We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great location at the top of hill in the castle disctrict of Buda, number 16 bus on the corner takes you into Pest.

Hip hotel with great rooms, a lot of thought has gone into the design. Even got a free upgrade to a suite. Would definitely stay here again.

Comfortable clean rooms, cool design. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherinelutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel cant be beat!! The rooms and entire hotel is super hip (amazing design concepts, modern amenities, top of the line toiletries, cutting edge food menu)!!! The service is also impeccable - anything we need the manager personally took care of. All of the meals we had at the restaurant and for room-service, were delicious and beautifully presented. The location is convenient and romantic (access to local buses and overlooking the entire city just off a small cobblestone street near the Fort). If I go back to Budapest, I won't stay anywhere else!! Period.

Room Tip: Loved the "large" double room! Great view and bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovestotravel28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel Baltazar is a boutique hotel with a very good restaurant, or we could put it the other way round, a very good restaurant with an excellent hotel. The location may not be the most suitable one for the tipic tourist, as it is situated in Buda, on top of the hill, in a quite beautiful street. Bus no. 9, however comes every 5' to take you down to Pest and back conveniently. Their staff is efficient and very kind. The rooms are very well equipped. Budapest is a magnificent city. If you add Baltazar to your visiting experience, it will become even better. Congrats!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomorestories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm not overly good at writing reviews so I'll make it short and sweet: If you are going to Budapest, stay in Baltazar. The location is perfect, the staff are amazing, the rooms were fantastic, the restaurant at the hotel was exceptional and our overall experience in Budapest was better than we could have ever hoped for. Faultless,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Baltazar Hotel in Budapest is a boutique hotel nestled in an area with a deep sense of history. Almost all the major historical sites are located within walking distances. It is hard to imagine a brand new hotel, albeit small, in the 21st Century would consider presenting old European style to its guests. I daresay that the experiment is bold and pays off. The stay in the hotel is very comfortable, but attaches a certain nostalgia that lingers. The amenities and facilities are portrayed in old world charm settings. Even the bar and the restaurant create a nostalgia that few hotels can create. The hotel is excellent for the food it serves starting from the sumptuous breakfast to lunch and dinner. The bar is well stocked with wines reflecting the old world charm. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. The River Danube is just a kilometer away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MCDevinBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

On quieter Buda side which meant we felt secluded and away from the city, but didn't stop us enjoying Pest when we wanted - walked home every night which was actually lovely over the Danube. Our room -43- was beautiful, really big, great bathroom and the comfiest bed I've slept in for ages. Staff were great, helpful when needed but discrete when you didn't, let us check out late and didn't disturb when we wanted lie ins. Go try the business lunch at Onyx, amazing

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Baltazar is a wonderful hotel, situated in the lovely old cobbled streets in Buda, minutes walk from the Matyas Church and a handful of very good, local restaurants. Handily it is situated right next to the bus stop that runs straight into town in about 10 minutes so whilst staying in the medieval old town it's also very easy to get straight into the middle of Pest, and with it a picturesque journey. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, excellent service. They kindly upgraded us to a wonderful room, fantastic decor and incredibly comfortable, with l'Occitane products. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,034 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,488 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,542 reviews
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel

Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £71 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing