We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$1,271
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$166
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$299
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
82
154
103
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
154
103
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeleti stationfresh towels every daymini bar pricesheroes' squaretrolley bussimple hotelminute walkclose to public transportationsingle roomstay there againquiet hotelnice breakfastvery nice stayrooms are bigclean roomsbreakfast includedrecommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is in a walking distance from Keleti station; there is a bus 2 min walk away (no 78) that goes to the Parliament. Our room was very small with a tiny bathroom but it looked not bad. The pillows were very big and thick, actually we couldn't sleep on them and used the other small pillows that were there for decoration; the airconditioning was a bit too loud. Breakfast was ok. We thought it was a good value for money (got a flash deal from booking.com). The best thing about this hotel was very friendly and always smiling receptionists.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms facing the street, especially on the highest floors, have better views. However, the inside ones might be more quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed there just for a night in April. Nice, quiet hotel with good service, clean rooms and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klavdij L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed with our kids for two nights at the star city hotel. The rooms were OK and so was the service. Generally fair value for money. It is a long walk from the rail station if you have big bags.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Both my wife & myself have stayed in many City Hotels around the world so know not to expect too much. However we did not expect what we found. Our first room had a view of a three-storey wall!! when I (tongue in cheek) Asked the receptionist "did the room have a view?", I was told that the view was of the stars! However one had to lean out of the window to see the sky! Our second room was brighter but at the front of the building and unfortunately the air conditioning did not work! This necessitated leaving the window open all night listening to passing traffic and trolley buses that ran all night!! Other points: No cold water - always tepid, poor showers, no plugs for sinks, needing to ask receptionist for TV remote, damaged bathroom door, many stains on many carpets, both lifts dirty etc etc...On the plus side all the receptionists were wonderful. Breakfast was not too bad. Bar & mini-bar prices were good, I would suggest if you are a student or on a tight budget this hotel may fit your bill...but beware you have been warned!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotel is in walking distance from Keleti train station. Also, its not very far from city park with amusement park, bath and other attractions. City center is easily reached by metro or troleybus.
For us, Location near the train station was the bigest plus.
The staf was very friendly.
The room was ok, though turned towards a busy street and a bit noisy. There is a lot of rooms facing the yard that are propably more quiet. There were some stains on the carpet and walls, so the first impression wasn't very good, but the room itself and the bathroom were cleaned very well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Filip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews