We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - highly recommended”
Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest
Ranked #6 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The comments left by other guests are a very accurate reflection of what you can expect from this hotel in terms of accommodation, service from the staff and it's excellent location. It really is as good as the comments indicate. The location is great and the 16 Bus service is reliable and cheap and gets you to the main transport hub on the Pest side of the city. The restaurant was good and the rib eye steak is well worth a try. We took advantage of the hotel arranging airport shuttle tickets which took the hassle out of having to get a taxi and then wondering if they are taking you via the quickest route.

Room Tip: Go for 43 if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    62
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
308
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, OK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has it all! Beautifully decorated comfortable, clean room. Wifi worked great. Staff very helpful. Cafe wonderful. The location is on the quiet end of Buda, which I appreciated. We took the bus into town a few times and took a cab when we got tired and hot. Would recommend this hotel for any tourist wanting to see the sights in Budapest, or a business person wanting a quiet comfortable room.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a nice view of a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We found this hotel through tripadvisor, spent 3 nights there, and were really pleased. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms v comfortable (despite a baffling reference to 'suspicious lighting' in one of the hotel catalogues)/ It has a good restaurant and an excellent location on Castle Hill. We'll definitely be recommending it to family members who are visiting Budapest later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved everything about Baltazar and Budapest. The people, location, accommodations, food, wine, cappuccino! Everything we expected and more. Very fairly represented by other TripAdvisor reviews...you will not be disappointed. We travel quite a bit and can't remember being in one hotel this long. It was a good fit and that comfortable. Buda and Pest are close but different environments. The Castle District was perfect for us but it depends what you want. We love to walk and don't mind stairs... the stroll across the Danube to Pest was welcome. We had the pleasure of staying in 2 different rooms and if I had my way, we would have had a different room every night. Each has a unique decor and personality, but consistent quality. We thoroughly enjoyed many meals in the hotel restaurant but also at several of the sister establishments located around the corner. Pest Buda, 21 and Pierrot. Respective menus, decor, and price points but all possessing the same commitment to service and the gastronomic experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms but saw several more. They are all fabulous, possessing unique qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here following TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel lived up to expectations. From our arrival to departure staff were helpful and friendly. The room was decorated to a high standard and met all our needs. Its location is ideal. At the quieter end of the castle attractions it is still only 5 minute walk to Fisherman's Bastion. Number 16 bus to Pest stops a minute walk away. Bus seems to come every 5 minutes and only takes 15 minutes into Pest. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank qferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Baltazar Budapest is the perfect spot - away from the tourist traps, located on the Buda side there is much to do an see. The facilities are fantastic - we had room 43 - so were treated with a private balcony and loads of space. The room is well laid out, bathroom is spacious and the bed comfortable. Though there are no ironing facilities in the room - this was easily remedied as the staff do all the ironing needed at no cost so this is not a problem. The restaurant below is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Baltazar Budapest is part of a family business that has a number of restaurants - we tried three - Baltazar, 21 and Pest Buda - all were great and we would recommend each for a different dining experience - they are also not expensive. The bonus of these restaurants is that all are within walking distance of our accommodation. The Buda side of Budapest is old and romantic...with loads to see and do....the public transport is excellent and easily connects you to the Pest side...we enjoyed the hop on and hop off bus, tried the spas/baths which are worth doing ...and just generally walked the city to get a feel for it....with only 4 days in Budapest we had a spectacular time and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Baltazar. It is situated on the Buda side which is the quieter area (but can be a bit of a hike from the Pest side which is where most attractions are). The room was very comfortable and affordable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating (my boyfriend planned a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be awaiting upon arrival which was a lovely surprise). The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was the hotel restaurant was a bit overpriced. We had reasonable breakfasts in the restaurant (€15-€20) but lunch came out to €50 for nothing special. We has the most amazing 3 course dinner and bottle of wine in town for that price. I would definitely recommend the hotel though, very comfortable and nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cassietravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,018 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,780 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 334 in Budapest
1,306 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,208 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Property: Baltazar Budapest
Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing