We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, inexpensive hotel in Castle location”
Review of Burg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burg Hotel
Ranked #130 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Burg Hotel was a great place to stay in the Castle district. I was grateful for the affordable price, and very happy with the location, which was only a short walk from all of the Castle complex museums, Matthias Church, and a good number of restaurants. In addition to exploring the Castle area, on the Buda side of the Danube, it was also possible to get the little blue bus which runs every 5 minutes down into Pest. The accommodations at The Burg were fine, and I was very happy with the breakfast. The staff were friendly and accommodating, including offering to carry my bag up to my room, which was really helpful, since there is no elevator at The Burg. I met several visitors who have often been to Budapest, and who always stay at The Burg. I'll be looking forward to coming back, too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MaggieC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is well-situated in the Castle district very close to the Fisherman's Bastion and across the plaza from the old Matthias Church. Staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. That said, this place is a dump! It looks great from the outside and the lobby looks fairly nice.

The rooms were extraordinarily dated and shabby and the mattresses old and lumpy. The carpet, drapes and bedspreads are worn out. It was unseasonably warm during ourstay in June and major construction was going on in the square, which started at 7 a.m. Breakfast was on the chincy side. I would NOT stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My first trip to Budapest was enhanced by the stay at this hotel which is superbly situated within a couple of minutes walk of the Fisherman's Bastion which offers excellent views over the Danube and Pest.
Rooms are basic but adequate and very well priced. The breakfast was very good and certainly far more than I would normally eat of a morning. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was so peaceful we at one time wondered if we were the only guests, then we arrived for breakfast to find many more.
There are some very nice and friendly street restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. A great couple of days and nights in one of Europe's great cities.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Got a room with a view. Rooms a little bit dated but the price of the rooms reflects this. The breakfast is on the minimalist side but functional. The receptionist are pleasant and informative as well as being good linguist.

All in all the best part is the location within easy reach of the Matthias Church and Hospital on the Rock, Natural At Gallery plus other local attractions.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank TonyHutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were a party of 3 and had the family room which would have slept 4 in the 2 separate bedrooms. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is good value given the excellent location in the Castle Hill area of Buda. The staff were friendly and helpful.The breakfast choice was fine. We stayed for 7 nights and would happily stay there again if we return to Budapest.

Room Tip: I can only say that the 2 roomed family suite is very good for 3 or more persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Burg hotel is located near the Mattias Church and is a very nice hotel. We rented a family room with four separate beds which is godd for four ladies (friends not couples) . Good brekfast and nice personal willing to help a with Everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and our room had a great view of Mattias Church. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always fresh. The few points that we felt let the hotel down were the fact that firstly the 'double' bed consisted of 2 single mattresses and kept separating (separate single sheets/duvets on each). There were no mattress protectors either - the sheets were placed directly on the mattress. Only 2 thin pillows were supplied, it would have been nice to have had a couple of spares in the cupboard. Also, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame. These were the the main points we felt let the hotel down, but overall it is in a lovely location, and the room/hotel was always clean. Due to it's location and the fact that there is no lift in the hotel, it's probably not the best location for anyone who doesn't like much walking. The Fisherman's Bastion is virtually on the doorstep and offers some superb view of the Danube and the city itself. All in all, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy due to building work on the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun_Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Papillon
#131 of 336 in Budapest
274 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#83 of 336 in Budapest
1,397 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 336 in Budapest
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
370 reviews
Corvin Hotel Budapest
#125 of 336 in Budapest
174 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 336 in Budapest
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Hotel

Address: Szentharomsag ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Budapest
#91 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burg Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing