We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but has personality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Targu Mures
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average but has personality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

As a hotel it's nothing special, but it's something different and the boat does have a nice warm personality. It's also in a great location.

Rooms are really small, but they do. Staff , especially reception are quite nice and the food is really good. Although if you have food included then be prepared for a lack of variety.

It's far from being a great hotel, i'd say it's more 2 stars then 3 , but a great alternative to the usual hotel and it has heart. All in all I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToonKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    164
    91
    30
    19
See reviews for
43
175
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Traveled solo and stayed for four nights from 27th November. I chose this hotel based on the price and because it was something different. The hotel is not too far from the main attractions once you have mastered the metro and the trams. I was given a twin room on the upper deck. The room itself, although small, was ok. I would not recommend this size of room if you like to spend time in the room relaxing. The toilet/wet room was very small although the shower was very good. The windows in the rooms do not open and the air con does not make much difference. Although it was November the room was very warm, i think this would be a big problem in the summer season. The outside deck area was nice, with tables to sit and watch the river traffic go by. Breakfast was continental, not my ideal breakfast but plenty of food to start your day and well prepared. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when you needed advice on what to see, and how to get there.
Overall i would recommend this hotel if you want something different at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I decided to ignore the reviews on here and book anyway(following a great experience on a boatel in Bratislava).
I wasnt quite aware how far this hotel is out of town and its a 15minute walk to the nearest metro.

The heating took about 2hours to warm up the room also (if your arriving when its -5 and its 1am thats a problem)

Breakfast was weak, very basic with only three types of cake.

However the staff were happy to order cabs for us and were quite friendly.

I wouldnt stay here again only because it's too far away from it all (if your taking a short trip time is everything) however i'd stay its value for money at 42euro a night for a superior room (top tip, if you want a superior room make sure you demand the room that doesnt face the road....they stay its got a river view which it does......abit)

Helpful?
Thank Lowey100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Good hearty breakfast. Interesting atmosphere of the hotel. Location close to the attractions of Budapest. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
The disadvantage was not opened windows and poor air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Bydgoszcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

A very interesting alternative to the usual, the Fortuna was excellent value for money. Following the advice of other reviews, I went for the best accommodation available, and got a spacious room with wide views both up and across the Danube. And if you like a grandstand close-up view of cormorants feeding, come here. .

It's a low price hotel, so don't expect high quality fixtures and fittings, but it's perfectly clean and functional. There's a certain charm in going below decks for breakfast, which was substantial and good value. But the coffee-machine coffee wasn't pleasant. There is also an on-board restaurant where you are offered a 15% discount on one meal, didn't try it though.

The location is fairly central, and it's within easy walking/tram distance of most places. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a river-side view and larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brascioles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

If you like to stay in a hotelroom most of the day, is this not a hotel for you. This is a hotel for those that want to experience something different than what they are used to. In a good way! We stayed here two nights, one day in a "dorm" and one night in a "standard doubleroom", the "dorm" was a tiny room with three beds and not so much more.. separated shared bathroom which was shared for those that stayed in dorm. Spiderweb in the windows, not very clean. However, the "standard doubleroom" was much better. More space, and better beds. Over sea level ( the dorms below). Own bathroom included in the dorm. Well-worth the extra cost (not much more expensive than the dorms). The service was very good, extremely helpful receptionist that gladly answered any questions about Budapest. The price was average for Budapest, which means nice price:-) If you want to travel in both areas of Budapest (Buda / Pest), is the location on the Donau excellent. Transport in Budapest is excellent with buses/metro/trolleybus/tram 24/7/365,.so park your car nearby the hotel if you have one. Parking is not free but its not expensive.. You could buy 24h-tickets for all public transportations in Budapest, and it cost approx € 7 for a 48h-pass. Then you travel unlimited with all public transportations!
I recommend this hotel, i will stay here when i return to Budapest!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist12344321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Staff and Management

The receptionists were friendly, though nothing exagerated, the only thing we've heard them saying in the 6 days we stayed was good morning, thank you and have a nice day. They all spoke English. They didn't give any extra information, though we didn't ask for anything either. The people in the breakfastroom were friendlier

Services

The hotel has a restaurant and there's a wireless internet connection you can use free of charge. The speed is acceptable, but there's not everywhere very good signal.

Location

The location of the hotel is convenient ON the Donau. It's in between of Buda and Pest, close to Margaret's Island and Margaret's bridge, though to reach Buda castle you need to walk about half an hour. The hotel is close to Metroline 3 station Lehel Ter.

Bedrooms

The bedroom was rather small with a more or less uncomfortable bathroom, though you have to keep in mind that it's a boat afterall.

The room was clean enough, though we found hair in the bed on arrival and there was a spiderweb on the cieling during all our stay.

The heating didn't always work well, though when we went telling the reception they gave us an electric heater for that night and the day after the heating got fixed.

When we arrived the toilet leaked a little bit, we told the reception and also this got fixed the day after.

Food

The hotel offers a breakfast included in the price of the room. The breakfast has everything a continental breakfast includes, there's also scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausage...The breakfast was plenty and VERY nice!

We didn't use the restaurant for lunch nor diner.

Conclusion

The location, the room which was just fine in the end, the nice breakfast the good price and the fact that you stay on a boat make it worth to stay in the hotel. You should just accept that not everything is perfect, but they try their best to make you have a good time.

If we'd go back to Budapest, we'd consider to go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidloncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#142 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#108 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botel Hotel Lisa
#215 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#187 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#112 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Szent Istvan park, also rakpart, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us near to the city center of Budapest, next to Margharet Island in the 3 star category Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant! Calm and pleasant accommodation in the heart of the Hungarian capital – pleasure is guaranteed! The Danube, the nature and the boat together provide an unforgettable experience. We offer two kind of accommodations in different categories,: 3 star hotelrooms (quality: superior and standard) or hostel rooms (single, twin, triple) for backpackers and thrifty travellers. For the health and comfort of our guests, Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant is non-smoking, including all rooms and public areas. During your stay try our Lord Nelson Restaurant with delicious Hungarian and International meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing