We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very attractive Inside and out!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Ranked #119 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, the restaurant was unbelievably attractive, staff very friendly and attentive, accommodation of the highest standard. The rooms were lovely, brilliantly cleaned everyday. Everyone had a smile on their face and greeted you and the hotel itself it beautiful during the day and in the evening.

Room Tip: Tower rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoltán K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the Gold Hotel for 7 nights at the start of April, the hotel itself was very good, comfortable room , great bed and pillows - small, but you don't go on holiday to stay in your room. Small point but the toiletries weren't replenished on a daily basis.

There was some road works happening outside the hotel during our stay but if you had the window closed you weren't bothered by the noise.

The breakfast was consistent in that the same was put out each day, and there was enough to choose from and a great coffee machine - so a good way to start the day.

Would we stay there again? Probably not and that is nothing to do with the hotel, just the location. We felt it was a little too far from the central area but that was our doing so can't reflect on the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My family traveled from Vienna to Prague and Budapest . We stayed at Gold Hotel and got very good services.Amazingly that this hotel has very limited staff but all of them are excellent and being professional. Imagine one hotel with 4 staff ( we did not see the housekeeper) but I asked the reception he said that they were 4 two in the dinning rooms, two for reception. The cleaning service inside the room was not at my expectation. Very strong wifi no swimming pool, no kid activities but our son is 19 we do not need that.

Room Tip: I stayed at the near street room when you closed the window you can hear some noise but it did not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paradee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Other reviewers have already pointed out the features of this hotel, which I can confirm as well: new/modern hotel, nice rooms, helpful staff. Rather than repeat what others have said, I'll provide some transport hints for people coming in via bus. If you're coming in by train or air then use the hotel's taxi-transfer service, the prices are competitive and it's much easier to get the hotel to arrange things for you.

If you're coming in by bus (for example because from some locations it's much cheaper to fly into Vienna and get the bus over than to fly into Budapest) then you need to get to the hotel yourself. The bus will drop you off at Nepliget bus station, from which the best way to get to the hotel is by taxi. You can in theory get the metro into the city centre and then go the rest of the way by bus, but since the taxi fare is around HUF 3000 it's really not worth the hassle of trying to decipher signs in Hungarian and hauling luggage everywhere.

Nepliget bus station in theory has a taxi rank, but in practice it doesn't really have one. When you arrive, head out onto Ulloi Street (the street that the bus most likely came in on) and turn right. You'll see a sign saying Taxi and most probably no taxis but a few private cars picking up and dropping off people. If you wait there a bit a taxi dropping someone off will eventually turn up, and you can grab that (if not, you'll have to phone a taxi company, most have English-speaking dispatchers).

Now if you do any reading about getting taxis in Budapest you'll see all sorts of horror stories about cowboy taxis trying to rip you off, but a lot of effort has been put into cleaning things up. As of mid 2014 most taxis from reputable companies come in New-York-taxi yellow, and all taxis should have yellow (not white) license plates. So look out for something that looks like a NY cab but with a modern, clean car instead of a beat-up wreck from the 1960s and you should be OK. Flagfall is typically HUF 450, and then something like HUF 280/km. To get to the hotel from Nepliget expect to pay around HUF 3000, which (mid-2014) equates to about EUR 10. Remember to add a tip of about 10%, unlike NY the driver won't try to murder you if you forget to tip but it is a bit impolite not to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I spent three days at the Buda Gold Hotel.

To summarise, comfortable hotel, with an efficient polite staff.

Pros:

Polite, professional staff. Patiently answered any questions I had.
The lady during the daytime at the front desk should be singled out.
I thought breakfast was finished at 9 am so getting up late I didn't bother to go down.
She nice enough to call me at 9:55 and tell me that breakfast finished at 10 and I could run down if I wanted.
In addition the soap dispenser on the sink didn't work. I figured the cleaning staff would figure it out the next day. They didn't
so when I called down, she was upstairs in less than a minute with a new one. Management should be aware of how professional, useful and polite she is.

Nice location, very green. The Parliament or Budapest Castle are both about five minutes away by taxi with out traffic. There is a local bus that will take you directly there as well.

Breakfast was decent. I never saw any fruit but I always arrived at the last minute so it may have finished. Juice dispenser is too slow. They're better off with a mug.

Convenience stores nearby.

Bank across the street if you need to get money.

Extremely cost friendly and breakfast was included. My basic bill was 230 dollars for three nights.
However, this was April.

Cons:
Not really near the action in terms of walking. But the bus is cheap. But I was pressed for time and never bothered. I took a tax which was usually 7 to 10
dollars to the Parliament building.
You can actually walk to the Buda Castle which should take about 25 minutes. From there it's about another ten minutes to Parliament.

No room service during the day. No food other than breakfast. However, you can to reception and get a coffee from their machine.
Fridge could have some edibles, eg., nuts, chocolate, etc.

The liquid soap and the bar were not really of good quality. The bar was small and cheap looking and the soap in general wasn't soapy enough. When you're
used to a good quality soap, you can tell the difference.

My fan stopped working for about an hour. I was told the room had to get down to 20 degrees. But then it started working after an hour at 23 degrees and continued
for the rest of the night above 20. Thank God it did eventually work. The room was warm and the poor fellow was clueless as to why, thus the half baked excuse.

To summarise, I enjoyed my time there. I would certainly consider this hotel if I had to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

They offer very good rate for 3nights! The hotel is beautiful, new. Rooms are comfortable, really nice. Breakfast is fine buffet. It is in the center, we could easily reach any points of the city within minutes. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisboisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and we received 20% off. Budapest and also Gold Hotel are beautiful and romantic. All important things are fine in this hotel: the bed, the bathroom, the quality. It was comfortable and reasonable. Location is also fine , in the very center. Book on the official site to get free breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 334 in Budapest
630 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#87 of 334 in Budapest
554 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#82 of 334 in Budapest
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#46 of 334 in Budapest
564 reviews
Gellert Hill
Villa Hotel Kristal
Villa Hotel Kristal
#146 of 334 in Budapest
80 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#83 of 334 in Budapest
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel Wine & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel Wine & Dine

Address: Hegyalja ut 14, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#94 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel Wine & Dine 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine is an attractive, new hotel with caring staff in central Budapest. We offer premium hotel rooms, 2-bedroom apartments, restaurant, terrace, meeting room, parking, garden & free WiFi. Make your stay more pleasant with half board & wine tasting. How much are you conscious? Our restaurant serves healthy foods, our eco hotel rooms are environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Hotel Wine & Dine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing