We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Ranked #118 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I spent some days in Gold Hotel Buda in October 2011. This hotel is well located in the center of Budapest. I could easily reach my company's office, but I also had an opportunity to see the wonderful view from the Citadel at night. Next evening I checked the beautiful Buda Castle area, where I had a nice dinner too.
I recommend Gold Hotel Buda for anybody, who is travelling by car. It is really a night
mare to find a parking place on the Pest side, and finally when you found one, you pay a
huge parking fee! Buda side is much better and safer. I could easily and safely park my car
for only 10 Euro / night at Gold Hotel Buda.
I also like the spirit of the Buda side, but Gold Hotel Buda still gives you the possibility to easily and quickly get to Pest, if it is absolutely neccessary.
Room was fine, no problem with cleanliness or temperature. Buffet breakfast was better than
I expected.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel definitely does not deserve a 4* listing. Maybe 2. Breakfast is OK, dinner dreadful and they took ages to bring change from the bill and had to be asked repeatedly. The hotel is on a very busy main road.
One of the reception staff was very helpful. I considered changing hotels but decided 2 nights could be managed. The room was freezing and the heating system antiquated.
No minibar, no climate control, no safe and tvs only channel was CNN. Paper thin towels but good water pressure.

This is a beautiful city and well worth a visit. However, make sure you understand the ticket use for buses and metro as it can land you with problems with the so called tourist/transport police. (6000 forints fine and aggression).
A walk into the central locations takes a good 20 minutes, and although this sounds fine most of the walk is along a very busy main road (of which the return journey is up a fairly steep hill).
I would recommend staying the other side of the river in Pest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arany-Toth, Manager at Gold Hotel Wine & Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Jaeorgia,
Thank You for sharing your experiences with us.
I am sorry to read that we did not succeed to fulfill all your expectations.
I am also sad to see that you removed the nice wooden cover of the heater and you made a photo about the heater without the cover. In case of a complaint we do our best to either turn on the heating or showing another room. I fully agree with you that you should have had a minibar in your room. Please accept my appologizes, that we did not succeed to repair and return it during your stay. Now we have minibars in all rooms. We have only central safe at the reception desk.
I am glad that you like Budapest and you also have nice memories with our receptionist. I would be also glad to welcome you in Gold Hotel Buda sometimes in the future and compensate you with better and faster service, as all our guests deserve it.
Best Wishes,
Mariann Arany-Toth
Gold Hotel Buda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Within walking distance to all the sights and locations we wished to visit, this hotel was worth its price tag.Fantastic concierge service which really helps with bookings of theater, restaurant, special exhibitions or just insights into Budapest scene or directions.i would definitley go back to this hotel - it is a fantastic home base.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Arriony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

True to their word, the hotel staff had a taxi waiting for us at the airport. We arrived exhausted from our trip, but the staff was warm, welcoming, and gladly upgraded our room for us. The friendly desk staff helped us with each request, and took the initiative to fill us in on the best ways to get around the city, even arranging for a rental car. The room was cleaned with care every day, and stocked with new towels and bar items. In spite of Budapest's busy streets, our garden facing 3rd floor room was quiet, with a minimum of sound heard from other hotel occupants. The included buffet breakfast was such a nice treat - every morning we were greeted with delicious, fresh pastries, eggs, cheeses, breads, coffee and other delectable treats. Dinner at the restaurant was also delicious, however due to our later autumn stay in October, we encountered the seasonal closure of the restaurant which was only slightly inconvenient for us, and the staff was happy to bring us hot water for tea/coffee upon our request. We often chose to walk in lieu of public transportation over the Duna River to the Pest side, and easily walked to other restaurants, bridges, the castle and other sites of interest, including a gorgeous walk up Gellert Hill to see the Freedom Statue with extraordinary views of the city!

Room Tip: Garden side is the way to go to cut down on the street noise. For more space and a small kitchen, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NagyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I found this comfortable hotel on the internet. This was my first visit to Budapest, and frankly, I did not expect Budapest is such a beautiful city!
Receptionist explained everything we needed to know about the hotel and the city. The hotel is close to the Buda Castle, the Citadella and a bus stop (that takes you everywhere).
The other reviews are right, I had a great time in Budapest, specially because of the nicest receptionist, Tunde. Thank You Tunde and see you next time in Gold Hotel Buda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the Gold hotel for 3 nights, had a superb time. Our room was pleasant with a very large bed, with pillow menu. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The location is superb too. The hotel is situated in the middle of Budapest. 1 minute from the bus stations, easy walking distance to many attractions (be sure to have comfortable shoes). The Buda Castle and the Citadella are a few minutes away. Overall a SUPERB hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Thank you for great service, fresh, delicious breakfast&clean and comfortable room. The location convenient to every part of the city. Public transport so easy, and on time! Good bus service to the Downtown, by Nr. 8 or 112, just 2 minutes. Citadel, Castle Hill: 10 minutes walk.
Reception: very helpful and can't do enough for you.
We will strongly recommend this hotel to our friends.Wish we could stay longer.
We go home with beautiful memories.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 334 in Budapest
630 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#88 of 334 in Budapest
554 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#81 of 334 in Budapest
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#47 of 334 in Budapest
564 reviews
Gellert Hill
Villa Hotel Kristal
Villa Hotel Kristal
#146 of 334 in Budapest
80 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#85 of 334 in Budapest
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel Wine & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel Wine & Dine

Address: Hegyalja ut 14, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#94 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £46 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel Wine & Dine 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine is an attractive, new hotel with caring staff in central Budapest. We offer premium hotel rooms, 2-bedroom apartments, restaurant, terrace, meeting room, parking, garden & free WiFi. Make your stay more pleasant with half board & wine tasting. How much are you conscious? Our restaurant serves healthy foods, our eco hotel rooms are environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Hotel Wine & Dine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing