We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
Ranked #118 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night, and I can say, that this is the first and last time. First negative impression started with the fact, that the hotel has changed the type of bed, which I had booked: twin instead of king size bed (At the day of arrival I saw in the system, that the hotel modified my booking) At the hotel I had to prove that I made a reservation a standard room with king size bed (I had a copy of my reservation). Because I have platinum status in the loyalty program, I was sure that I would get upgrade of my room, especially, when I saw, that the hotel was almost empty. However, the duty manager who checked me in August 22 twice in a short period of time lied to me. On my question, if I get an upgrade, the manager said yes. On my question, what type of room they give me, the manager replied that I got a standard room. I was very surprised with this answer and asked, how she could call it upgrade, if I had booked a standard room. The duty manager replied,, that I would have a coffee machine in my room. I asked,why the hotel does not provide the next class of room. The duty manager said, that they don't make upgrade to suites. When I entered the room, I saw, that there was no coffee machine in the room, only a kettle. I made a picture and went down to the front desk to clarify, does the duty manager considered, that a kettle was coffee machine. The duty manager said, that she changed me a type of room from twin to king size, so they didn't have time to bring a coffee machine. Once again, I said to the duty manager, that I did not book twin, the hotel modified my booking, so she did nothing for me – simply changed the hotel mistake. Verifying the information in the system, the manager agreed with me and offered to move to the suite. The question, if it was necessary to irritate me and why it was impossible to ,provide suite initially. After I get the keys from my room, I went into it. At the same time, when I eneterd the room, in the room entered a lady with a coffee machine, which, apparently, the hotel from room to room. The lady did not consider, that it was necessary to say hello, silently put the coffee machine, water and a welcomed chocolate and left. The room was quite good, however, the hotel managment don't pay attention to details. Thus, the wire to the overhead lighting hanging from the ceiling, and was not fixed to the ceiling. The wires from the TV and a lamp on the table were irregularly wound coils.
It should be noted that the hotel is located quite far from the city center and accessible by public transportation is inconvenient.

Room Tip: It is far from the city center and it takes about 40 minutes to get to the airport. I don't advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear bunechca,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    99
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
41
22
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bugibba, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We did not stay that much in the hotel, we mostly went around Budapest during the day, so we did not experience that much. The hotel is situated around 30 min away from the centre and it would be easier to rent a car to get around, saves you time and money, although beware that during the day from Monday to Friday from 8am- 8pm you have to pay when going to Budapest centre. Saturday and Sunday are free all day. the staff are very much helpful although on our check-in we found the night receptionist with no help at all, we were probably the last guests to check it, and he was like "thank god you are here so I could sleep". He did not even greet us or at least good evening. The rest of the staff were great especially the front office team in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed there recently four nights with the family of four.
We've been provided with two interconnected rooms - nice, clean and spacious.

Breakfast - good selection of food. Kids enjoyed it :)

Staff - very friendly and polite - special thanks to Balazs from Reception and Andrea from Reservations.

Location - little bit outside of Budapest city center, but easy to get there with bus 272 which stops just outside the hotel - 15 minutes ride to the city.

Definitely would stay again !We stayed there recently four nights with the family of four.
We've been provided with interconnected rooms - nice, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syzmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel itself is alright, but it definitely needs some upgrade. In the map it seems just 10 minutes away, but that's around 20 euros one-way. One of our bags was vandalized on the Vienna-Budapest train so it was good to have TESCO right around the corner.

Staff is very understanding, as my initial booking was for 2 nights, but looking at the distance, we planned to move to a hotel next to the river in the city center, and they understood without even mentioning the reason. Guess this happens a lot.

Rooms were a bit compact, but guess that is just European standard. The reason i say this is because i live in Dubai, where the key word for everything is in the superlatives, bigger, longer, taller... So don't take me wrong or offensive on this.

Breakfast menu was limited, but just perfect for a morning meal, with all nutrients available. I understood that Wi-Fi is charged, though i did not have to pay because of my priority member status. Breakfast does get busy as i saw buses parked outside and lots of people having breakfast who i did not see before, so most probably a contracted option for tour operators, which is ok since people won't be stying here much until its mandatory or they made a mistake.

Overall, i wouldn't mind staying here again if i have to.

Room Tip: This hotel is far from the main center, do your research before you confirm this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Az_Ispahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only stay here if you are passing though or on business. The hotel is in the middle of no where but very close & easy to the motorway. We used this hotel on our road trip to & from Turkey. we found the staff helpful & friendly, the room has all you need & is clean & comfortable. On our outward trip we spent the afternoon sitting in the garden & enjoyed a drink from the bar. On our return the staff even remember what we had had to drink & asked if we would like the same again. Both evening meals were find & again we enjoyed good service. Breakfast was busy as this hotel is used by coach tours,but again the food & service was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel while in transit. Bed was horrible,hard as a rock, room was old not modern,breakfast was pro person 13 EUR not included in the room price. When I asked for the parking the lady at the front desk she said outside is free of charge but we can park in the garage which is not free!!! I stayed at 4 stars hotels before for less money that this hotel charging and I had a wonderful time. I will not stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gri1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Gri1020,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I am sorry that you found our bed uncomfortable as well as the confusion regarding parking fees. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.


Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel is ugly looking pink outside and over all gives the impression of a an outdated place. Inside things are better though - room I stayed in was up to date and nothing to complain about that. Staff very friendly and decent breakfast but annoyingly only one coffee machine in the breakfast room. You really stay here only if you have business nearby because the hotel is more or less in the middle of nowhere and the dodgy wifi is a very bad thing in this context. Really slow and not working properly - and you have to pay for it...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear jvtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the room accommodations you had. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with our breakfast options and our WiFi services. We also apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest City
#89 of 334 in Budapest
805 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#115 of 334 in Budapest
369 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#104 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#121 of 334 in Budapest
1,636 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#60 of 334 in Budapest
1,674 reviews
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#139 of 334 in Budapest
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors

Property: Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
Address: Agip utca 2, Budapest 2040, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning design hotel welcomes you to Budapest!Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaörs hotel is situated in the western gate of Budapest in the centre of a commercial area, easily accessible from the Vienna-Balaton highways M1-M7. Due to the favourable location and free parking availability it is an ideal venue for conference, business and leisure traveller. Our regular shuttle bus is available on weekdays to and from the city centre and the airport Ferihegy at a reasonable rate. We provide free shuttle to companies in Budaörs on weekdays at 7:45 & 8:30 like Alpine, AstraZeneca, Auchan, BAT, Danone, Electroworld, General Motors, Grundfos, HOFER KG, IKEA, Janssen Cilag, Johnson & Johnson, KIKA, Lenovo, Metro AG, Media Markt, Pannon GSM, Tesco, Tetrapak,, SERVICESThe fully air-conditioned Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaörs hotel has 160 rooms and 3 suites. All rooms are sound-proof, equipped with telephone, SAT TV, pay TV, minibar, hairdryer, WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant with summer terrace, lobby-bar, garage, guarded parking lot and excellent conference facilities. Non-smoking and a handicapped rooms are also available.CONFERENCE CENTRE6 function rooms with daylight and professional technical equipment can accommodate up to 320 persons. Try our professional hospitality and outstanding Hungarian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors Hotel Budapest
Budapest Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing