We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle-free but bland choice in Budapest”
Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Budapest City
Ranked #74 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Budapest is a city filled with many atmospheric old buildings housing both delightfully derelict and ornately opulent hotels. This hotel is none of them, but rather a characterless, modern business hotel devoid of personality and character. That is not entirely a bad thing - there are no surprises, rooms are functional and tidy, staff is efficient. Location is perfect for sightseeing; well connected but not too central, with some very nice restaurants and cafes nearby. Breakfast is also surprisingly good, and even if your rate does not include it can be had for €7 by pre-booking with the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRF_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff really polite. I like the wellness area and the fact that it is open at any time. The sauna it is very clean and you just need to ask to the staff to put it on an hour before to use it!
The breakfast is quite good and the service impeccable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Federico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice modern hotel, clean rooms. Good breakfast, plenty of choices.
Garage under the hotel. Nice staff.
We got a beautiful big room with a huge balcony on the upper floors.
Unfortunately, after arrival we found some dead bugs in the room, and in the bathroom.
We called the reception, they took them away, and we were told, that it was probably because the wrong terrace door (it couldn't close properly). They offered us room change.
There were no bugs later on, but it was an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel. We cannot fault this hotel, we had such a wonderful stay. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day, and left perfect upon our return each day. The shower was lovely ( even though it looked a little dated) and it was always v hot when needed. The internet connection never failed either. You can also use the fridge to store your own bits like water etc. The breakfast was lovely, there were a few random items to choose from however there was something for everyone. The reception staff were always v helpful and spoke English v well. We ordered room service once and it was prompt, v fresh and tasty and quick. The bed was also v v comfortable and I wish I could have brought it home... The hotel itself was v close to public transport, the metro a short walk to your left and the trams 4&6 to your right. The area surrounding the hotel I felt was v safe on a night too. We used pulai lajos for a taxi from the airport. He speaks v good English and is a reasonable price. We found his details from trip advisor too. His e mail address is: pulai31@gmail.com. All in all though a wonderful stay and wonderful hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DICKSONS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Another comfortable stay in this hotel, ideal for working, but also very central for visiting sites and touring. Nice and clean and friendly staff. Breakfast there is plenty of choice. There is nice shopping centre where you can eat doing the day cheaply, nice local resturants as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One of the largest rooms I've had in Europe. Nice location. A quick walk from the River and all the sights along the river banks. I'm a walker so I enjoyed the walk to and from the main railway station otherwise a 15 minute drive. Wifi seemed to be fairly strong. I had room 312 which was on the smoking floor, but didn't smell of smoke at all. It was at the front of the hotel but I wasn't bothered by the street noise at all. Bathroom was nice and clean with great smelling free toiletries. I used the Bar/Restaurant for a snack. Was expensive but the food arrived hot and tasted quite nice.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lift....lifts are noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENXIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November 2013 as part of a group attending a workshop. I must say that everything about it exceeded my expectations by far. Firstly, the reception staff were extremely polite and helpful so I give them 5 stars. My room was very clean and well furnished, right size and quite cozy. The bed was very comfortable thus giving me a chance to rest nicely. My room was facing the street by the Budapest theatre. There was some noise from outside but I guess this is normal when you are staying at the vibrant location in the city.
Secondly, the food was great; the breakfast is diverse where almost everybody could find something at their liking; the lunch was fresh, tasty and served in style. Well done!
Finally, I have adored the location of this hotel; it is situated in a nice part of Budapest from where you can reach any point of interest such as for example 5 minutes walk to the West End shopping centre (also with a subway station), 15 minutes walk to Oktogon square in Andrassy street, etc.
To conclude, I look forward to coming back at this hotel and hope to enjoy its services again. That said, I would definitely recommend it to others who visit Budapest.

Room Tip: As there are rooms with windows facing the hotel atrium, you may wish to ask for a room facing the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 336 in Budapest
1,600 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 336 in Budapest
3,378 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,019 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 336 in Budapest
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Address: Vigszinhaz utca 3., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Business Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £46 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, NHHotels, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing