We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Hoppa Restaurant

Hoppa Restaurant
Ranked #956 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Authentic "larder" feeling, checked tablecloths, soda-water siphons, easy to recall the sweatest memories of your grandma's kirtchen. Homemade bread, tasty dishes, quality palinkas (don't miss the houses's special "liquid suasage") Opening: Every day and all time from 6pm to 2am. During summer you can enjoy the atmosphere on our cosy terrance as well.
Zilina, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing restaurant. great place, delicious food, friendly price, helpful owner... We loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misonemeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great little unpretentious place with lots of character and excellent food”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I've been a regular at Hoppa since it opened its doors about a year ago. Food had always been good but a little unstable in the first few months, which is not surprising for a new place. I went away all winter and visited Hoppa again in April. I was amazed to see that the food offering is excellent and the restaurant in general is much better. The guy who runs the place Gyury is very attentive and friendly and is always a great pleasure to be going back, I go quite regularly now once a fortnight or
so.
Strongly recommended, especially if you want to avoid the Liszt French square tourist traps that are located 100m away from Hoppa

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MysteryEater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but nice place ”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The owner is a very nice guy who is very helpfull. Nice homade bread and a great maincours. If you want to eat real hungarian food try the goulash soup. It is great! Free wifi available ask for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bram M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West-Terschelling, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little place!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Try the Goulash here, very nice owner with care for his little restaurant. The risotto and chickenbreast was good to. Not expensive, cosy, nice beers, nice waiter, good food

Helpful?
Thank Dlugtmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing discovery !!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were looking for a nice, cosy, typical restaurant near Octogon and we found this small one, the owner was charming, the wine delicious et the food was just yummy !!!
We were three people and we pay about 50 euros for 3 starters, 3 main courses, 3 (delicious) desserts and a bottle of very tasty Hungarian white wine,
You all definitively have to go there !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camille c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoppa Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hoppa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing