We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best butique hotel in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best butique hotel in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are frequent visitors to Budapest. It was such a pleasure to find this beautiful new retreat in the Castle area, since so far we were always staying in the Pest area. I only rated the location as very good, because it is probably more convenient for the first time visitors to be in the city center. However, we found the location to be excellent for us!!! It provided convenient parking without city fuss, good night rest, and privilege to walk through peaceful and romantic Castle district in the evening and see that part of the city in a completely different light, without tourist crowds. Much is already said, bus No 16 goes from hotel to the city center, and in a good weather it would be a nice walk. We stayed in a suite, with a picture of Scarlett Johansson from "Girl with a Pearl Earring" on a bed frame. If I were to be picky, I would prefer original "Girl with a Pearl Earring" :-))) Joking aside, suite was very nicely furnished, spacious, comfortable, with all the amenities for a pleasant stay, big windows, nice view. "Power breakfast" was a good value. We also had dinner in one of the restaurants (21) in the same ownership recommended by the staff, and it was nice experience, lot of locals which is always a good sign. Overall, flexible personnel, good service, great value for money... we are coming back very soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    58
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
286
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights mainly to visit the Christmas markets in Budapest and highly recommend this hotel. They only opened this year (2013) and we hope they do well - we'd certainly like to stay there again if visiting Budapest in future. Quality accommodation, great design/style, friendly staff, good food, lovely location. The hotel's style is modern/retro/funky and it has a very individualistic, welcoming feel. We were 3 including teenage daughter and stayed in the largest suite which was ideal - beautifully furnished, spacious and with a separate bedroom which our daughter loved. Seemed like great value too (although most things do compared to London prices). The young staff and manager were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Can't comment on the restaurant much as we only ate breakfast at the hotel, but the food we had was very good. The Buda Castle area where the hotel is located is very charming - it contains some of the city's most attractive "sights" so is busy with tourists during the day, but in the evenings it became tranquil (in December anyway!) and it was nice to just wander around and then go to one of the many nice cafes/restaurants close to the hotel. Accessing the city centre just across the river is easy - the No.16 bus stops very near the hotel and only takes 10-15 minutes to reach the city. [Note also for first-time visitors to the city: we found the Airport Shuttle Minibus service very good - cheap, efficient and we were dropped-/picked up from the hotel door. And there's a discount if you pre-book online].

Room Tip: The largest suite is perfect for a small family with either one youngster wanting a separate room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A short visit for the Christmas markets in Budapest. Shuttle Service from airport to hotel was efficient and moderately priced. The hotel welcome was warm and obviously well prepared, promising an enjoyable visit. Hotel room was first class. In arriving late evening, dinner was unnecessary; no problem for the staff in producing a suitable meal. The very personable approach of the young manager enhanced the welcome and was sustained throughout the short stay. The dining facilities are more Bistro than restaurant, but this adds to the buzz. Frequented by local Hungarians (always a good sign) the atmosphere was entirely suited to the mood of our visit.
No hesitation in recommending the Baltazar. Located in the middle of the Cathedral complex which, itself, offers tourist entertainment within strolling distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppyd-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Junction, West Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel extensively, and I can say without hesitation that the Baltazar Hotel in Budapest is the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed at. This brand new property is located within the historic Castle Hill district just a few blocks from Buda Castle. If you want to stay on a quiet cobblestone street that feels like Old-World Europe, this is your place. The hotel opened in 2013, so the facilities are modern and clean. The design of the hotel is impressive, down to the smallest details. I stayed in a standard guest room and it was beautifully decorated and spacious. The hotel restaurant and bar has a wonderful atmosphere and the food is delicious. The Baltazar staff is very friendly and helpful. They obviously take a lot of pride in the hotel and are also happy to spend time answering questions about the city. The room rate is an excellent value, perhaps a little more expensive than a few of the surrounding hotels but worth a few extra dollars for the experience. When I return to Budapest, I won't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodSnyderWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in this charming boutique hotel for our wedding anniversary and were very happy with our choice. A lot of care has gone into the design which is retro modern and has a relaxed ambience. The manager and all the staff are young and unstuffy, but also very helpful and professional. There is a nice bar area to sit and have a drink at any time and a nice restaurant where we had breakfast. They have a variety of delicious cooked breakfasts or continental style available. As noted by other reviewers the hotel is situated in the beautiful castle district which is a short bus ride from Pest. The bus stop is just opposite the hotel and we never waited more than a few minutes. There are three lovely restaurants within a very short walk of the hotel (also owned by the family who own the hotel)' Pierrot' ' Pest Buda' and' Restaurant 21' and i highly all of them. The bedroom [11] was spacious and very comfortable- the reading lights were a welcome addition. The bathroom was super with a walk in power shower and under floor heating and the housekeeping standard is excellent. The xmas markets were in full swing during our stay which added to our unforgettable trip,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked our trip to Budapest to catch the Christmas markets, which unfortunately were postponed by two weeks, but despite this, the festive feel was still alive and well at the Baltazar hotel which totally made up for it!. Twinkling lights adorn their outdoor terrace where you can enjoy a sweet mulled wine to get into the holiday spirit. Their service was impeccable, with a friendly host to take us to our room and provide us with city maps and tips.

We arrived late and decided to eat at the hotel and enjoyed a fantastic burger from their gastro-pub like restaurant. The prices were what you would expect to pay in London for a quality burger in a trendy environment (so not your cheap Hungarian diner type place).

The hotel is situated on the top of the citadel so you are a 5 minute walk from the fisherman's bastion and spectacular cathedral so take a romantic evening walk here in the after all the day crowds have disappeared and enjoy the fantastic view of Budapest and the Danube below.

On our first day walking about, we were a little concerned that perhaps we were not where all the action of the city was located, but the number 16 bus (450Ft or 350 Ft if you buy a book of tickets in advance) will take you practically from the hotel door into the heart of the city below and save you walking up the steep hill at night - so dont be put off! The location is on a quiet street so we always got a good night's sleep.

A definite recommendation for a romantic weekend get-away!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 which although was considered their small 'standard' room - was certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The wonderful boutique hotel is located in Buda, the historic part of the city. We arrived rather early at 11am, however were able to check in right away. The guy at the reception was very curteous and showed us a beautiful twin room. It was big and in immaculate state with a big closet and very comfortable beds. The bathroom had a big walk in shower and a window, what I like. The lighting in the bathroom is bright, yet makes it difficult to shave or apply make up. I mentioned that upon check out and was thanked for the input! The breakfast was great, with freshly baked bread and home made jams. Having worked at hotels myself, the most stunning fact was the professional and curteous manners of all staff members, even the chefs! It felt like we made friends during our stay and sure will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMoved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Property: Baltazar Budapest
Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing