We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located, friendly staff, very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #68 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideally located, friendly staff, very good value”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the hotel is in a very central position, with at least 6 bars/restaurants within 100 yards, and the Danube just another maybe 200 yards, also Deak Ferenc the main city square an easy 10 minute walk. Shops, museums, parliament, big wheel all close by and excellent transport links. Friendly and efficient staff, and I would like to thank all reception staff (particularly Marrianna) and concierge staff for their readiness to help with any questions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid_F_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sid_F_12,

I was delighted ti read your excellent remarks about our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us, and I was glad that you were impressed by the service provided by our staff.

Best regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    932
    250
    44
    12
See reviews for
268
824
109
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is located in an excellent area, close to restaurants, main roads and metro station; therefore you can visit a number of attractions within walking distance. On the other hand, I really expected a better service from the hotel itself. It's a bit overrated for what it offers and pricy compared to other hotels in the same category. Rooms are large, but mine had a terrible smoking smell, even though it was a non-smoking room. The receptionist told me it was because of some students who insisted in breaking the rule to smoke in these other rooms. As we stayed, the smell eased off, which helped us a lot. BF is not included and when I decided to pay about EUR7 for the BF served by the hotel, I really concluded it was not worth it. Better walk out the hotel and find a place nearby for as little as half the price charged by the hotel. Staff helped us on most things we needed assistance. They seem to be a bit too straightforward, but it's just my cultural sense. I'd come back on different circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FC-IDEAL-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear FC-IDEAL-TRAVEL,

First of all thank you to choosen our hotel, and thank you to publish your opinion.
I am most disappointed that you had a bad experience because of the smoke. Unfortunatelly some guests smoke in the non smoking area as well. I am glad you found the staff on the reception helpfull.. I hope we can welcome you back to our beautiful Budapest soon.

Best regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was in the Hotel Erzsébet / Elizabeth with my colleagues. The room we shared was not very big, the house keeping brought extra hangers for us to put our clothes in the fairly big wardrobe. The mattrace was very pleasant, I slept not uch but very well. The staff is busy and helpful. Perfect hotel for a week-end trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1990bacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 1990bacci,

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests.

Best regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a great location. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. It is also within easy walking distance of several of the sights. The breakfast was good, with both hot and cold items. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TallyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear TallyWorldTraveler,

Thank you for your generous feedback posted on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Erzsébet City Center. I appreciate your mentoning the kindness of our staff. I am very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions.

Yout faithfully,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main pedestrian area, the river and most of the attractions on the Pest side of the Danube. There are metro, tram and tour bus stops within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

The staff were friendly and very helpful and I heard them speaking german, french as well as english to various guests. The room was adequate but a bit faded and it was necessary to have the window to keep the room cool. The noise of passing pedestrians and vehicles does echo up from the street outside when the window is open.

The breakfast was acceptable but nothing special for the price but you could get free coffee or tea and a croissant if you preferred not to eat in the restaurant. Neither the bar nor the restaurant were open in the evening but there are good restuarants nearby. It is a pity that the bar wasn't open as it would have been nice to have drinks there before or after our evening meal.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smoking rooms so check when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you to choosen Hotel Erzsébet City Center! Thanks a lot to publish your kind review about our staff at the reception, and thank you for sharing us what we need to improve in.
I am very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions.

Kindest regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Tiny rooms, cleanliness needs improvement.
Disappointing considering the price.
Our room turned towards the sun, and it was hot. The air conditioner did not work, because it is central air conditioning , and despite the relatively warm days, the hotel has not yet announced the arrival of summer ...
For 7-8 euros you can get buffet breakfast. The breakfast was actually quite rich.
Excellent location, there is easy access to all city attractions and transportation.
After a while we got used to the small room and we were able to enjoy the good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tehila k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Tehila2k,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor website. Every feedback is really important for us and thank you for sharing us what we need to improve in regarding the air-conditioning. I’m pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions.

Kindest regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of the hotel, in the center of Pest, was a great choice for our week in Budapest. The room was clean, the staff very helpful and although we didn't take breakfast, coffee or tea were provided free for guests. The metro station is within a 2 minute walking distance from the hotel, but we didn't use it so much because you can practically walk to most of the major sites in the city. Bars, coffee houses, restaurants and shops were right around the corner and you can easily cross either of the two Danube bridges (Elizabeth or Liberty -10 minute walk) which are very close to the hotel on foot and get to Buda. Budapest is a wonderful city to visit and it never ceases to surprise you when walking its streets. We had a wonderful time!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mariapentagiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mariapentagiotissa,

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. I was glad that you were impressed by the service provided by our staff.. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I’m very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions.

Kindest regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 342 in Budapest
670 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#80 of 342 in Budapest
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#59 of 342 in Budapest
707 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#55 of 342 in Budapest
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Property: Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing