We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Hotel Kristal
Ranked #143 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I had a very spacious room which was clean and comfortable. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Not close to city but easy bus ride or taxis are quite cheap. Feee car parking.

Room Tip: room 13 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    35
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
29
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cesena
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Good Location, just take the bus 112 and after 3 stops you are in the Vatci Utca, the main centre's street. The Hotel is located near the Cittadella, a place of an historical interest. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast buffet good and satisfying, what didn't satisfy us was the room. Great balcony, it's a pity it's the end of October and we haven't got any chance of sitting outside becouse of the cold, the "pearl" was the bathroom, a tiny loo with the door of the shower that was broken, the bottom of the shower that was more black than white for the dirt though of course the room was properly cleaned before our arrival and the shower tap which was leaking all nights long. By the way It was our second time at this Hotel and last year the other room we got was much better. We asked the same room and it wasn't given us because of the hotel redecoration. Actually they were restaureting all the rooms on the same floor where the room we requested was too.
If you go to Budapest this Hotel deserves a visit, what is more it is convenient compared to other Hotels far the same distance away from the centre, the car's parking is included in the price and it is located in a quite position there ain't no noise though near the Hotel there is a big road. Neverthelless don't ask for the room number 24.
It's worth a visit even the pub located on the opposite site of the centre, back of the hotel on the corner of the main street. You may taste the tipical hungarian cusine along with the very good hungarian beer at a really reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco72Cesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My room was clean and tidy, with nothing material to complain about. The only reason why I haven't given Hotel Kristal more than three stars is because some of the surrounding houses and immediate neighbourhood is run down, but to be fair this is the nature of all Budapest and is not within the control of the hotel.

I think it would be difficult to find better value for money at the price one is being charged. The hotel is up a quiet, residential street and I would say this is more of a pension than a hotel due to its size, residential neighbourhood location and facilities/services.

I received a friendly welcome when booking over the phone and when checking in. The hosts went out of their way to help me with my enquiries, such as where to hire a bicycle. The free wifi was great to have as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_01011900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We spent a weekend in this small, nice hotel and experienced its exceptionally friendly, kind, efficent and effective staff. The room itself was clean, spacious and functional. We didn`t miss anything at all. Our car was safe in a closed car park looked after by the staff. Nothing to bother at all. Only to enjoy! And if there is still anything that bothers you, the hotel staff will surely accomodate it for you. The only question is if learn how to combine tram/metro or bus to reach the center in case you don`t decide for a taxi. Once you get it... the only question left is when to visit this place again...

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Jagello Business Hotel
#139 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Gellert Hill
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
#165 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#137 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#114 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Villa Korall
#145 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Kristal

Property: Villa Hotel Kristal
Address: Tars utca 9, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing