We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water leakage in room 609”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #49 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Water leakage in room 609”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A friend of mine and I spent 5 nights at Danubius Astoria hotel, the staff was really nice and we have had a great time in Budapest. BUT, as from the 3rd day, we have faced a water leakage in our bathroom and we went to the hotel reception many times to report the problem, which wasn't solved even if they sent the maintenance 2 times ! We left the hotel and the water leakage wasn't stopped ! I would like to add that the cleaning service was not flawless : some hair or tiny things could be found on the bathroom floor after the cleaning... The hotel is nice, the staff is professional and helpful but would need to be more efficient, specially in solving technical problems.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Lili M,

Thank you for staying in our Danubius Hotel Astoria and thank you your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had such a good experience with the staff and that you had a great five nights stay in our beautiful Budapest.
We strive to fix the temporary technical problems in a much more professional way and your comment helps us to point out the weakness of the unefficiency of the technical staff. We have introduced a more efficient way to solve these kind of complaints by a new monitoring system.
We look forward to welcoming you back and we are positive that your request will be arranged perfectly.

Kind regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    1,099
    253
    52
    27
See reviews for
395
1,200
160
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recommend highly the Hotel Astoria in Budapest!! excellent service, space of the rooms, location and kindness of the personnel! We had the opportunity to have dinners at the Hotel Restaurant and it was excellent and very reasonable. Breakfast too is very important.....self service, but many varieties of breads, cakes, cheeses etc..... they can make you omelette free of charge too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Germaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Germaine T.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Budapest and thank you for your lovely comment.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable summer stay in our hotel and that the excellent service was at your liking. Thank you for your appreciation towards the high quality performance of the Cafe Astoria Restaurant.
We do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well positioned near Astoria Metro and central for most Pestian activities (and Buda too heading west on the Metro). Old fashioned charming hotel with polite and smart staff always ready to help. Room was clean and pleasant. Internet available in lobby if you ask. Only disappointment would be breakfast options at 12 euros for full or rather sad complimentary 'croissant and coffee' alternative. Maybe something in between might fit better although they do try to sell the full breakfast.

Breakfast apart (which can be fixed independently in the near vicinity) I would recommend based on comfort, charm and location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the one way side street or courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mikey1664,

Thank you very much for staying here in the 100-year-old Danubius Hotel Astoria and thank you for you positive feedback.
We are glad that you found our hotel as a charming one, you loved the polite service and the good position in the center of Pest. We are a good base to explore the inner city, everything is walkable in the very center of the historical side of Budapest and the Hop on hop off buses stop at the corner.
We strive to improve the choice of the full buffet breakfast, the changes will be introduced soon. The morning mini croissant and coffee or tea is just a present from the hotel, it is just a small day starter for guest who do not want to have a full breakfast. We will consider your suggestion about the mid size choice for breakfast, thank you.
Thank you once more and we look forward to welcoming you back to our charming capital.

Kind regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our Avalon River Cruise disembarked at Budapest, and we had made (over Internet 6 months prior to our embarkation date) arrangements to stay 2 nights at the Danubius prior to our flight back to USA. It was a pleasant surprise--the history of the hotel, plus the location of the hotel in Budapest--turned
out to be a very wise choice. The fruit basket sent to our room by management after our
arrival was a very nice touch. We had booked a standard room, and it was clean & efficient but
not as pleasant as we had hoped. But due to problems with the air conditioning in this room, plus some other check-in problems, management upgraded us to a Deluxe Suite corner room, which was delightful.

Room Tip: Standard room was not a good choice, which is what we selected over the Internet last year. The pix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penny -Grey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mrs Penny-Grey F.,

Thank you very much for choosing the Astoria Hotel six month ago and thank you for your very positive feedback.
It was an honor to host you and I am really happy that you enjoyed the big corner room after the technical problem in the side street room.
Let me thank you for the letter you left with the front staff upon arrival, I was touched as I read your kind words. You made our day!
I do hope if you visit Europe you will choose us again and please do not hesitate to send me a mail to prepare your accommodation in Budapest.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Astoria in July 2014 and we were certainly not disappointed! The room was excellent - bed extremely comfortable, bathroom perfect - had a bath :), breakfasts were divine. Everything was just the best! But the best of all was Manager, Tomas Vajda. What a lovely person - exceptionally professional, approachable and helpful - genuinely understands what travelers need and want. His English is excellent too! Thank you Tomas for a lovely stay at this classic, world renowned hotel. You really made our days in Budapest the most enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ok_as8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear ok_as8,

Thank you for this excellent feedback.
I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time whilst staying in our Danubius Hotel Astoria.
I have passed on your feedback to all on the team and all are thrilled.
Tamas is also very happy to be mentioned in person in such a positive manner on such well-known traveller’s site and he passes on a heartfelt thank you to you!
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your wife back to us again at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A traditional hotel with fantastic service. Breakfast was first class and all staff were more than helpful. First time in Budapest and location of the Astoria is the best. Within walking distance of everything. Would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MARSHA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Marsha21,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your first Budapest stay and hope you will repeat it soon. Thank you for recommending us to all.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for two days to visit Budapest on a business trip. Good quality for value. Pro: location, clean, service style. Con: Only the breakfast was quite expensive so I ate out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Public Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Steven B,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about our 100-year-old, traditional Danubius Hotel Astoria, thank you for mentioning the good quality for value and your recommendation.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Zsazsa Abonyi
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#37 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing