We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Kalvin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kalvin House
Ranked #110 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This four-story hotel two blocks from the Danube on the Pest side was recommended by friends who have been to Hungary many times, and we were not disappointed. It is an old building with an elevator. Ask for a room on the fourth floor if it is summer; it is the only floor air conditioned. We were in a large room right under the eaves and very comfortable. If it is not the summer, try a room lower down and facing the courtyard, away from the sun. The reception staff answered all our questions. A cold buffet is included with the room price, which was reasonable for the area. The large indoor central market is one block down the street. We found small gifts for home there and on the central street one block away. The Vaci Uta is three blocks away and afforded evening meals outdoors. Ice cream is everywhere and everyone seemed to be partaking. We loved the thermal baths too.

Room Tip: Fourth floor for air conditioning. Room lower down and facing the courtyard if air conditioning not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EViB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    210
    53
    7
    8
See reviews for
63
159
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wonderful welcome and helpful, english speaking staff. The room had a separate lounge area with TV (yes we did watch cartoons in Hungarian!) and bathroom with both a shower and bath.
In common with several European hotels, there are no tea making facilities in the room and it was only several days later that we discovered you could buy drinks and snacks from reception. There are also several small supermarkets nearby.
Excellent value for money. Well located for all the sights, clean and comfortable.
Do ask the staff for help as they are really helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which has restricted ceiling height at the edges. I think the rooms have r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Ogri111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was there for a week-end...confortable...bright rooms and large...clean, daytime staff available and qualified. good breakfast. good speak english staff... excellent rate...inexpensive in spite of good service quality

Room Tip: the room on street on july was too hot cause sunshine...advice to bbok ones on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I found Kalvin House through Trip Advisor - I was to attend a conference at another hotel, but when I checked out the reports on that hotel, it sounded as if there could be better value elsewhere, and there was.

I arrived soon after 1a.m. No problem! In seconds I was checked in, and my room was metres away. And what a room! You entered through double double doors - no, you are not reading double! - there were both outer and inner double doors. Once both were closed, there was no sound from anything happening in the hotel itself. The room was huge, and furnished with wonderful old pieces - a hanging cupboard, a cupboard with shelves, a chest of drawers, a dressing table with great mirrors, a small round table and two comfortable chairs, bedside tables with lamps and a folding suitcase stand - and, of course, two comfortable beds. Two tall windows at the end, both double windows so that when you closed the inner window there was minimal noise too. However, there was further secret weapon - internal solid shutters. Close those as well, and you were wrapped in silence divine!

The bathroom was reasonably well equipped - no bidet, and a shower-cum-bath with a shower curtain which you had to drape into the bath to reduce flooding (I accidentally caused a flood when I turned the shower on and the spray ran along the wall, turned the corner, slipped past the curtain and poured onto the floor). However, there was lots of hot water, the shower flow wasn't affected by other users, and for once there was a decent table stand for clothes and washing gear/cosmetics.

Breakfast was typical continental. Lots of coffee, plentiful fruit juice (with decent-sized glasses for once), good cereals with a choice of yoghurts, four choices of bread and rolls, a wide selection of jams, cheeses and cold meats and a couple of choices of fresh fruit. Having slept well, you ate well.

Descending to ground level, you found yourself a few metres from the main drag. The river was five minutes walk away at the most, and just before you reached the bridge you found on the east side the old railway station which had been converted into a wonderful market. There must have been 500 stalls in it, and business was brisk every time I went in. Vaci Utce was a bit of a tourist trap in parts, but I managed to find a little restaurant that seemed to cater for locals more than tourists and had an excellent three-course dinner with a litre of local beer for less than 5000HuF (about $15).

I stayed 4 nights at Kalvin Hus, and when I paid the bill with 200 Euros they searched around and found 4 Euros change - good value it really is!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel during our 5 days visit to Budapest.
most important: location. great one by that. five minutes walk minutes from the vaci utce and the river (freedom bridge), Gellert bath house is right across the bridge. lots of pubs and restaurants in the area. the Jewish District is 2 metro stations away (the best place to party and wonder aound great pubs and clubs). the metro station is 4 minutes away by walk... you cant ask for a better loction. we just kept admiring it...

the staff is absolutly superb. nice and wellcoming, informative and helping, takes care of everything. great breakfast as well!! well done guys...one the best experiences weve had when it came to service.

the rooms are vast and full of style. the only downside i can think of is the lack of air conditioning when it gets hot...but then again that seems to be a general problem in Budapest... cleen and spacious bathroom. huge bed and lots of light.

thank you for a great stay at a great city:)) great value for money.

Room Tip: try to pick a room that faces the back yard due to sometimes noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gil n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cluj-napoca
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Hotel is located pretty close to the city centre, just a short walk to Vaci utca (shopping and restaurants street). Rooms are big, with old furniture which brings you back to 1800's :).TV satelit, free wi-fi in the room, nice and new bathroom, pretty good sleep conditions (but blanket too short for me) will make a comfortable accomodation for you.
Area is very quiet, Tesco is just across the street, receptionist is more than helpfull...and pretty too :P

Except the boiled eggs and coffee, the breakfast contains only cold meals...But it shouldn't be a problem, considering the coffees and terraces a few minutes away :)

It's a good value for money, and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Once again we were blessed to visit the wonderful city of Budapest, Hungary. And once again, we chose to stay at the Kalvin House. We were picked up at the airport by their transportation service & delivered safe & sound to the hotel. The staff is always delightful, helpful & professional. We love the location as it is near the Central Market Hall, close to the walking/shopping street, Vaci, and at the end of the Vaci is the famous Gerbeaud-a great place for a cup of coffee & a pastry. At the end of a busy day of site-seeing, The Kalvin House is a wonderful retreat. There are several nice restaurants near by and that is always an added plus. I highly recommend the Kalvin House for a pleasant stay in Budapest!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter. There is no AC so if you are traveling in the summer months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#121 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#53 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalvin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalvin House

Property: Hotel Kalvin House
Address: Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalvin House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kalvin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing