We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Westend

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miroslaw8...
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived late but the owners were very nice, frendly and extreamly helpfull. The apartment is big but very warm, you can easily feel the spirit of old Budapest. It was " feels like home" sensation, and believe me - I travel a lot. Despite numerous nooks and crannies and a variety of stylish furnitures (which could impede the maintenance) everything was perfectly clean and tidy. Location is perfect for sightseeing and there is a good and cheep parking place nearby. This is one of those places, when you enter you know you made a good choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you Miroslaw for your kind words. I'm very happy that you have felt yourselves good.
Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPD69
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you like 1960's Soviet chic/decor this may be the place for you. On the plus side the flat represented value for money and the landlady was kind and helpful. On the minus side it was smelly (old cigarette smoke ?) the double bed was extremely uncomfortable and the location is In a fairly grungy area near a large train station.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
289regeve
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb clean, tidy and comfortable apartment in quiet location but close enough to walk to city centre”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in this lovely spacious apartment. Julia is fantastic - she let us enough food for supper and breakfast because we arrived late evening. Wifi availability was excellent. locality includes shops and bars and railway station, bus station and metro are a few minutes walk away from the flat. everything was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious clean apartment in good location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
post089
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect way to explore Budapest”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We loved staying at the Westend! It's lovely, quiet, and in an ideal location. We explored much of the city by foot while staying here for a week. Julia and Gabor, the owners of the flat, are really friendly and helpful. When our flight was delayed by two days, they let us adjust our dates without penalty. The flat itself has beautiful windows and extraordinary tall ceilings. It's located on a quiet street in the heart of Budapest. This is a perfect place to stay. When we come back to Budapest, we will definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melihegy
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
“Magnificent apartment and a very kind host”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The apartment is very spacious, with beautiful tall walls, and an internal feeling as if you were still before 1950s. The tapestry, the tall windows and doors add to this. The apartment is located in a quiet place right next to the west railway station, and a great & cheap parking place, this was important for us as we traveled by car. Because of its great placing, we were able to walk to some tourist sights like the 'Hosok tere'.
In total we were 4, but there was place for 5 people to sleep. Even though we arrived later than planned, the host was waiting for us. Another thing about the host is, that she is exceptional, she explained everything in detail, and gave us excellent hints on what to visit, where to eat, how to get around, and where to shop.
The payment was done right when we did the reservation, and no extra guaranty fee was required.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ifrane
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing