We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap & very basic.”

Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
Ranked #267 of 673 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very basic accommodation located a 2 min walk from the centre of Budapest. Right by the metro station though I found it quite difficult to find as it is not very well signposted & the directions on the site are confusing. The winning part if this hostel is definitely the staff. The staff members that I encountered were absolutely lovely & always willing to help. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was quite roomy, though only has a few power points with very squeaky beds. Bedding was provided though which is ideal. The bathrooms however were not very well kept, with some of the toilets not having any toilet paper and the two showers in my room were clogged with hair for the 2 nights I was there. The hostel also has no security whatsoever, none of the rooms have locks, with some guests walking into other rooms at there own will. I found this to be a bit unsettling, though you can purchase a locker for €5. The common areas were kept clean and wifi was available here. Noise carried very easily through the entire hostel also, with some guests talking in the common areas until well into the night.
For only £5 a night it does the job for those travelling on a budget but I would probably not stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Victoria9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you are on a low budget go to the Base Hostel. It's ok. I booked a bed in a 6 bed room. I had access to the wifi and the computer as well. That's all I needed actually :D Bathrooms and other rooms don't look so good but the stuff are really welcoming:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgi_kekenadze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Rooms are very basic, dirty and noisy (only advantages of this place are great location and its price). Avoid it if you are not a student with no job or someone who does not need to sleep and looking only for a place to drink.

Room Tip: as far from Lajos Kossuth street as it is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olaf_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grenadine_1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank giulia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor_carballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berhatonatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 336 in Budapest
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,381 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 1, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 673 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing