We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ratio price/quality and pet friendly”
Review of Szonyi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Szonyi Hotel
Ranked #138 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent ratio price/quality and pet friendly”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Although the hotel is 3*S category, it is very cosy, has nice rooms, wonderfull garden with pond and plants, two cats will welcome you, cars are safe on the parking, stuff is very helpful, food is excellent! Owners of the hotel are present all the time and they can help you with anything you might need. Prices are moderate and all friends who accepted my recommendation were amazed what they got for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    27
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Szonyi hotel is a real hidden gem in Pest. Quiet, clean room, helpful staff, good breakfast. All our requests were immediately taken into consideration (we asked for an extra towel and blanket).
The staff understands English and is helpful in anything you need - including calling places in Budapest for you when you need help - we asked them to call the shuttle company and check whether the shuttle was coming on time - and they did, immediately.

In the hotel there is spa area including jacuzzi, salt room, sauna - everything in great condition! All of those open till 21:00 - which is very convenient when you get back from a long day in Budapest.

The hotel is situated 1.2 km from metro and it's the only disadvantage I can think of. If you're in shape and don't mind walking a bit - it's not a problem (the metro comes every 30-60 seconds, very efficient!)

Overall - a great and relatively not expensive hotel - great value for money! Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was in Budapest for a weekend in February and it was good. The location was perfect approximately 15 minutes walk to the station. The room was really small since I was alone during the travel it wasn’t too bad. Overall the value wasn’t bad, but I would look and see if there is anything better before checking in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Timis, Romania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a very nice place.
The neighborhood was all quiet, the property is clean and well maintained. The free parking at the property's back yard is wonderful, no stress for parking fees. The hotel is very well connected, after a few hundred meters of drive you're on one of the major boulevards of the city.
The restaurant is small and elegant, food choices for breakfast were more than enough.
Room is quite big, nice view and it has a balcony , too. That can be an advantage when weather is more friendly then it was some days ago.
Internet is working, there is cable Tv with many foreign channels (News, sports, children).
Overall was a very nice experience, for sure I'll add it to my favorite list.

Room Tip: I assume a room looking towards the backyard is more convenient because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sza_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our Hungarian family. It was a lovely hotel, the room was a family room so a sofa bed (double) was set up and also a cot for my youngest daughter but she wanted to sleep with her sister.

Rooms were quiet, the back of the hotel was lovely, a terrace to eat and drink on, park for the kids.

Food in the restaurant was lovely - even for a vegetarian, and breakfast was okay.

It was a approx a 10 minute walk to the metro which got us into main centre of Budapest.

The hotel even hosted my great Aunt's 90th birthday there, and there were 20 of us.

The English is very good from the staff in the hotel, even though we also had our Hungarian family as translators :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I warmly recommend this hotel for who wants to have a nice, quiet and relaxing stay in Budapest. We were there for 3 days in August 2012 and had a very nice time. The staff were very nice with us, the room was clean, quiet, modern and equipped with everything we needed including a safe box and mini fridge. Not to mention the generous parking space, beautiful inner hotel yard which was very nice to wake up to in the morning, very good food and stylish restaurant and outer terrace. The location is not ideal, 10-15 min from the closest Metro station, but for us it was not a problem. Very good value for money. Our choice in Budapest for the future as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is our choice for the place to stay in lovely Budapest. We love this cozy hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is ampful. Parking is free and there's always enough room for a vehicle. Location is not perfect, but other things make up for it. We have stayed there 5 or 6 times already and we always want to come back.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitaliy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Papillon
Hotel Papillon
#117 of 333 in Budapest
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Manzard Panzio
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#136 of 333 in Budapest
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#217 of 333 in Budapest
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Helios
Hotel Pension Helios
#109 of 333 in Budapest
334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#151 of 333 in Budapest
37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Expo Congress Hotel
Expo Congress Hotel
#112 of 333 in Budapest
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szonyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szonyi Hotel

Property: Szonyi Hotel
Address: Szonyi ut 38, Budapest 1142, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Szonyi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Szonyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing