We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers

Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
Ranked #200 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent a very enjoyable week in budapest. This hostel is a very cool place and a great location in the city. I was warmly welcomed when i arrived and throughout the week. The staff is very friendly, they helped me a lot and recommended good places to see. Thanks especially to Barney! I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
3
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hellow guys. I've been on 22 march in Budapesta. For first time in the base hotel. Thank you for having me made ​​me feel at home. I was first in Budapest and I was recommended another hotel but I inadvertently reached you, Base Hostel and sincerely i wish to thank for your friendly . I want to thank you for everything. I also want to thank and Attila for his kindly. I will recommend the Base Hostel to my recruitment company in the future, to send new recruits for accommodation and guidance to you. Also in the morning of 24, it was a young lady very cute and kind, a smiling lady and very nice with Attila who showed us beautiful places to visit in Budapest. But their way of being impressed me very nice, I did not expect. Sincerely. I don't her name but I thanks to her also. Because of them I will return to Base Hotel. And verrrrryyy clean

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukacheve, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is very nice and very spacious place.Rooms are very clean and they have a lot of bathrooms.We stayed in double room with a big comfy bed.There was a guy on the reception i think his name Attila.He was so friendly and helped us in many ways.Thanks to the Base hostel for a good stay in Budapest

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expromt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

In the city center, 5 mins walk to the metro station. The hostel is newly decorated , almost everything is new, stuffs are kind and helpful. It has a large kitchen and dinning room, you can cook some food as you want . even through the toilet is quite small. Compared to the price , it's a quite convenient place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fionazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I Had a great experience here!Hostel is located on the 1st floor of a building situated 300 m from Vaci utca,in the very centre of Hungary's capital.Rooms are spacious,clean and recently completly refubrished.Young people who work here,most notably mr.Attila,will always be ready to help you.Can't wait to stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kokovicnikola15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hostel is extremely centrally located and is in a great neighborhood for walking - we didn't use public transportation our whole stay in Budapest, except to and from the airport. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Hostel was clean, spacious, and we benefitted from a 6 person room to ourselves for 3 nights because the place was not at all crowded. Surprisingly quiet, for a hostel. At 5 euros a night, it's a steal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecelticllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodation located a 2 min walk from the centre of Budapest. Right by the metro station though I found it quite difficult to find as it is not very well signposted & the directions on the site are confusing. The winning part if this hostel is definitely the staff. The staff members that I encountered were absolutely lovely & always willing to help. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was quite roomy, though only has a few power points with very squeaky beds. Bedding was provided though which is ideal. The bathrooms however were not very well kept, with some of the toilets not having any toilet paper and the two showers in my room were clogged with hair for the 2 nights I was there. The hostel also has no security whatsoever, none of the rooms have locks, with some guests walking into other rooms at there own will. I found this to be a bit unsettling, though you can purchase a locker for €5. The common areas were kept clean and wifi was available here. Noise carried very easily through the entire hostel also, with some guests talking in the common areas until well into the night.
For only £5 a night it does the job for those travelling on a budget but I would probably not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#118 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#128 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Happy Hostel-Happyflat
Happy Hostel-Happyflat
#130 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
District V / Inner City
Katona Apartments
Katona Apartments
#7 of 651 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#48 of 651 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers

Property: Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 1, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing