We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for minibar scams!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Star City Hotel
Ranked #128 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for minibar scams!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near the train station,and pretty close to the center.

PROS:

-accessible price
-decent breakfast with open buffet
-luggage storage

CONS:

-THEY CHARGED US 1000 HUF FOR 2 BEER BOTTLES FROM THE MINIBAR THAT WE DID NOT DRINK !!!!
-stained carpets
-no soap or shampoo
-very noisy bathroom fan
-no control knobs for heating,which meant that we had to sleep with an opened window (woke up at 3 am because of some loud drunk guys trying to sing ""Lykke Li- I follow rivers")
-everything inside the hotel looks outdated and used
-pillows made up of chopped foam pieces
-flickering neons above the bed
-no remote for the TV,useless anyway because of poor reception

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    126
    82
    30
    17
See reviews for
46
125
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two days. The hotel is a half-hour walk from the city center. The hotel is very clean. Room with a double bed is a comfortable and clean. Bathroom was decent. It has air conditioning in the room. Breakfast was excellent, a buffet. Staff at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. There are parking spaces in front of the hotel. Ticket for parking can be bought out. I recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natasa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Close to Keleti Station, which is why I chose it, so a little distant from the centre. The room was comfortable, breakfast okay but not outstanding and the staff very helpful. I would stay there again. Very good if you are travelling by train.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

stayed here for 2 nites, the room was small but comfortable, with free wifi which has great. the breakfast was ok, no cooked breakfast available though. good transport links available close by, with airport transfers available to book at the reception. very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The reception was very friendly and answered all our questions. We did however not get the room we had orderd ( a double) but a room with 2 seperate beds. When we asked for another room, we had to ask ourselves to another guest who had just arrived to switch rooms with us which was quite unprofessional of the hotel.

The room was ok, it was clean and everyday we had fresh towels. The location is also ok, there is a metrosation not far from the hotel and the breakfast was modest but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is relatively close to a train and metro station (about 8-10 minutes walking), the staff were helfull and the price is good. The room was clean and confortable in a quiet zone. For a budget trip I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaLeeAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We didn't get soap, towels were scratchy and when you turn light on at the toilet, you also turn on loud and obnoxious hood - night trip to the toilet was a "wake-up call". But the best thing was broken fluorescent tube - it was slowly blinked all night. And I must not forget the short beds and blankets - I don't think that my height 190 cm is a substandard.

We were tired and didn't want to argue with a reception, so we let it be. Maybe the hotel had a bad day, maybe not. My friends in other rooms didn't say anything.

Room Tip: Ask for different room than 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 342 in Budapest
484 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#244 of 342 in Budapest
479 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 342 in Budapest
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
439 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#118 of 342 in Budapest
648 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#94 of 342 in Budapest
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Property: Star City Hotel
Address: Istvan utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Star City Hotel (member of Mellow Mood Hotels) is located in Budapest city centre on the Pest side of Budapest 10 - minute walk from Keleti Palyaudvar, international railway station(500 m) and Metro station (Red Metro line 2) - which gives easy access to all parts of Budapest. Star City Hotel has 48 well-equipped,comfortable and relaxing rooms all of which feature FREE Wireless Internet access. In the hotel's open-plan lobby you can relax after a busy day, enjoying Hungary's famous spirits and international drinks as well. Room types include singles, doubles (with double or twin beds), triples and four-bedded family rooms. The adjoining rooms have a connecting door, a useful feature for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing