We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there if you have better solution”
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oriental Hotel
Ranked #281 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Don't go there if you have better solultions, not perfect location for sure, hotel inside is pretty spooky, very old-fashioned, without positive meanings. The worst of all, if you stay there during the period of excursion inviders, your nights will be sleepless.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evroputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2009

A visit to Budapest is to be recommended. A beautiful city, wonderful sights( the Danube cruise at night excellent ) The residents are most helpful & english is spoken bt all. The hotel is a short distance from the city, but trams and buses stop just outside the hotel which is clean and confortable, breakfast ok. We ate in the town and got back to hotel about 10.30pm would go back to the hotel value for money Cold at night but you get a blanket at most of the pubs and they have gas heaters

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

a large group of 15 family and friends stopped at this hotel, we loved the food , it was great that it was cooked to order, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were good, lovely hot showers and warm rooms, had very good links to the centre and nothing was to much trouble for the staff, we will be returning with a larger group this year as a lot of our friends stopped at the ibis and said the service was terrible, money doesnt buy everything .

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

I stayed five nights in Hotel Oriental in March 2008 with my wife. The room was a basic level room. For TV we didn´t find any remote control. Temperature was OK ( it was some + 10 C degrees outside). I asked for sauna as we arrived, but t was told to be "out of order". No problem, it would have cost 7 €/person/hour. Personal was very helpful and friendly people. Breakfast was Ok, but we normally took only coffee with bread and jam, since all the sallads, sausages etc were so "exotic/ national" for our taste. Also we didn´t find any mysli, youghurt, fresh vegetables, fruits etc. what you normally can expect. But pizzas in the same restaurant in the evening were cheap and tasty. The location is in suburbs, but if you only use the hotel for sleeping, this is a cheap choice. Bus connection to e.g. Schechnyi bats goes directly next to the hotel. To Metro M3 station Forgach you have to walk some 500 meters.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank musician80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

This hotel was awful and cheap. Apart from being located in a very weird-looking area of Budapest, it was cold... I practically froze under my blanket (it was the end of December and there were approx. 10 degrees Celsius in the room). The only good thing about this hotel: the food was great.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaPetraComan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Hotel was OK, rooms were quite tidy but no A/C was a big problem when you have +36 degrees outside. Breakfast wasnt, at least to my scandinavian taste, so good but at least there was one. Hotel staff was VERY polite and helpfull! The neighbourhood wasnt too bad to my opinion. I was there 5 days with my girlfriend and at least we didnt have any problems. I didnt see that anyone else had them either. Of course the location isnt the best one ( takes approx 15 minutes to city centre with bus etc) but at least this hotel is cheaper than those in the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Rooms were OK, but no A/C so very difficult to sleep at night in 35degree summer heat.
Very bad room service....bed never made...duvet thrown in the corner by the television.After the first morning breakfast I brought a cup of coffee to my room....that cup remained there for my 4 day stay...starting to grow mould and no one removed it.
Lifts were constantly out of order as was the gym/suana/pool....not sure if they even have this facility...maybe false advertising.
Very dodgy area....feeling of a nasty neighbourhood....did not feel safe during th day not to mind the night.
Dodgy electrics...lights constantly going on and off.Got the feeling that the electricity was turned off at night to save on running costs.
Would not recommed this hotel but I suppose for the price....you get what you pay for. Would not stay here again...prefer to pay a bit more for a better safer environment.
Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spudzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#108 of 336 in Budapest
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,241 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: Fay utca 61, Budapest 1135, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £41 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing