We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marumoto Japanese Tearoom & Shop

Marumoto Japanese Tearoom & Shop
Ranked #36 of 192 Coffee & Tea in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This place is the perfect location for those who are interested in Japanese culture as everything in this cafe truly brings the art of Japanese tea making alive. The subtle but relaxing interior is definitely a great place if you're tired from visiting the Basilica and want to find a place to chill. I personally feel that this cafe is under-ranked; the price was cheap and the service was brilliant. And they have cool Japanese sliding door for the toilet may I add

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nelson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ljungby, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have lived in Japan for 2 years and I think everything is great about this tearoom, the atmosphere, decor, the cakes and sweets are delicious, the matcha tea desserts are full of flavors...etc. Really not much to complain about, maybe that the Onigiris aren't as fresh as in Japan, they are usually a bit too cold when they arrive and the tuna mayo is always sold out later on the day. Highly highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuteMimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Most authentic Japanese spot in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

When you step into Marumoto you step into Japan (trust me, I've been there and my wife has lived there). There is nothing to complain about, apart from the fact that they can be out of onigiris at the end of a day. Their Macha or Houjicha lattes with ice cream in are a wonderful refreshing break from the gelattos you get in every other corner around the basilica.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A great place to escape from when I'm sick of the overpriced chained coffee shops. The staff are very nice and service is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice teahouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I am a big fan off green tea so this was a nice place to visit for a nice cup of green tea after a long sziget Festival ! Strangely they use the Japanese customs and does not accept tips. A nice selection of teasbin the shop as well ! I can recommend the spot for lovers of green tea

Helpful?
Thank matsl719
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Marumoto Japanese Tearoom & Shop also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Marumoto Japanese Tearoom & Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing