We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheating”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Padthai Wokbar

Padthai Wokbar
Ranked #128 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Fast food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

we go for dinner after Belgium- Russia Game. The food was like the game. Boring.
we order egg noodle with prawns, on the menu was written prawns 16-20. we were hope to
see 16 to 20 pieces of prawns. but we found only 6 !!!
we ask the cashier lady (its self service place) about and she answer that this is the size, not
the no. we felt cheated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoe y, Manager at Padthai Wokbar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Attila,

We are very sorry that You felt cheated in our restaurant.

I would like to point out that the 16/20 mark refers to the size of the prawns not the number we are serving. This number indicates the one pound of prawns includes approximately 16 to 20 pieces. The reason we have it on the menu that we would like to inform our customers that we are serving larger size of prawns than other restaurants usually serving.
By this meaning we can not serve 1 kg of prawns in one dish.

We are very sorry for this misunderstanding and we will modify the menu listing to make it more understandable.

We are looking forward to see you again in our restaurants.

best regards
padthai team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    201
    49
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Quick, great Thai food. One of the best I have had anywhere. The choices are many and they provide you with large portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carryongolfbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoe y, Manager at Padthai Wokbar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Attila,

We are very sorry that you felt cheated in our restaurant.

We would like to point out that the 16/20 number refers to the size of the prawns not the number we are serving. 16/20 means that one pound is approxiamtely 16-20 pieces. This way we would like to inform our customers that they are getting larger pawns not small cocktail prawns what you usually getting in restautrants.

Anyhow thank you for your feedback and we will make steps to make this information clear to our customers.


best regads

padthai team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“When you need a break from heavy Hungarian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Eat the hungarian food, but after a few meals, this is a good break. >50% more expensive than turkish fast food. However, very tasty, very fast. Spicy actually means spicy. Free wifi. Good vegetarian options. You can get it with veggie base instead of a starch too.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

A good place to have wok, you choose your own wok and sause and they make them when ju wait. Good the aswell. Good price for what you getting. Great for vegeterians.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecka S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value\price ratio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We ate there with my wife , I enjoyed very much while my wife was less happy with her order .
In my opinion noodles were great so were the toppings and the sauce . Considering the price I was very pleased overall .
My wife's choice of meal was not so good though (she went for vegetable base and burma sauce) , but since it's up to you what to pick and my selection was very good , i blame it on her and not on the restaurant :) .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maximbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Padthai Wokbar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Padthai Wokbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing