We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cramped”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over New Years. It was a great location, with everything touristy within walking distance. The breakfast was average. The room was quite small and cramped. The air con didn't work and the room was very hot. It was good as a novelty, but maybe only for 1 night.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    164
    91
    30
    19
See reviews for
44
176
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Me and my fiance decided to do something a little different when we knew we'd be taking a city break. Saw a boat hotel and thought why not. Loved it!
Arrival went really smooth and it was nice to receive a 15% discount for the resturant. Pleasant room, decided for the superior room with an actual double bed rather than the standard two singles pushed together at most hotels. Comfy and clean. Definite value for money and glad i spent the extra bit of cash for the superior room. Still well within a cheap weekend city break budget. View was brill and location was brilliant. Right in the city centre and not far walk from anywhere really. Quiet enough in the evening which was lovely and only a short walk away from abit of liveliness. Stayed in end of Feb beginning of March and loved the fact that i could always come back to a cosily warm room. Never cold and always comfortable. Resturant serves real good food and nice and quick too. The breakfast was pretty standard but done the job.
Staff were really helpful and helped ordering cabs and answering any queries when needed.

At the end of my trip when i checked out, i left my ipad in the room and jumped in a cab. I was totally unaware. Whilst in the cab on the way to the airport, there was a cackle over his radio, he pulled over turned around to the back seat and said to me, "have you left your ipad". I couldnt believe that i'd been an absolute wally. He drove back and i was cursing myself the whole journey back for my stupidity. As we pulled back up to the hotel the receptionist was there waiting to hand me my ipad. Brilliant! Staff went above and beyond and i can only thank them for being so honest and for trying their hardest to get back in contact to return the ipad to me. In these days you don't often see that kind of honesty and helpfulness......

Recommend Budapest and this hotel for anyone that isn't necessarily looking for a luxurious hotel but someone on a budget and looking for a friendly, clean, comfortable and welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the Superior Double Room for only a little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Mures
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

As a hotel it's nothing special, but it's something different and the boat does have a nice warm personality. It's also in a great location.

Rooms are really small, but they do. Staff , especially reception are quite nice and the food is really good. Although if you have food included then be prepared for a lack of variety.

It's far from being a great hotel, i'd say it's more 2 stars then 3 , but a great alternative to the usual hotel and it has heart. All in all I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToonKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Traveled solo and stayed for four nights from 27th November. I chose this hotel based on the price and because it was something different. The hotel is not too far from the main attractions once you have mastered the metro and the trams. I was given a twin room on the upper deck. The room itself, although small, was ok. I would not recommend this size of room if you like to spend time in the room relaxing. The toilet/wet room was very small although the shower was very good. The windows in the rooms do not open and the air con does not make much difference. Although it was November the room was very warm, i think this would be a big problem in the summer season. The outside deck area was nice, with tables to sit and watch the river traffic go by. Breakfast was continental, not my ideal breakfast but plenty of food to start your day and well prepared. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when you needed advice on what to see, and how to get there.
Overall i would recommend this hotel if you want something different at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I decided to ignore the reviews on here and book anyway(following a great experience on a boatel in Bratislava).
I wasnt quite aware how far this hotel is out of town and its a 15minute walk to the nearest metro.

The heating took about 2hours to warm up the room also (if your arriving when its -5 and its 1am thats a problem)

Breakfast was weak, very basic with only three types of cake.

However the staff were happy to order cabs for us and were quite friendly.

I wouldnt stay here again only because it's too far away from it all (if your taking a short trip time is everything) however i'd stay its value for money at 42euro a night for a superior room (top tip, if you want a superior room make sure you demand the room that doesnt face the road....they stay its got a river view which it does......abit)

Helpful?
Thank Lowey100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Good hearty breakfast. Interesting atmosphere of the hotel. Location close to the attractions of Budapest. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
The disadvantage was not opened windows and poor air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Bydgoszcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

A very interesting alternative to the usual, the Fortuna was excellent value for money. Following the advice of other reviews, I went for the best accommodation available, and got a spacious room with wide views both up and across the Danube. And if you like a grandstand close-up view of cormorants feeding, come here. .

It's a low price hotel, so don't expect high quality fixtures and fittings, but it's perfectly clean and functional. There's a certain charm in going below decks for breakfast, which was substantial and good value. But the coffee-machine coffee wasn't pleasant. There is also an on-board restaurant where you are offered a 15% discount on one meal, didn't try it though.

The location is fairly central, and it's within easy walking/tram distance of most places. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a river-side view and larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brascioles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#129 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Botel Hotel Lisa
#212 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#191 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#124 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#188 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Szent Istvan park, also rakpart, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us near to the city center of Budapest, next to Margharet Island in the 3 star category Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant! Calm and pleasant accommodation in the heart of the Hungarian capital – pleasure is guaranteed! The Danube, the nature and the boat together provide an unforgettable experience. We offer two kind of accommodations in different categories,: 3 star hotelrooms (quality: superior and standard) or hostel rooms (single, twin, triple) for backpackers and thrifty travellers. For the health and comfort of our guests, Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant is non-smoking, including all rooms and public areas. During your stay try our Lord Nelson Restaurant with delicious Hungarian and International meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing