area and two bathrooms. The room was 5* quality. There was fruit and a bottle of champagne waiting for us. Robes and slippers were also ready. Although we had use of the Executive Lounge, we didnt have a chance to use it.
The location of the hotel, is on a noisy thoroughfare with the trams stopping outside the hotel, great for communications, but not so good if you want to sleep before midnight and after 6.30am. But the metro is only 5 mins walk from the hotel at Octagon, and with the tram outside, the city transport system is brilliant, buy a travelcard for your stay. We used it at night, and felt perfectly safe, we didnt need to use a taxi once.
First night we ate in Rickshaw restaurant as Bock was fully booked for 4 days. Dont....it was only ok, quiet, no atmosphere at all, the food was good oriental but not great and at 23000 huf wasnt cheap. The main bar is nice for a late night drink, 5* prices, great service. The last night we were there, 2 pairs of hookers were in looking for business, so obvious to us, yet the management seemed to tolerate them, strangely comical!
The spa is fanatastic, 2 jacuzzis, pool, sauna, steam room and in a lovely relaxing environment, we used it daily.
In a 5* hotel one expects 5* service at all times. Although the food at the breakfast buffet is very good with a wide variety of choice, the serving staff were consistently rude, surly and unhelpful, not even 3*. I will not have breakfast there if I return. It is the one thing that let down the hotel, take the serving staff to Onyx and show them how to do it.
In summary an excellent hotel, with very attentive front of house staff, in beautiful surroundings. Good value for 5*, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetloafkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,338 - 4,344 of 7,305 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

I took my partner to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for her birthday, and was gobsmacked by the level of service that we experienced during our stay. As I had booked an executive guest room, we were escorted to the Executive Lounge to check in, where we were presented with champagne and a surprise - we were chosen as the "Guest of the month", and subsequently upgraded to a deluxe suite. The suite was immense, and to be honest the facilities in the hotel were such that if one didn't need to leave the hotel, then one could have happily stayed indoors for the duration of their stay and enjoyed the delights of the suite, the executive lounge and the spa.

The hotel itself is well-situated on Erszebet Korut, which is a 15 minute stroll down Andrassy Ut (past the Opera House) to Central Pest. We were able to walk everywhere, but the tram and bus lines were right outside the front door if we ever felt the need.

All-in-all, we were treated like royalty during our stay at the Corinthia, and I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It was the first weekend-trip we made together, and this hotel was perfect for it!
3 great restaurants, but rather expensive, especially the Asian one. But very good food and the service was great. We really enjoyed the Bocks Bistro. A must do!!!!
The rooms are big and nicely furbished, very calm during the night!!!
The SPA area is ok, but much smaller than expected. However has everything you need: pool, jacuzzi, sauna, hammam...
The location is great to explore the city, however it could be better.
Will definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We've just returned from our 3-night stay at the Corinthian Grand Royal and would like to say that we enjoyed it immensely.
Highlights were: The cozy, well-cushioned room. The immaculate service and helpfulness of the staff. The breakfast (both for variety, tastyness and the wonderful atrium we ate it in). The hotel's grand architecture. The easy access to the spa. The location (a 10-15 minute walk from any of the major sites and only a couple of minutes from the nearest metro stop).
We'd absolutely recommend booking an executive room, as the executive lounge is an excellent place to relax and grab a glass of juice or cup of coffee in between walks in the city.
The only two down points for us were: The unusually high temperature in our room (which we didn't manage to reduce even though we studied the heater/air-cons manual several times) and the fact that we had a room whose door faced out onto the 2nd floor of the reception area which kept being noisy quite late - not because of the reception, but because of the live pianist in the adjoining bar.
Other than that... a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heike_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed at the Corinthia the weekend of the 22nd/23rd January 2011. We had booked through Travelzoo and got an excellent discount on a double room, with breakfast and spa access. The hotel is on a safe main road, just outside the Jewish quarter of the city, about 15 minutes walk to the Danube and the Old Town. On arrival we were shown to our room by the Guest manager who informed us we were "Guests of the day" and they had upgraded us to a deluxe suite! It was also my boyfriends' birthday on the Sunday and the hotel also left us a bottle of sparkling wine on the Sunday. We felt like a king and queen!

Our suite was stunning; clean, spacious (larger than our flat!) elegant, with two spotless bathrooms finished in marble, a huge king sized bed, TVs, desk, sofa, A/C and full length windows facing out towards the street. Beautiful. (and not noisy due to thick double glazing).

Breakfast in the dining room was fresh, with full range of everything from fruit, to pastries, kedgeree, to full English. We tried the bar before dinner out one evening, and although it was a little expensive, the beer was local and the atmosphere relaxing.

However the best thing about the hotel, is the spa. A mid-sized immaculate pool, with two jacuzzis, sauna and steam room, an hour in here after a longs days sight seeing was wonderful. The spa has its own lift down from the hotel whichs means guests can wander into luxury straight from your room dressed in the snug hotel towelling robes.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies a little bit of luxury. Couples, families with young children, friends wanting some time out were all welcome at the hotel. Base yourselves at the Corinthia for a lovely weekend in the historic and beautiful city of Budapest and you will, like us, come away feeling relaxed and smug!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed for 1 week in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean, quiet and had all the amenities including washing machine and a dishwasher (which the staff loaded and unloaded accordingly).

The room layout was excellent as we were able to have a relaxing evening without disturbing our daughter who was tucked up in bed in the rear bedroom.

Free DVD "hire" and a DVD player in the room made for a half-decent "nights in" as our little one still needs to go to bed early. And we were also able to put on a DVD for her when needed in the mornings.

The apartments also had free and fast Wi-Fi without the hassle of having to deal with special codes or "splash pages".

The apartments are located in a separate building behind the main hotel and they had their own secure entrance out to the street level without having to deal with the hustle and bustle of the main hotel which gets busy with various corporate events, weddings, etc.

Unfortunately we weren't able to take full advantage of the spa as it was closed for their annual cleaning. We weren't told until a day or so before travelling but they did provide full access to the facilities of their sister hotel and a shuttle bus should we have wanted to.

All in all, we had an excellent stay as we could use the apartment as a home whilst we were in Budapest and was perfect for us as a family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Stayed at the Corinthia Hotel in Dec. '10. From the moment you arrive the staff take care of you very well. Check in was painless. Lots of offers of help with luggage. Rooms were very good size, spotlessly clean. The restaurant was great. Great food and the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was a treat, all kinds of everything to suit even the fussiest of eaters. The lounge and bar area are very comfortable and service was very quick. We got caught up in the bad weather delays and spent an extra three days at the Corinthia. It was not hardship and again we were looked after very well. Just a word of warning re taxis, we got a taxi back to the hotel and we conned out of about €40. not that much I know, but don't like been taken for a mug. Make sure you know exactly what notes you are handing over as some take advantage of the tourists being unfamiliar with the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenhouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,876 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £113 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing