We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star City Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Keleti Hostel(Budapest)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites(Budapest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Elit(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
82
154
103
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
154
103
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeleti stationfresh towels every daymini bar pricesheroes' squaretrolley bussimple hotelminute walkclose to public transportationsingle roomstay there againquiet hotelnice breakfastvery nice stayrooms are bigclean roomsbreakfast includedrecommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2009

This seems to be a relatively new (or newly renovated) hotel in a rather old part of the city, quiter close to the Keleti main station (10 min. walk). The hotel itself is nice, clean, rather small, with not too many guests (the balance of January and February) and silent. The breakfast is good, with the right variety of food to have. A special thing about a double room there (anyway the one we were given) is that it actually consisted of two small separate rooms (one bed in each room) which makes the whole look like an apartment rather than just an ordinary hotel room. This is a perfect solution for couples who'd prefer to sleep separately and undisturbed (i.e. when someone's sneering or reading until late at night). The rooms are very high (the roof is somewhere several meters up above your head which is good, especially in hot summer time).
A big minus about the rooms are huge and taugh cushions you can hardly use for sleep, unless you like to sleep in a nearly sitting position. The daily cleaning service was also surprisingly ineffective (no carpet cleaning, no matter how dirty it becomes after several days).
The area the hotel is placed in might appear a little questionnable at first sight, but it is just the old part of the town that is not pretty much renovated hence not immediately "glittering and shining". It does not, however, have its own special charm and did not seem unsafe.
Just in front of the the hotel entrance there is a trolley stop that takes you in 10 minutes to the city center, or in 1-2 minutes to the Keleti station where you can change for nearly all directions, taking a bus or an underground. Mind, the Hungarians are obsessive about ticket control, so you'd better not travel blind (you need to punch a new ticket every time you enter a new vehicle, no matter if continuing your trip or uninterrupted).
All in all, it is a good and recommendable hotel, especially taking the price - value ratio (we booked it, however, much in advance via a travel web site thus, it cost us much less than the standard hotel rate ranging around 100 Euro!!!).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

For the money, Budapest's Star Hotel is pleasant: it's clean and cheery. The pillows were nice and big on the bed and the towels were nice, the staff friendly. The Star has a nice atrium-like sitting area. And it's not far from great stuff to do in Budapest, like near Heroes' Square.

By coincidence I actually heard this radio show about the Star:
http://budacast.hu/shows/budapest_star_hotel.mp3

I think the travelers' comments in that show were spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewbacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Very large (by european standards) room. Room was also very clean. Inexpensive.

Cons: Not a very central location or in a great neighborhood. The room was very hot (we opened the windows in December.) and their was no hair dryer.

If I ever go back to Budapest, would I stay there? probably not. That has much more to do with the location than anything else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jen814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We traveled in early October to Budapest, finishing two weeks in Central Europe. We searched online for hotels under $100US per night and chose the Star Panzio due to its proximity to the Keleti train station - we arrived by train from Vienna (after a stop-over for lunch and exploration in Bratislava) mid-evening.

The Star is too far from where you want to be. Upon arrival to Keleti, we should have just jumped on the M2(Red) Metro and taken it two stops to Astoria or one more to Deak Ferenc, and thus closer to the downtown centre. Star Panzio is in a more remote neighborhood which I would caution single younger female travelers, as it isn't well-lit and just isn't as good of a location as down by those other train stops. Granted, it may be harder to find a double room under $100US in the more central locations, but we think it's worth some extra dollars.

That said, Star Panzio itself is very acceptable, with spacious, well-appointed rooms, clean bathrooms with soap and shampoo, towels and in-room cable. The breakfast is hearty, with meats, cheeses, breads, hard-boiled eggs in addition to juices and coffee as dark as night!

If you do stay at the Star Panzio or in this area, we do recommend the restaurant Paprika across from the parking lot adjoining Heroes' Square. Paprika was simply incredible, with local fare at very affordable prices and an ambiance only a local could construct.

Finally, we cannot recommend more getting your casual phrases down before you arrive, as it makes initial communications much easier.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

My wife and I are on a 4 month "flash packing" trip around Europe and the Americas and we were looking for good budget accomodation

Star hotel fitted the bill perfectly, it is only 5 mins walk from the main railway station (Keleti) and about 25mins walk to 'central' Budapest (10mins on public transport) and the Danube. Having said this, public transport is so good in Budapest, it is really easy to get around.

Hotel has free wi-fi (even in our room on 4th floor), was clean and felt secure (there is a central safe with personal keys). Staff friendly, all speak good english. Room was decent size and had air con, buffet breakfast also fair.

Downsides, tiny shower /ensuite and hotel location is quiet, i.e. no nice locals (15 - 20 mins to get to main eating areas on Andrassy).

But it is 50 EUR per night, which makes it a great budget hotel

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RWRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews