We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Szonyi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Szonyi Hotel
Ranked #135 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I warmly recommend this hotel for who wants to have a nice, quiet and relaxing stay in Budapest. We were there for 3 days in August 2012 and had a very nice time. The staff were very nice with us, the room was clean, quiet, modern and equipped with everything we needed including a safe box and mini fridge. Not to mention the generous parking space, beautiful inner hotel yard which was very nice to wake up to in the morning, very good food and stylish restaurant and outer terrace. The location is not ideal, 10-15 min from the closest Metro station, but for us it was not a problem. Very good value for money. Our choice in Budapest for the future as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is our choice for the place to stay in lovely Budapest. We love this cozy hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is ampful. Parking is free and there's always enough room for a vehicle. Location is not perfect, but other things make up for it. We have stayed there 5 or 6 times already and we always want to come back.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitaliy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and I can fully recommend this place. This is very nice, modern and clean hotel. The hotel is situated in peaceful area, not far to the center of Pest (about 5 km). However to get to the center of Pest one has to walk about 10-15 minutes to the subway station (or 5 minutes by bus – bus stop is about 500 m from the hotel) and then another 15 minutes by subway. It is more difficult to get back to the hotel, because there is no bus stop near the hotel on the way back. The hotel has its own spa with two saunas and big jacuzzi. Hotel serves very tasty breakfast buffet. The staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel offering great value for the price. It has a good small restaurant and a spa. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price and the variety, quantity, and quality of the food is very good. If you're driving to Budapest, there is also ample free parking on the property. Free internet service is available and it was fast and dependable. We were there during an unseasonably cold spell in February and the room was comfortably heated. Rooms have a small balcony with chairs for warmer weather.

What, if any, are the downsides? If the weather is bad and you either don't have a car or don't want to walk in rain and snow to public transportation, you'll need to take a taxi to get to downtown, and from my experience, taxis in Budapest are relatively quite expensive compared to, say, Vienna. If you need one, the hotel can summon one up in about 5 minutes. The beds have a plastic mattress cover which leads to the sheets pulling out and bunching up during the night. While the rest of the bathroom was excellent, the shower mechanism appeared to be a relic of the communist era. You either had to accept low output or little directional control unless you took it down from its mounting and held it by hand. Very inconvenient.

On balance, I would certainly consider staying here again if I revisit Budapest--which is worth doing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel in September while sightseeing and visiting relatives. The close proximity to downtown, metro station, free parking was just what I was looking for. The rooms are nice, clean, and maintained well. The breakfast was esxceptional. The food was so good at the restaurant that wemade reservations and had a dinner party there one night with 15 people. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: One block to the bus station (bus 25). Then 2 stops to Mexikoi ut station. From there M1 subway goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I've stayed a couple of times and everything was perfect as I wrote before. Only one thing to mention - on TV there are porno channels between Discovery and Cartoon network programs. It's a little bit confusing when you travel with kids

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank PeterVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This one is the best 3* hotel I have ever visited (and I do travel a lot!) The spa area is a dream, just the right thing to do after a long walk across the city! The rooms are nice, the receptionist are very friendly, the breakfast is not too big, but good! We really felt at home and would advice this hotel to our friends! The only tip: take shampoo with you, they only put a shower gel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateryna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#156 of 334 in Budapest
40 reviews
Matus Hotel
#217 of 334 in Budapest
5 reviews
Veritas Hotel
#238 of 334 in Budapest
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#177 of 334 in Budapest
35 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#111 of 334 in Budapest
76 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#118 of 334 in Budapest
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szonyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szonyi Hotel

Address: Szonyi ut 38, Budapest 1142, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Szonyi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Szonyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing