We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this botel with my 2 friends and enjoyed a lot. We found it very difficult to locate it as we were searching for hotel not for any boat. Staff is very helpful. Rooms on the deck are good. Breakfast is also amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitmittal1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We found the floating hotel on the Danube to be an easy walk to all the shopping and transport that we as visitors to Budapest required. Very helpful staff, excellent breakfast below decks. Great prices at the restaurant and bar. But the rooms are super small with no facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be very small, a/c didn't work very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

great city! the idea of a boat hotel is amazing, but the rooms are too small. we reserved a double room and we got a twin without being consulted. anyway, they have really good prices and the experience was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Boat hotel in heart of Budapest, just opposite to Margit sziget (island) on the Danube.
Old boat with hotel and restaurant situated on very convenient place if you planing to have sightseeing Budapest. Small rooms(boat) not for people over 190 cm. Nice feelings old style.

Room Tip: Ask the rooms from Danube side and not from street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in this particular hotel for 3 days in April and it was amazing
- location, view to the main attractions like Parliament, Royal Palace, Fisherman Castle and Margit Sziget, everything was quite close. Also Nyugati train station is close so it's easy to catch a train a go for example to Godollo residence;
- staff, very friendly, helpfull and they provide a specific atmosphere as we were on a classy cruise liner, it was very nice;
- breakfasts - various, with some national dishes every day, fruits, vegetables, delicious pastry, variety of meat and chees, etc.;
- room itself - it was cosy, small but nice, comfortable, with nice view to the river. Bathroom was small and no hairdryer and shower amenties in but it's ok for this type of hotel and for this price.

I will definitely stay here another time I'll be in my lovely Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gshakirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Great room, compact but sufficient as we did not spend too much time there. It is close to metro, bus, etc, but we walked everywhere- if you enjoy walking it is not too far from anything (perhaps 15-20 min walk to parliament). The staff were very helpful and there was a lot of information about activities and days out, and the staff will help book things for you. It was useful to have breakfast included, and there is a great selection of food available (bacon, eggs, sausages, cold cuts, bread, jam, fruit, cereal and even brownies!). Bed was fine, bathroom was fine, and the room was kept clean. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Me and my sister had a wonderful stay at the Boat Hotel Fortuna. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom but when we arrived we got apparently an upgrade and stayed in a room with bathroom. The room is small but enough. It also has a TV. We had a great view on the Danube, with a wonderful sunset. The room is cleaned everyday. The staff is very friendly. But the best thing was the rich breakfast buffet which is included in the price!
We can only recommend this hotel! It's a great experience to live on a boat! Go for it :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Assiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#137 of 334 in Budapest
686 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#112 of 334 in Budapest
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botel Hotel Lisa
#247 of 334 in Budapest
114 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#95 of 334 in Budapest
202 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Szent Istvan park, also rakpart, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £27 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us near to the city center of Budapest, next to Margharet Island in the 3 star category Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant! Calm and pleasant accommodation in the heart of the Hungarian capital – pleasure is guaranteed! The Danube, the nature and the boat together provide an unforgettable experience. We offer two kind of accommodations in different categories,: 3 star hotelrooms (quality: superior and standard) or hostel rooms (single, twin, triple) for backpackers and thrifty travellers. For the health and comfort of our guests, Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant is non-smoking, including all rooms and public areas. During your stay try our Lord Nelson Restaurant with delicious Hungarian and International meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing