We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hippy hostel”
Review of Shantee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shantee House
Ranked #62 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Real nice cosy small loaded (!) hostel.. After the S.U.N. Festival many people went to the shantee house and they didn't want to disappoint anyone, so everybody could have a place to sleep. Nice peole, lovely decorated, nice garden.. perfect! :)

Room Tip: Book really early or don't mind to sleep in a hammock or tent in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo_Ganapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

You don't find hostels more relaxed than the Shantee House. Cool verging on vaguely disorganised at times, but the staff are really helpful and sort out any issues you might have. A small place, which means that it's very easy to meet people - we had a couple of great nights hanging out in the common room. Not brilliantly located, so you will have to navigate the transport system (which can be unreliable at night, so plan how you're getting back from your night out!). I'd definitely stay again, and recommend it to those who don't mind a vibe as relaxed as this - more uptight travellers might want to stay away!

Room Tip: You can stay in a yurt outside for cheaper, but to be honest the dorm rooms are also very cheap and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fh375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Service: Below average. The majority of the hostel staff I encountered did not seem overly knowledgeable or helpful (one woman was great, however). To be honest I had a difficult time determining who ACTUALLY worked there just based on a lack of professionalism. Seemed to be a lack of organization at the front desk.

Value: Definitely great value. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom for about 20 euros a night pp.

Sleep quality: Below average. The hostel pumps music late into the night. Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Cleanliness: I found the room and bathrooms to be very clean. Only downside was the bathroom was not stocked with toilet paper or hand soap during my stay.

Location: Average. Buses and tram were not too far away.

Overall, the hostel definitely has a certain vibe to it. If your travel plans are to party at night and sleep during the day, this hostel would be a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam_W_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The vibe that hangs around in this place is awesome. They never turn people down, so we ended up with 104 people instead of the 45 that could fit in the buidling.. The crew is as colourfull as the buidling self! the people get in the travelling vibe straight away. If you`re around make sure to stop for one night in the Yurt, hammock or a proper bed. The

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiemen_verbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

sooper dooper lurrrvved this place! as soon as we arrived you gets a sense of the aura of it, its a respectful and peaced-out, cosmicly calming vibe.. The best part was the whacked out delecious smoking den with old rugs and shell ash trays and everything you need to just sit and breathe in puffs of your cig and think about what you want from life and all the beauty of the world. all my brothers and sisters around the world I wish that you'd come to this place and feel renewed... <3

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyL0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a very magical place! Budapest in it's self is something to see but here you feel like family. The remodeled guest house has a big comfy common room with games, movies, books, and millions of pictures from the owner Atilla's travels. The staff are from all over the world and do their best to keep you informed with whats happening in the city. If you go around Sziget festival it will be packed with wondering souls looking to have a good time and hit up all the tavern bars. I have been here numerous times & have met wonderful people I now call family :) This place attracts the best and I would recommend it to anyone! Spread the love <3

Room Tip: All the rooms have themes and if its hot out....spend less and sleep outside. Bugs were never a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaaywhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This newly remodled hostel is one of the nicest around. It has a bright, modern, zen vibe and is busy with guests. I was very impressed with how clean the bathrooms and kitchen were. Different types of dorm and private rooms are available along with camping outside in a small but cute yard. The small double room had a tv & fan included which was a nice suprise. Our only complaint would be that the kitchen was very busy and difficult to cook in because of all the people around. The property is a little out of the way and located just outside of Central Budapest and accesible by bus. The website has good directions and advice on how to find the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elktampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Szonyi Hotel
Szonyi Hotel
#128 of 336 in Budapest
95 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#67 of 677 in Budapest
70 reviews
Terézváros
YOLO Hostel
YOLO Hostel
#181 of 677 in Budapest
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Groove
#74 of 677 in Budapest
137 reviews
Rubin Apartman
#318 of 677 in Budapest
1 reviews
Belle Fleur Pension
#52 of 195 in Budapest
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantee House

Address: Takacs Menyhert utca 33, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £12 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantee House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEAR TRAVELLING SOULS !!!!! Our cozy and friendly Hostel is located 12 min from the center in Buda. Great location, with excellent 24h transport. A Brand New colorful House welcomes you with a well - traveled, knowledgeable stuff with a joyful, magical atmosphere and comfortable rooms. There is a lovely Asian style green garden with apple & pear trees, hammocks and a great Mongolian yurt which gives a tranquil ambiance, an unforgettable stay! Free Internet / Wifi, Free Coffee / Tea. We are open since 1992 just been beautifully renovated in the winter of 2012. Continuously providing heavenly home for travelers from all around the world. Everyone is warmly welcome all year around! BOOK a room NOW and Enjoy your stay at a homely BASECAMP to DISCOVER Budapest & Hungary! We Offer:~ private & dorm rooms~ rooms with en-suite bathroom~ fully equipped kitchen~ linen, towel included~ caving tours, ~ magical daytrips to the Pilis mountain~ free maps ~ travel books~ easy access when arriving by car~ free parking~ free luggage storage, lockers; safe facility~ cheap bike rental~ cheap beer, drinks~ camping area~ BBQ on request~ Ayurvedic Massage~ great info on the city and Hungary HAPPY TRAVELS and hope to see you soon! Shantee House Crew, Budapest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Shantee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing