We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you need to catch an early flight”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #19 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This time Budapest was for a us a stop on the way from Poland to Turkey and the hotel turned out to be a perfect place to stay, if you wish o have a good connection to the city center (last metro stop) and at the same time to the airport (first stop for the airport bus).
Located in the quite area but close to a shopping center. Make sure that you know where your are going, as it might be difficult to find. Room and the hotel was clean and perfect choice if you need to have some rest. Not much to do in the hotel itself or in the local area. On the way from hotel to the bus/metro station you can find a restaurant with a nice local cuisine at a reasonable price, but if you are looking for a really cheap and tasty food I would highly recommend a local market, unforgettable experience :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Easy to find from the airport bus terminal, close to a big shopping mall.
Metro station as buses at 5min walking.
20min to the best Budapest attractions!
Friendly staff, good English and French. Clean and spacious rooms, sauna & jacuzzi for free!
Recommended, for solo or couple.
;)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Leonardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel in September 2013 with my wife and our 9 yrs old son.
We intended to book another hotel, the one we used last summer. Seems the prices have risen significantly in the last year, so we have chosen Sunshine.
We arrived in the night and the first impression was not the best: poor lighting in the neighbourhood; the main entrance (from the street) was blocked and not in use; the entrance used was from an alleyway leading to the private parking; even that one was locked, had to ring to have it unlocked.
Fortunately, the bad impressions stopped here.
I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist (poor guy was stammering wanting to give as much info as possible in a short time). I was explained that the hotel opened last year in summer, so furniture was new, not lavish but functional. My wife was not satisfied of some dirt on the room's wall, I think this is not the fault of the hotel but of some uneducated previous tourists.
The room was clean, not very big but comfy enough, the beds comfortable.
The last subway station is about 5 minutes away, inside the Kuki shopping center. In about 25 minutes you can reach Budapest downtown by subway.
An WiFi good connection is available in the room.
The private parking costs 5 EUR/day but you can leave your car in the street, in front of the hotel. During our stay, the hotel was fully booked but I found a parking place in the street though.
I left the best part for the end: the breakfast. It costs 4 EUR/person (children pay 4 EUR as well) and it was the best I have had ever in a hotel: diversified choice of cheese and ham and salamis, eggs, cereals, yoghurt; big glasses for juice fruit (which, by the way, was an excellent quality) so it was no need to refill your glass many times; the 2 ladies refilled the juice jar every time it reached the half level, same for the food platters.

Room Tip: Bethlen Gabor utka is an one way street, so if you are coming from Szabo Ervin utka you cannot turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have spent here 4 days/3 nights, the hotel is very easy to find, it is very close to Kobanya/Kispest metro station (3 min walk). Small hotel, however it has sauna and jacuzzi which can be used for free by guests. Rooms were clean and spacious (the bed covers should have been changed daily). Breakfast cheap but decent, it coverered basically everything. Stuff is nice, do not know about the foreign languages speaking ability as I was communicating in Hungarian.
Would recommend it to anyone who is visiting one of the most beautuful European capital, Budapest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I'm traveling weekly from Budapest and I have chosen this hotel already several times in 2013. I'm really satisfied for the service offered at a very good price. Rooms nice and cleaned, personnel helpful and polite. The location is quite close to a big mall and not so far from the airport and from the center. Recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank lupinterceros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel is very well situated from bus station we arrived to, Nepliget. Metro station is located just 5 minutes walk from the hotel, close to shopping centre Koki. It takes just 15 minutes to get to the city centre. Hotel and rooms are very clean, staff is very nice and english speaking. Breakfast was very good, even though dining room could be bigger and not as warm. We will definitely come back to Budapest because we liked it a lot and our stay will be probaly here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yarda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The place is very well located - even though it is close to metro station it is located in a quiet area. The hotel has been decorated recently. Very clean and modern. The rooms look like the ones from the hotel's website. It has free wi-fii. Breakfast starts at 7.30 and is very diversed and tasty.
The hotel is a good place to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budapest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budapest Aero
Ibis Budapest Aero
#116 of 334 in Budapest
162 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fraser Residence Budapest
Fraser Residence Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Budapest
4.0 mi away
Bo18 Hotel Superior
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#22 of 334 in Budapest
1,333 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Budapest City
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#36 of 334 in Budapest
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: Bethlen Gabor utca 31, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: £32 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunshine 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing