We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Hotel Kristal
Ranked #143 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel because someone recomeded it , but everything was wrong from the beginning , the stuff at the reception are so un proffesional & unfriendly , no lift so i had to carry my suitcases all the way throug narrow strairs ( no one would help) , rooms are extremely small , the place smells cigarette specially during breakfast guess someone smokes everyday in the kitchen , it is located up the hill so if you get off the bus which is almost 1 km far from hotel you must climb al lthe way up, the worst thing which i could not forgive was : after my booking day finished i planed to extend my stay for another 2 day but they told me that the hotel is full ( which was not through ) so they basically kicked me out so I took my lauggage and by chance found the Hotel Charles nearby and since then it is my 5th or 6th stay here and it is terrific ( I wrote a separate review in booking. com about Hotel Charles ) so please dont waist your time and money in this Hotel .

1  Thank ramin67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Hotel was on a quiet side street, one block from the bus stop. A short bus ride to the city center or a moderate walk. On the Castle Hill side of the river. Only downside was the lack of restaurants in the area. Room was reasonably sized and comfortable. Room was kept clean. Very good value. Breakfast was okay. Staff was very helpful with information on transportation and things to do. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stine R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A very pleasant small hotel in a villa situated in a quiet area but at the same time not far from the city centre. For a very reasonable price you get clean rooms, free parking place, free wi-fi with reliable range and decent breakfast. The staff is very helpful. I would definitely recommend Villa Kristall for all wanting to have a nice stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lukasz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good hotel, but not perfect. We've booked triple room and it was partially underground, so there was not very sunny. It was not important because we've used this hotel only for sleep. Room is very little, but comfort and clean. Free parking, slow wi-fi and good but a little bit poor breakfast.
Not close to the center, but 112 bus and 5 minutes and you're at the central market.
I can recommend this hotel for travelling by car.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel in general is good. Location was good for me - near the Novotel congress center. The staff is helpful, the breakfast is ok. I had the room #14. It is very good - it has the balcony. But the balkony is perfectly accessible from the earth! ( I realised it too late). The nights were hot, so I left the balcony door open. One day in the morning I woke up and realised, that there was a robbery: my documents&money, mobile phone and photo - stolen. Somebody came in the room at night through the balcony and took my belongings.

The staff was helpful, we called the police etc.
But no compensation was offered/given!
So, the hotel is unfortunately not safe. No security/video surveilance systems. Anybody can come any time. I think, it is a serious and important problem, that hotel needs to solve as soon as possible.

Room Tip: 13 and 14 have balcony and are good, but are not safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhlin_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Small dark room with the cheapest hotel furniture i have seen in my life. Kind of 2 star accommodation (but the corridors are up to 3 star standard). The staff (not the guests) were heavy smokers and that made my stay there very unpleasant. It was at freezing temperature outside, but i had to sleep with windows opened to reduce the smoke penetrating my room.

Room Tip: not sure, i was on the second floor and it was still very very smoky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank silvy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Jagello Business Hotel
#142 of 334 in Budapest
90 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#88 of 334 in Budapest
563 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Elit
Hotel Elit
#144 of 334 in Budapest
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#113 of 334 in Budapest
85 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#131 of 334 in Budapest
1,728 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#112 of 334 in Budapest
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Kristal

Address: Tars utca 9, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £28 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing