We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and value for money”
Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest
Ranked #6 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and value for money”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in Baltazar for 4 nights in January and I was so impressed by both the level of service and the value for money. The rooms and bathrooms are newly refurbished and stylish, with nice views over the small streets/squares of the Castle District. I'm originally from Budapest so would have probably preferred to be downtown, but I think the Castle District is a fantastic location for tourists as it offers the best views over the city and has a unique atmosphere.
The hotel is attached to a new brasserie and we ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Food was very good and also reasonably priced.
Finally, I would call out service - from the time of booking to check out - as exceptional. It's a small team which means that there is a lot of attention paid to guests. I am so impressed and will definitely recommend Baltazar to friends who are visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    60
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
296
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I (from U.S.) took a trip to Budapest, Prague, Cesky Krumlov, and Vienna. This was our last stop and our favorite place we stayed. The room was so stylish and comfortable! The bathroom was huge, great bathtub AND shower (was finding elsewhere that either the bathtub was good or the shower, but rarely both).

But what really made the Baltazar exceptional was the staff. We actually got a great deal because of the time of year that we were visiting (very low season) And even though we weren't the highest paying customers, we were taken care of as if we were. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We even had forgotten to pick up some local beer to bring home to our friends and came back to the room on our last night to find beer hanging on our door!!!

I will definitely stay at the Baltazar again. Great proximity to the sites in Buda and easy access via public transit to Pest.

Thanks for an incredible last couple of nights in Budapest!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Loved this place - stylish, friendly, fabulous part of Budapest and easy to get around all areas without using transport and official taxi from the airport was extremely easy and approx £20.00.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: They have 2 suites sleeping 4 available at just over double the price of a normal double - they look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It took us a really long time to find this place - boutique cool hotels are few and far in Budapest.

The staff at the hotel were excellent and beforehand had also been very helpful. the room was nice and modern and the bathroom was nice and new. The only downfall was the cleaning of the bathroom, attention to detail would make this a 5/5 hotel - one night we came home to find dirty footprints in the bath tub?

The staff were very reactive and always wanted to help, I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

my wife surprised me with a one night stay at the baltazar on the occasion of my 50th birthday, and i have to tell that the atmosphere, overall services and price/value proportion made my day .. the rooms boast with design, high end materials, and are very comfortable. the real highlight came with our dining experience in the hotel's restaurant. i can truly and strongly recommend this place to those who look for a different stay in budapest inmidst the historical castle district ..

Room Tip: ask the hotel for available room types in advance. the rooms are all different ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austrianhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are frequent visitors to Budapest. It was such a pleasure to find this beautiful new retreat in the Castle area, since so far we were always staying in the Pest area. I only rated the location as very good, because it is probably more convenient for the first time visitors to be in the city center. However, we found the location to be excellent for us!!! It provided convenient parking without city fuss, good night rest, and privilege to walk through peaceful and romantic Castle district in the evening and see that part of the city in a completely different light, without tourist crowds. Much is already said, bus No 16 goes from hotel to the city center, and in a good weather it would be a nice walk. We stayed in a suite, with a picture of Scarlett Johansson from "Girl with a Pearl Earring" on a bed frame. If I were to be picky, I would prefer original "Girl with a Pearl Earring" :-))) Joking aside, suite was very nicely furnished, spacious, comfortable, with all the amenities for a pleasant stay, big windows, nice view. "Power breakfast" was a good value. We also had dinner in one of the restaurants (21) in the same ownership recommended by the staff, and it was nice experience, lot of locals which is always a good sign. Overall, flexible personnel, good service, great value for money... we are coming back very soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights mainly to visit the Christmas markets in Budapest and highly recommend this hotel. They only opened this year (2013) and we hope they do well - we'd certainly like to stay there again if visiting Budapest in future. Quality accommodation, great design/style, friendly staff, good food, lovely location. The hotel's style is modern/retro/funky and it has a very individualistic, welcoming feel. We were 3 including teenage daughter and stayed in the largest suite which was ideal - beautifully furnished, spacious and with a separate bedroom which our daughter loved. Seemed like great value too (although most things do compared to London prices). The young staff and manager were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Can't comment on the restaurant much as we only ate breakfast at the hotel, but the food we had was very good. The Buda Castle area where the hotel is located is very charming - it contains some of the city's most attractive "sights" so is busy with tourists during the day, but in the evenings it became tranquil (in December anyway!) and it was nice to just wander around and then go to one of the many nice cafes/restaurants close to the hotel. Accessing the city centre just across the river is easy - the No.16 bus stops very near the hotel and only takes 10-15 minutes to reach the city. [Note also for first-time visitors to the city: we found the Airport Shuttle Minibus service very good - cheap, efficient and we were dropped-/picked up from the hotel door. And there's a discount if you pre-book online].

Room Tip: The largest suite is perfect for a small family with either one youngster wanting a separate room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,013 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,240 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Property: Baltazar Budapest
Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing