We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms / great service”
Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest
Ranked #7 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great rooms / great service”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Baltazar is a boutique hotel, which strikes you not only with its outstanding appearance and design but with this extraordinary vibe which runs through the place. The service was excellent, friendly and just there when you need them. I felt like home. May be the only drawback would be that it is on top of the Buda side and you would have to travel a bit longer to get to the Pest where most bars and restaurants are.

Room Tip: Room 42 is my favorite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    62
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
304
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited Budapest and stayed at this hotel which was fantastic. We travelled with our 9 yr old and were impressed. Fantastic staff plus beautiful and modern rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the room spacious, bathroom was very modern and clean. The area is great and the property is very modern as well. WE loved the open kitchen and the restaurant, food was delicious. The surroundings of the property are gorgeous with the Castle and St Matias church nearby. The staff was very nice and warm welcoming. The hotel has three other restaurants nearby which are excellent. I highly recommend this place if you want to visit and spend a long weekend or a week in Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We ended up booking this hotel at the last moment. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms unique and beautiful and so peaceful. we were in a large double room overlooking the Mary Magdalen Church. The room large, the bed comfortable, very clean with everything you could need. The service from the staff to the management was impeccable. Already I am trying to plan when we can go back to stay. This is a gem of a hotel, it opened last July and I wouldn't be surprised if it is impossible to book in the future this is definitely a hotel worthing staying at if coming to Budapest. Although it is on the quiet side in Buda Castle, the buses and transport are very close so getting to Pest side is very easy.

Room Tip: Floor 4 room 1 large double, but overlooks the Mary Magdalen Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlosandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a great hotel in Budapest, then look no further than Baltazar. This hotel has impeccable attention to detail at every level. The rooms are individually designed, very comfortable and spotless. If you want something very special, spend the extra money and book one of the suites. The staff, from the manager down are all fantastic and so helpful. This is a very well managed hotel. The restaurant attached is also great for both dinner and breakfast (a la carte), has a fantastic selection of wines, and would be on par with some of the great, casual restaurants in London etc. There are also some other great restaurants nearby, such as 21, which is run by the same company as Baltazar. The location of the hotel is in a peaceful part of town which boasts wonderful views over the city but is set away from the day time crowds of Matyas Church, Fisherman's Bastion, and the National Gallery - all just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is also close to some of Budapest's great baths, including Kiraly Gyogyfurdo, which are well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lhpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I can't say enough of this place... Great rooms, outstanding decoration, excellent bathroom, good location, very friendly staff! Out of this world restaurant! Close to all attractions in Buda and the bus in the corner takes you to downtown Pest in no time. I would definitely go back there, and will! The only letdown was a "Service Charge" that was not in the original quote, but minor issue, well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmachinegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Had the good fortune to spend 3 nights here and absolutely loved it! On the quite side of Buda in a perfect location to walk to many sites and restaurants. The rooms were immaculate and modern with great decor. Lilla was especially helpful in booking out stay and especially when we left a backpack behind when we left for Vienna. We normally do not eat dinner in the hotels in which we stay, but made the exception here and was very glad we did. The food was incredible! Should we ever have the good fortune to visit Budapest again, we would absolutely stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank skiobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The decor is beautiful and unique, rooms are comfortable, location priceless, staff friendly and incredibly helpful, had a truly personalized stay. I highly recommend it and would love to come back. Has made it high on my list of favorite hotels.

Room Tip: Third floor suites are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
975 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,739 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,274 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,191 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Property: Baltazar Budapest
Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing