We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, cheerful & cool eatery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cserpes Tejivo

Cserpes Tejivo
Ranked #9 of 192 Coffee & Tea in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful & cool eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is one of those places that is located very close to highly visited tourist areas, but is not expensive and frequented by locals--perfect. We had breakfast here and I chose the hot ham, mushroom and cheese sandwich with a hungarian pastry--which I complete forget the name of. If I were to visit Budapest again I would dine here. The staff is friendly, there is a cool interior and vibe. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    87
    23
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fast food with quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This is a milk drinker place came from the old ages. Cserpes produces good quality milk products. Try it!

An avarage meal costs around 3 - 5 $.

Fully recommended. Local young people visit the place very often. Four star because the place is a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
east london
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice local cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Glad we went here, very busy with locals and tourists. Tried some local things that we wouldn't get in a chain cafe.

Good staff, nice food and excellent price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hammer_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a cute interior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a great place if you want to try something healthy, tasty and cheap. I had the Creamy Classic and it was excellent. The biggest plus is that the food or drinks based on milk do not contain any preservatives and you can really taste the difference.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uw0tK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice way to start a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have used one of the Cserpes location - not this one but the one in Alee Shopping Mall - alredy three times.
Each time we had a very good time as the staff is friendly and we really like the food. The yoghurt is very tasty, the sandwiches were very good, the pastries the same. Also the coffee is quite nice as well as the hot chocolate and the cocoa milk.
The place is very child friendly which is great.
So I would recomend this place with all my heart.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RASuciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cserpes Tejivo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cserpes Tejivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing