We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old European Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #48 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Old European Classic Hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is true old European style. You feel like you have stepped back in the 30s, and smells like it too. One of the hardest things in Eatern Europe is the social acceptance of smoking. For us used to a smoke free life it is very difficult. The room was a bit of a walk, but it was okay. The reception staff was nice, but it is off from the entrance doors used now, so we did not interact with them much. The Internet was costly and not efficient. We complained, but in the end ended up sitting in the entrance area and hooking on to the free wifi from the McDonalds next door. We used a driver who took us on tours, so the location was not a problem for us, although we did walk around some and it did not look like the best offerings of shops and restaurants in the area. But for the price, staying in this classic hotel was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianCWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear MarianCWright,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Astoria. Our Hotel is indeed a charming old-style, newly renovated hotel that combines timeless elegance with a full range of up-to-date amenities. „Tradition and Style” as the slogen goes.
I understand you oppinion about smoking ( I am also a non-smoker) but from January 2012 smoking will not be allowed in public areas in Hungary also, so we don’t have to wait much more. Your tour with the driver sounds really good, I hope you enjoyed the sights you wanted to see. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the shops in the area although Váci utca, the famous shopping street is nearby. I am really happy that you had a good experience staying at our Hotel, I hope you will stay in Danubius Hotel Astoria again.

Best regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    1,182
    272
    56
    27
See reviews for
424
1,303
169
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed there for a longer weekend (5 nights) in August. The hotel is perfectly located and we could easily visit the city walking or taking a bike from there (rental on the corner, next to the hotel). However, rooms are decorated and restorated in a bit kitschy way. There are just little rooms which are not noisy. Most of them have windows from the side of two big streets. Ask for a quite room in advance. Breakfast is not cheap but realy good, a lot of choice and the resaturant is an old art nouveau style.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear DJstories,

Thank you for spending so much time at Danubius Hotel Astoria and for appreciating the location. I am sorry that our decoration was not up to your standards, our hotel follows the empire decoration style, most of our guests like it’s elegance. I am sorry about your oppinion about the room, but all of our rooms have soundproof windows, so at closed windows all of them are quiet. I am happy that you liked the lot of choice at the breakfast and our breakfast room. Thank you for your review, I hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A wonderful hotel, very central. A very professional hotel with friendly staff, beautiful decor, delicious food I couldn't fault it in any way; the breakfast selection was amazing. The room was spacious and very modern. I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Carol W,

Thank you so much for sharing these nice things about Danubius Hotel Astoria with other travellers and for giving us such a high rate. This means a lot for us.
I am happy that you liked everything, our central location, the decoration, the breakfast. I hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed for 1 week in early August. Old world style style hotel with large rooms and delightful dining/breakfast area. Central location makes it ideal for discovering the city.
Attentive staff and offers excellent value.
Large choice at breakfast. Fruit juice could be better though.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Try the larger rooms. Air conditioned- a must for summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidaitken82016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear davidaitken8!

Thank you so much for your nice review, it means really much to us to see that our guests enjoy their stay at Danubius Hotel Astoria.
I am happy that you liked the old world style of the hotel, our large rooms and the dining/breakfast area. I hope you could discover the whole city. Thank you for staying at Astoria, visit us again next time you travel to Budapest.


Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Came back from Budapest yesterday, spent 4 nights at the Danubius Astoria Hotel. It is an old landmark Hotel with fantastic decor. Very central for all the action, and close to the main shopping and restaurants, a metro underground closeby. The buffet breakfast covered every type of hot or cold food you would want to eat at that time of day, all very fresh. The staff are very polite and helpful. The only downside was that the aircon in our room was not very efficient so we had to sleep with the window open which was quite noisy for us. Apart from that we would recommend this hotel for a break in lovely Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear cherryblossomwales,

Thank you so much for your high rate and for taking also a photo from the exterior of Danubius Hotel Astoria. I am glad to read that you were fully satisfied with almost everything in our Hotel. Thank you very much for recommending our Hotel, I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have just completed a 2 month round-the-world tour and this was the worst hotel I stayed in. The room was dirty, there were countless cracked/broken tiles in the bathroom and everything they offered was an up-sell. When you are a male with very short hair and you find long hairs in your freshly made bed and toe nails on the carpet, one has to wonder about the cleanliness!
Moreover, the internet was ridiculously expensive, their restaurant was way over-priced and you had to catch the front desk in a good mood to get any genuine assistance.
I do not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomNY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear TomNY2011!

I am deeply sorry about the issue with your room I can understand your feelings. The houskeeping asked me to forward you their deep apologies. We did the necessary steps, this will not happen again.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our prices in our Restaurant, in this case I can recommend you our Business Menu in lunch time at Mirror Café & Restaurant which is only 1500 HUF and contains 2 courses + 1 glass of mineral water or soft drink.
I am also sorry that you did not like our internet rates, but these prices are given to us by an external internet provider.
Your 2 months round-the-world tour sounds really exciting, I hope you arrived back home with great memories.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Reperesentative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel was just OK. The front desk felt like a car dealership when we got there, offering us one upgrade after another at extra cost. They were nice though. Room was clean, but about a 3 minute walk from the elevator/stairs and was MUCH less inviting than the pictures. Location of the actual hotel was good though. It was right next to the Astoria Metro stop and some of the other sights were a 10-15 minute walk away. While I wouldn't call the hotel run down, it definitely needs to be updated to match the quality portrayed in the pictures. If you get a good price on a room, go for it. Otherwise, see if you can get a nicer hotel for your money.

Note: Infernet is at an additional cost, both inside the room and at reception, even just for a few minutes to check your email.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelteacher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear travelteacher84!

Thank you for writing your oppinion about our Hotel. Sorry about your feelings with the front desk, but it serves our guests comfort that we offer them upgrades, but if you don’t want to except it you don’t have to. I’m glad that you found the staff nice and your room clean. Sorry, that you weren’t fully satisfied with the quality of our Hotel although there has been a renovation. I am also happy to read that you liked the location and you could visit many sites of Budapest. I hope you will stay with us again next time.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,283 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 334 in Budapest
5,960 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,737 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 334 in Budapest
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing