We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Respect”

Salon Fine Dining Restaurant
Ranked #444 of 3,550 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Gault Millau Awarded historic Hungarian fine dining restaurant with excellent service and creative exquisite cuisine. Each dish is accompanied by the best Hungarian wines. The liqueurs trolley is definitely worth your attention. Open from Tue to Sat.
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Atmosphere, food, service were all outstanding.......all courses beautifully presented......in fact my wife took photos of each course. Servers were attentive and polite and helped my wife June and I to feel relaxed and the evening was ours to enjoy. Piano player in balcony area above was excellent and played at a level that permitted us to enjoy the music and our conversation. June and I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank frank8144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkNora86, Manager at Salon Fine Dining Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Frank,

we would like to thank you for the attentive words. We truly hope to welcome you again in the Salon Fine Dining Restaurant!
Best regards,
Salon's management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our dining experience at the salon restaurant at the Boscolo Hotel, Budapest. From beginning to end the service, cuisine and professionalism of the staff shone through. The chef is to be congratulated and deserves two Michelin stars. In fact I have eaten in Michelin star restaurants which pale in comparison to the Salon. We chose the 4 course menu which included the most luxurious and smooth goose pâté I have ever tasted, followed by heaven on a plate in the guise of the cream of kohlrabi soup. I have never had kohlrabi soup before, and it was just lovely. I had the fish with peas which was Devine, and my husband asked for the pork loin and belly, which he pronounced delicious. The Sour creams and strawberry desert was a work of art and the chocolate mousse sublime.

The wine we were recommended by the excellent and attentive Somelier was just to our taste and not over the top in terms of price. The decor is something from a history book, and the experience unparalleled.

In fact if was so wonderful, we returned the next day to have the soup again from the a la carte menu. We then tried the steak in red wine sauce, which was again a triumph! So delicious, expertly cooked and beautifully presented. The bill came to about 100 euros each which is not extensive for a meal of this quality. If you can afford it, (Heck! even if you can't) don't hesitate to visit this restaurant. You will not be disappointed! I may even return to Budapest just to eat here.

I think the chefs name is Andre Wolf. Watch out for international fame!

1  Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkNora86, Client Executive at Salon Fine Dining Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you very much for the appreciation in the name of all the staff, specially in the name of our chef, András Wolf. We are glad that you spent a wonderful evening in our restaurant, and we hope that you'll come back to taste our new menu also!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is one of the most special, fantastic and delicious experiences I have ever had! It can only be described as a culinary adventure with style and substance. The Chef is adventurous, brave and extremely talented. The special theatre of the coordinated service is charming and sweet, and importantly, is efficient and subtle. The sommelier is on par with those found in the finest restaurants in the world, in fact I have been in three star Michelin restaurants who can't match this restaurant for service and style.

Above all it was the food which was the centre stage. Not wishing to embark on the 12 course taster menu, we chose the 4 course menus with a few changes. The goose liver pâté was a work of art (every dish was) and was smooth and delicious. The 6 types of bread and three butter choices set us off on our culinary adventure which only got better as the meal continued. The kohlrabi soup with parsley ice cream was the type of dish which you dream about! My catfish and my husbands port main courses were just simply sublime! We had two deserts, the Hungarian chocolate mousse cake and the strawberry and sour cream, which was a work of art and indescribably good. Our wine recommendation was perfect, just to our taste and we tried the local polenka which at 40 percent was interesting.

This meal would cost three times more in London and New York, but you would struggle to find a similar location or experience! If you can afford it ( heck, even if you can't) dress up and go to this restaurant at least once in your life, you won't regret it!

Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salon_Cafe_director, Vezető at Salon Fine Dining Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest, thank you very much for the nice review. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a Hungarian style taster menu in The Salon restaurant and although i wasnt a fan of Hungarian food i learnt (the food itself, not the cooking!!), the service, the presentation and the menu was impressive. Definitely a good way to experience Hungarian food...

1  Thank LondonTeddy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salon_Cafe_director, Vezető at Salon Fine Dining Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you again in Salon Restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Great food and good value for money -among the best in Budapest. A good way to try out LIGHT Hungarian food.

1  Thank PeterWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salon_Cafe_director, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Salon Fine Dining Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salon Fine Dining Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Salon Fine Dining Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing