We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungariun Delight”
Review of Hungarikum Bisztro

Hungarikum Bisztro
Ranked #19 of 3,246 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$24
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Traditional Hungarian Restaurant serving old fashioned Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.Open every day:11:30AM-3:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 2:00 PM!)6:00PM-11:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 10:00 PM!) Between 3:00PM-6:00PM is CLOSED! RESERVATION IS REQUIRED!
Fernie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hungariun Delight”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were in Budapest for seven days and had an apartment close to the parliament buildings. This restaurant was just on the other side of the parliament in a convienent location. We ate here twice. Service was excellent both times, background music was nice and the food perfect. We had to have duck for one of the meals both times and the soup was the best!! You must have a reservation to come here!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernieskiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,252
    1,385
    303
    59
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband & I happened to stroll by on our first night only to find that they were completely full. While there, we made a reservation for the following night. Dinner was wonderful and priced very reasonably. Menu's were in English & it was spoken perfectly. If you're trying to eat there without a reservation, I'd stay to get there really early or really late. Anything in between & they're pretty much booked. They take credit cards as well - we had our fingers crossed, since we were leaving the next day and didn't want to have to take out more cash from the atm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannabeast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very good food, excellent service. Make sure to book a table in advance as we were going to go in at opening time and assumed they'd have plenty of space, but it turns out we nabbed the last table they had when we called them just to check if there was space!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hungary on a plate!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Quick service, charming, good quality food.

The piano player is the icing on the cake!

Two of our party of four had the set menu and were really happy with their choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This cosy little place really is a gem. Perfectly cooked meat ( not steaks ) with charming service. I had pork belly which was just right. Crispy and succulent. The food is straightforward. Nothing fancy although nicely presented. Huge portions. Great prices. Book in advance cos it's tiny and very, very popular.

Helpful?
1 Thank AddyAkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungarikum Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarikum Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing