We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value, beautiful hotel, room service was a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed there for a birthday celebration, got upgraded to a suite which was a nice touch; room was very nice, overall the hotel is very stylish and the renovations were well done. Spa is quite nice and the pool area amazing. Service was very friendly, always accommodating and a big smile on their faces! Room Service was not up to par for a 5 star hotel, food was barely average and service was terrible. Asian restaurant is a must do, awesome service, plenty of high quality food and the atmosphere is very soothing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corinthiabudapest, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you celebrated this special occasion at our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the service and quality issues experienced whilst using Room Service. We take your comments very seriously and will follow up with our team to ensure a more consistent approach for the future.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Adrian Ellis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,322 - 4,328 of 7,305 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

The service was excellent from the moment we arrived to the hotel to the moment we left.

We took the executive room and it was really wort it. With the executive package you get access to the special lounge area with was really nice. In the lounge there are snacks and drinks.

Another good thing was the hotel's own spa. The Spa was of excellent quality and it was really nice to relax there.

The only bad thing about the hotel was that is was quite a long walk away from the shops and sights (except from the House of Terror).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Just returned from a great long weekend in Budapest and a fabulous stay at this hotel...booked an exec room which as you will have read includes drinks and snacks in the exec lounge....the snacks, drinks and service were superb.
The club downstairs had a great band on on Saturday night, free entrance and the drinks were very reasonable again great service...shame smokers are allowed to indulge!!
The highlights really are the Spa, great facilities although it does get busy...and the breakfast buffet which is superb!!
Ok so not overlooking the river but it is only a short walk (20mins) and you are in a nice area close to restaurants and shops....
If you want to eat in the brasserie book before you arrive as we couldnt get in and they are closed on Sundays...
We were reccommended a restaurant called Tigris which was excellent, great food and superb wines (Hungarian Pinot Noir superb!!)
All in all a great three nights away - thanks to all the Staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank General M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Took my boyfriend to the Corinthia for 4 nights for his birthday. Stayed in an Executive room which I would highly recommend - free drinks and snacks until 10pm every night.

Although not by the river, the hotel for us was in a good location, 15 min walk to the river and 20 min walk in the other direction to Heroes square.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank ruthi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Corinthia to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time.
We have never been to Budapest before and I spent a lot of research into where to stay and must say we were not disappointed.
We paid to upgrade to Executive Rooms with free use of executive lounge and facilities and would deffinately recommend this. We had full use of the lounge and could eat and drink from 6am to 10pm.
Ivette the executive receptionist was marvelous and she arranged lots of trips that we wanted to do whlst there, including a tour of the city by Segway this I can definately recommend, we had so much fun and learnt alot about the places we visited.
If you have the time would definately recommend a visit to Parliament (free entrance for EU citizens) and a visit to the outdoor spa baths, this was amazing!
We loved the place and will definately be returning in the future to do some more sightseeing.
The city was so easy to travel around via trams, metro, and buses.
We ate at the Bock Bistro (part of the hotel) and it was very nice but a bit pricey compared to other places we ate.
Go out of the hotel and when you get to the Spar shop (on the first corner) take a left then first right think its the Liszt Ferenc square, go up here there are lots of small bistro's and places to eat about half way up.
Theres a lovely place to eat here on the left hand side as you walk up from hotel called Memzas, the food and beer were delicious and the price was very good. can recommend you try the goulash soup yummy.
We used the royal spa at the hotel and had a massage this was excellent after a hectic 4 days of touring and sightseeing.
Will definately return to Budapest and this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suziestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is a great hotel with a staff which really makes you feel welcome. Rooms are spacious and clean, the exterior and the interior are utterly elegant, high class restaurants and a wonderful spa department. If you are interested in adding a little extra, go for an executive room providing access to the hotel's Executive Club on their mezzanine floor - worth every single forint!
Service is on top level from A to Z - the words of the Concierge when asking for something which really was to ask a little too late, is symptomatic for the overall impression and attitude of the staff: "Nothing is impossible, is it?"

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scand3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We just came back from wonderful Valentines and relaxation weekend. This hotel is absolutely stunning. The architecture wonderful. It was consequently voted as The best hotel in Budapest and it really lives up to this title. It stays on one of the main avenues at the edge of a centre but the location is perfect for travellers who want to visit sights as well as to spend most of the time in the biggest thermal spa in Europe-Schezenyi spa as it lies near the metro station Octogon (yellow line). It also lies on axis between two international railway stations. It is within walking distance to Danube river and one block away is the famous restaurant and cofee shops area Ferenc Listz square and the Opera house. Although it sound like busy area, all rooms have windows into the calm courtyards and you definately get the sleep like in a countryside:)
We booked through booking.com for very discounted rate (winter is the best time to visit Budapest for value prices) when we got our room upon an arrival we didn t like it as it was at 5th floor and it was more like cinderella room under the roof without enough light. We asked for better room and with absolutely no problem and with a smile and apology we got an amazing room and we got upgraded to Executive suite (Mezzanine level has the best rooms with beautiful tall windows like balconette) for the same price. Wonderful. The decore of the room was amazing with the most comfortable bed I ve ever slept on.
All staff from bellboy to the sales manager (we met him in an elevator) was absolutely helpful, nice and attentative with nonstop smile on their faces.
The inhouse Royal spa is free of charge for hotel guests and its just wonderful with big central swimming pool (copy of that one in Gellert hotel), two jacuzzis, two saunas and a steaming room. They also offer massages but we found the price quite high( compared with the price of massage in Szechenyi spa).
Next door is nice jazz club and very good reastaurant.
More then 100 percent recommended. Definately would come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,876 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £113 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing