We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star City Hotel
Ranked #127 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A great hotel, clean, warm and a great breakfast. Good location, not far from the Eastern Railway Stn with access to the Metro and buses. Half an hour walk to the river. Staff very friendly, receptionist recommended Paprika for dinner which was a 7 min walk from the hotel - good Hungarian food, lots of it and at a great price. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms large, we had 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwood_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest "jwood_47",

Thank you very much for your kind review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Star City Hotel, liked the breakfast and our staff could help you to find out where are the good places to visit or to eat.
I hope that we could contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very good hotel always clean with good staff and good breakfast. Prices were very good, would go back again. It is based close to the city centre and the main railway station, it is also close to the new West End shopping centre which is good valuefor your money. There are also plenty of street cafe's available in the evening and the food and service here is very good and good value.

Room Tip: Apply early as tends to get booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david2013712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest 'david2013712',

Thank you very much for your kind review.
I was very happy to read that you liked the location of Star City Hotel and you were satisfied with the cleanliness and with the breakfast selection of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in that hotel twice. In 2010 I got a big, nice, clean, bright room with a double bed, and I thought it was a standard.
In 2013 I booked a room with a double bed (it was explicitly stated in the confirmation I got: "a marriage bed"). Upon coming to the hotel with my husband we were located in a small, dark room, higher than wide, with 3 separate beds. The receptionist said they only had 2 double beds in the hotel, and they were both taken while we arrived...
Our windows were on the same level as the internal courtyard, looking onto the smoking corner for the guests and staff (noise + smell!). We have spent 3 days behind closed curtains, otherwise everyone could see us sleeping or walking naked from the bathroom...
Staying in this hotel is like a Russian roulette, just the chances of getting a bad, bad room is much higher.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest 'MDZ419',

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on our hotel. I am truly sorry for the mistake regarding the bed type, unfortunately we do not always receive the detailed bedding information of reservations made through some of our wholesaler partners.
Concerning the sizes of the rooms, they are different. Most of our rooms are larger than the average hotel room size, but we have smaller rooms, too with the same room amenities as in the rooms with a bit more space.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room size, but I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again to Star City Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I accidentally booked the wrong hotel for my Budapest leg, and when I arrived at the Baross City hotel, I was informed I booked a the Baross in another city. We worked out the issue, I was informed that they could not accommodate us with a room and and the Baross suggested I stay at the Star City Hotel, not too far away.

This was the only hotel I could not research in advance.

I regretted not spending a little more money on a better choice hotel. The AC did not work, I asked for a fan, they didn't have one, they could not change my room because we were three people and they were all booked out of three rooms elsewhere.

The WiFi barely reached the room on the third floor. I had to go to the lobby to get WiFi. A major pain in the behind. The Television had 200 + channels all in Hungarian, I could not find any documentation telling me which channels were in English or french, so had to flip endlessly through all the channels searching in vain for something.

Staff was friendly and sympathetic, but powerless to take care of my AC and WiFi issues. A shrug of the shoulders and an apology. Thats it.

Breakfast was basic. Nothing out of the ordinary. in a very warm dining room. Took forever to get items replenished by the dining staff.

A very affordable Budget hotel close to the Train station, but don't expect much.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 309 unless they confirm that the AC unit works and you dont want WiFi in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenLazaroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear guest Darkdancer from Montreal,

Thank you for your review, I was very disappointed to read about some of your experiences, as we try for providing excellent service to our guest. I apologize for the inconveniences concerning the WiFi and the AC, unfortunately we had some technical problems, which needed to be repaired.

I was glad to hear that you found our receptionist team friendly and helpful and I truly hope that you had a nice time in our wonderful city.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager
Star City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a triple room. Breakfast included. Clean, nice, good breakfast. Not luxus, but great value for less money. Room very quiet at night when you got room with view to backyard! Good service. Nice people. You can walk to City Park (15 minutes), and to Donau (30 minutes), Opera House (20 minutes).
We had a great stay. Payed NOK 1400 for 3 nights with breakfast for 3 persons!

A must:
New York Cafe (10 minutes walk from Hotel) (expensive for Budapest, paied NOK 150 for a great dessert with a alcoholfree drink)

Szecheneyibath (20 minutes walk from Hotel) - bring an old towel from home

Room Tip: Very quiet when in third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloTravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near the train station,and pretty close to the center.

PROS:

-accessible price
-decent breakfast with open buffet
-luggage storage

CONS:

-THEY CHARGED US 1000 HUF FOR 2 BEER BOTTLES FROM THE MINIBAR THAT WE DID NOT DRINK !!!!
-stained carpets
-no soap or shampoo
-very noisy bathroom fan
-no control knobs for heating,which meant that we had to sleep with an opened window (woke up at 3 am because of some loud drunk guys trying to sing ""Lykke Li- I follow rivers")
-everything inside the hotel looks outdated and used
-pillows made up of chopped foam pieces
-flickering neons above the bed
-no remote for the TV,useless anyway because of poor reception

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two days. The hotel is a half-hour walk from the city center. The hotel is very clean. Room with a double bed is a comfortable and clean. Bathroom was decent. It has air conditioning in the room. Breakfast was excellent, a buffet. Staff at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. There are parking spaces in front of the hotel. Ticket for parking can be bought out. I recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natasa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 336 in Budapest
579 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#245 of 336 in Budapest
567 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#236 of 336 in Budapest
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 336 in Budapest
515 reviews
Expo Congress Hotel
#98 of 336 in Budapest
574 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 336 in Budapest
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: Istvan utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £30 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Star City Hotel (member of Mellow Mood Hotels) is located in Budapest city centre on the Pest side of Budapest 10 - minute walk from Keleti Palyaudvar, international railway station(500 m) and Metro station (Red Metro line 2) - which gives easy access to all parts of Budapest. Star City Hotel has 48 well-equipped,comfortable and relaxing rooms all of which feature FREE Wireless Internet access. In the hotel's open-plan lobby you can relax after a busy day, enjoying Hungary's famous spirits and international drinks as well. Room types include singles, doubles (with double or twin beds), triples and four-bedded family rooms. The adjoining rooms have a connecting door, a useful feature for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing