We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice - location is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #71 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Good 3-star tourist hotel about a block from the mail pedestrian street in Budapest, Vaci Uta. The price is really good for this kind of hotel! The rooms are spacious, clean and have aircondition - a welcomed amenity on hot summer days. The location of the hotel is really very good - you can easily walk to most things; the parliament, the river danube sightsseing boats, the geller baths, and so on. There are several restaurants in the neighbouring streets, and a minimarket just down the street for water etc. We would definately stay at Erzebeth again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Hotel Erzsebet.

The location could not have been better, near the Danube on the Pest side of the city, shopping and bars all within a few minutes walk.

The staff were very polite and helpful; on arrival we were given a free drink. (We chose the local beer). The room was very clean and cleaned every day to a high standard. For a 4 night break, the room size was more then adequate.

We would certainly stay in this hotel again if we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingstonkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This hotel has everything you need for a short city break. The staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms were clean comfortable and well furnished. A good sized bar fridge in the room and a hairdryer, but lacked a kettle.
Breakfast was fine, plenty to choose from, although some items ran out and took some time to be replaced. Clearing of tables was particularly bad and we had difficulty finding a clean one each morning, usually clearing one ourselves. The 'Latin Fusion' hotel restaurant was pretty much deserted in the evening and the food was of a poor standard. There are so many restaurants and cafes of a much better standard very close by worth trying. We particularly liked the 'Central Cafe and Restaurant' next door to the hotel. Lovely food, service and music, all at a reasonable price.
You can walk from the hotel to most of the sights, or use the trams or underground, which are easy to use. Make sure you buy your tickets first from the metro station just down the road as you can't buy them on board. The Parliament is well worth a visit, but do not forget to take your passport if you are an EU citizen and you will get the tour free. Otherwise it will cost about £10. The Opera house is also a must and the views from the Buda castle area are wonderful. All within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We spent plenty of time trying to choose a hotel with perfect location in Budapest, and finally stopped our chice on Hotel Erzsebet. It has a fantastic location. One block away from Vaci street, where you can shop and eat and have a great lounge evening; five minutes from Erzsebet bridge and Danube - way to Gellert; supermarket around the corner; a sweet cozy small park nearby; and just two minutes from a metro station. We couldn't have found anything better.
The room itself was small and quite dark, but clean and had everything necessary for both of us. There was even a free Budapest map.
We never expected such a cute breakfast. Sausages, cereal, milk, eggs, toasts, and lots of fruit, pastry, cheese and nice bread - that made us ready for a long day out. Even coffee was nice there!
We spent 8 nights in this hotel, and I think we will choose it again. Budapest is a great city, and Hotel Erzsebet - a perfect place to stop!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga_Luzhetskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Staff was professional and attentive, spoke ENGLISH well and room was clean,small but this is BUDAPEST..and breakfast was better than many in BUDAPEST....central location was GREAT, near many attractions and nite photos on river...but watch lights go out early on bridges...will stay again if price is right...internet fee is crazy...interent cafe just around the corner..good service..even call home cheap....overall construction is done and better than my previous hotel..coming back lack of tv stations choice wise sucked a bit [--]

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELMONT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We were able to get the airport bus and metro to the hotel as the hotel is just a short walk from the metro station. We arrived and were met by two male receptionists who were not welcoming or friendly. The room and bathroom were small but ok as it was just used to sleep in. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room which I was disappointed with but there was a minibar. The hotel is a perfect location for seeing all the sights and shopping. One major issue we had was the heat in the room it was unbearable and when we opened the window we had to shut it again because of the noise on the street below. Also the bar and restaurant if they opened we missed it !!!! Not much of an atmosphere but good for location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Advantages:
The location of the hotel is very good, as well as the discounted prices we paid for the room.
The buffet breakfast was great: lots of food, big diversity.

Disadvantages:
Small room
Very low temperature in the room (it was snowing outside), with no possibility of making it warmer. We could actually feel the cold air blowing from the closed window.
Very poor soundproofing - it felt like we were sleeping with the window open: we could actually hear people pulling their luggage on the street.
No soap or shampoo in the bathroom, just a shower gel dispenser on the wall.

Maybe during summer this hotel is more guest-friendly, but i wouldn't choose it during another visit in Budapest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
773 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 336 in Budapest
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,370 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,019 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#107 of 336 in Budapest
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £36 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing