We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest
Ranked #6 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Weston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a fabulous boutique hotel! My husband and I recently stayed here and had a very pleasant experience. Having been overbooked from another hotel. We were sent to Baltazar, where we were greeted by Daniel. He was not only knowledgeable about the area but very attentive to us and our friends. The rooms were very unique and very clean. It was truly my favorite hotel.
It was nestled away from all the hustle and bustle. There is easy access down into the town using the public transit system.
The restaurant is amazing, very fresh food and the best truffle fries I have ever had! The entire staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    60
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
297
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nicely furnished modern hotel with only 11 rooms. Our room on the second floor overlooked a peaceful courtyard that belonged to the owner. Very spacious room and nicely finished full bath. Located in a quiet corner on Castle Hill, yet very convenient to the major sights on the Hill and to restaurants. Hotel is also located on top of a restaurant owned by the same owner who also owns 3 other restaurants on Castle Hill. Even though breakfast is not included in the price, restaurant on the bottom floor is convenient enough. My only complaint was that there was not a coffee maker or kettle in the room, because I like to make tea in the evening. Since I always travel with a small thermos, going downstairs to get some hot water was not a big deal, and the staff learned my habit in a day. For the price they charge, this hotel provides excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this fabulous boutique hotel in July 2014. Located within the old castle district on the Buda side of the River Danube, this property provides a quiet respite from the hustle of busy Pest. Being involved in the hotel business over the last 20 years, I find myself subconsciously critiquing every aspect of every hotel stay. Balthazar biggest attribute is its rooms, they are spacious, affordable and very thoughtfully designed. The bed, bathroom, fixtures, finishes and materials are all tastefully contemporary. The service is personable without being intrusive. You cannot really walk to the centre of Budapest from this hotel, especially in the heat of summer, but you can easily jump on local bus no.16 across the street and it will take you to Budapest's heart in 10-15 mins. The bus passes by the hotel literally every 10 mins. Having this transport service overcomes whatever potential weakness this location may represent to a guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morgan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed several night here, and only have good things to say. The room was lovely, cozy, and quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It's an easy walk to most things, and attractions further out are also easy to get to thanks to access to Budapest's top notch public transit system. The attached restaurant/bar was great for a meal or just a end of day drink outside. I don't think kids would like this hotel much, but I'd recommend it to everyone else.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, where the sink/shower were open to the room. That was OK by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at the Baltazar and would definitely recommend to others looking for a quiet hotel on Castle hill. The room was decorated in a contemporary chic manner with all necessary amenities. Hotel is also within walking distance of many restaurants and close to the tourist attractions on the Buda hill. If you fancy a walk to Pest, it's just 15 minutes walk downhill, but be prepared from the return trip up the stairs to fishermens bastion.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and will ensure an unforgettable experience in Budapest

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warlock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a two night break here in July. The hotel was booked on recommendation of Tripadvisor comments. From the initial response on booking the hotel, the service has been faultless. We emailed them to request they book transport for us from the airport and this was done (via shuttle bus) for 9 euros per person. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming when we arrived.
We had a room at the top of the hotel which overlooked a small church. The room was spotless, the decor quirky (as you would expect in a boutique hotel), the bathroom facilities were top notch (including L'Occitaine toiletries), there is a small fridge in the room.
The Baltazar is located in a very quiet area of the Buda side, past the Fisherman's Bastion. There is a restaurant in the hotel where we ate one night. Our meals were very good and the wine choice was excellent.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful place to stay, is near some very good restaurants and bars and is also within reasonable walking distance to the Pest side of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The comments left by other guests are a very accurate reflection of what you can expect from this hotel in terms of accommodation, service from the staff and it's excellent location. It really is as good as the comments indicate. The location is great and the 16 Bus service is reliable and cheap and gets you to the main transport hub on the Pest side of the city. The restaurant was good and the rib eye steak is well worth a try. We took advantage of the hotel arranging airport shuttle tickets which took the hassle out of having to get a taxi and then wondering if they are taking you via the quickest route.

Room Tip: Go for 43 if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,694 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,244 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Property: Baltazar Budapest
Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing