We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay - you can not go wrong !”
Review of Korona Panzio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Korona Panzio
Ranked #196 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have recently returned from a long weekend staying at the Korona Pension.
Although a good 20 minutes from the City centre it our option staying at the Korona offers very good value and realy good accomodation.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious although we had to cope with staying on the top floor with no lift and being the right old age of 65 was a bit hard going!
The nearby restaurant serving the hotel's breakfast and eveing meals was excellent in the food offered and price.
Finding our way to the City Centre is quite easy - get the bus 53 from outside the hotel to the top of the hill and then the bus 8 takes you over the river into the centre.
Would recommend going on the free walking tours - great guides and lots of informaion about the City.
By the way if you are over 65 years of age all travel is free in the City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had very nice rooms - big and bright - for 4 days of staying in Budapest. Everything was pretty good concerning the hotel - service, room, breakfast - thanks very much! I advise this place to everyone!!! The main thing is about how to get to the hotel! It's not in the center - it's in mountainous part of Buda, so You must have Budapest travel card for Your convenience! In fact, You should transfer to another line only once to get to the Danube or Center of Pest (from bus 53 to bus 8 at the bus station Márton Áron tér - it's three stops far from Hotel Korona upward Sasadi Street - and it'll take 25 minutes to get to the center of the city). Pretty nice thing that You can't go anywhere by transport without a ticket - even bus drivers are very attentive and notice people getting on - the bus won't go further until You pay!!! You may buy tickets in a bus, but they cost more (it's usual for Europe) - that's why it's easy to buy travel card - You don't spend time finding tickets, don't spend extra money - just wait for Your bus and go where You want;))

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The room we were given was a suite which was apparently same size as our appartment! The breakfast was good. Onion soup in a loaf which is served here is a must try. Too tasty! Public transport from here is good but if staying for more than 4 days; Budapest travel card is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prachi_sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed with my family at this lovely hotel for three nights.
The hotel looks very nice and pleasant and it made us feel very comfortable, the working staff was very nice and polite and was always ready to help.
The location of the hotel is great too, the hotel is located in a calm area from which you can easily get to the city's center using the public transport. (bus 53 from the hotel to the top of the hill and then bus 8 to the city's center)
Another big positve thing with this hotel is the breakfast which was always tasty and just everything you will expect for breakfast: eggs, cheese, cereal,tea, juice and so on...
I would recommend everyone to try the hotel's restaurant , try the soup in the loaf, it really is something!
I'm really satisfied with this hotel , which contributed to my wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The raport quality/price is very good. The location of the hotel is ok if you use public transportation (bus station is just in the front of the hotel). Very clean. The room was nice. The garden is nice. The hotel's restaurant has very good food. The lunch daily menu is grate, is cheap (about 2.5 euro), but is just monday-friday. The personel speaks english and they are very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank MARIUSfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I got a deal on the hotel and it was ridiculously cheap so was not expecting much however beds were big and comfy the shower was hot and it was clean that is really all you need!Yes its a bit 70s and there is a lot of wood but you get what you pay for.
Hotel is easy to find- go out the hotel turn right and walk up the giant hill until you get to a load of flower stands (about 10ish mins) on the right there is a round wooden kiosk you can buy a single bus ticket for about 700 forints the bus stop is next to it on the same side as the tram. take the 8 bus about 15 mins over the bridge now we got off at Astoria and went down into the metro to buy a 72 bus/tram ticket as we didnt think the budapest card was worth it. 72 hr bus pass is £3850.00. Once you have a bus pass then you can get on the 53 bus from outside the main hotel(there are 2 sites) instead of walking the hill if you're lazy like me!
The breakfast was what you would expect- cold meats/cheeses/cereals/fruit/eggs. We went to the restaurant on the first night as we arrived late and were starving! the food was average but ther service was very good :) and the price was very cheap!
All in all it was a pleasant trip- the beds were cleaned daily and the staff on reception could not have been more helpful! spoke very good english and i am very thankful to them for answering all my silly questions! I would def recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We really liked this place.

However seeing the photos of it in the summer we almost didn’t recognise it in the gloom and mist that we had whilst we were there, but that’s not the hotels fault.

The room was small and basic, but it was beautifully clean and fresh, and most importantly the shower was really good.

We stayed for three days and ate in the restaurant twice, the restaurant food is excellent, and really good value.

The staff in the reception are really professional and helpful. They were really helpful to everyone that came in providing lots of transport information etc.

There were people from all over the world staying for a couple of days whilst travelling around Europe, and it was really interesting sitting in the bar watching them come and go.

We had a car whilst we were there and I was very glad we did because the area the hotel is in is a long way from the centre, and without the car to have a look at the surrounding areas, you are somewhat stuck with travelling into the centre on the same two tram or bus routes to the exclusion of everywhere else.

The city its self has some beautiful buildings, however it also has a lot of homeless people begging and people begging on the trams etc.

Finally bring your appetite the portions in the restaurants are enormous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline_andy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#239 of 334 in Budapest
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budai Hotel
Budai Hotel
#178 of 334 in Budapest
40 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Helios
Hotel Pension Helios
#118 of 334 in Budapest
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Korall
Villa Korall
#140 of 334 in Budapest
131 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#245 of 334 in Budapest
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korona Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona Panzio

Address: Sasadi ut 123, Budapest 1112, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £13 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korona Panzio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Korona Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korona Panzio Budapest
Korona Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing