We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not for location”
Review of Hotel Polus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Polus
Ranked #263 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here at the end of May with two friends for a few nights. The first thing to note about this hotel is that it is quite out of the way if you are looking to explore the city ... it's obviously not impossible and we did go in to the city everyday. You need to take the bus/tram from outside the market (which is about a 4 minute walk from the hotel) to the end of the line and then get on the metro. The bus/tram takes about 20 minutes and then the metro is really quick depending on what you want to see and where you want to go.

The rooms were pretty basic and the beds were quite hard. The cleanliness of the rooms I have to say was average not excellent. The bathroom was also really basic and I wasn't a fan of the shower (each to their own).

The restaurant (at breakfast only) I found was not varied but what they did have was nice. We didn't eat here in the evenings as we ate out in Budapest. There was a bar outside the hotel on a derelict bus but we didn't see if it opened or not as it looked under construction.

The swimming pool was quite big and looked great for a morning swim.

The staff were attentive and more than happy to help out as best they could.

Overall, if you are looking for basic accommodation and don't mind a bit of a trip on the tram to the metro then this hotel would be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank XGlobetrottingXGirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel needs some serious updating both in looks and in service.

Staff is quite bad in English (luckily Budapest doesn't have many tourists per year :S ). On top of that they gave us Official Budapest City Map that was 2.5 years old so after we checked out some offers, including discounts with owning a tourist card, we decided to buy 48 h cards (at the hotel reception) only to find out later in the center of Budapest that most of the discounts and offers are no longer available which made our purchase almost useless - almost, because we used it only for driving in public transport but that way way overpayed in the end.

Rooms could be a LOT cleaner, especially bathroom. Shower gives you a feeling like you're in a sports locker room - 2 small walls on each side covered with tiles, water splashing out, etc.
Pillows and mattress served their time long time ago.

Breakfast - eatable if you didn't eat couple of days. Let's just say, you will be better off if you stick to the cereals.

Wi-fi signal in our room was available only if you sit on the toilet and connect there (with your smartphone in the air all the time) and our friends who had 2 other rooms (but further toward the end of the hotel) didn't have Internet at all in their rooms (only in hallway).

Indoor swiming pool was positive experience and hotel parking that had enough room with occasional tree shade, but was 4€/day.

Room Tip: Avoid corners suites if you need room wi-fi signal to be any good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Small room (in order to go to bad you had to be very carefull not to hurt yourself in the furniture). The furniture wasn't old, but was in very bad shape. The floor tiles were old and sometimes missing. The bathroom had a terrible smell. The breakfast was poor and we had to stay 10 min in line for a bad coffee. We parked inside for 4 euro/day and when we left it was very hard to pay with card because they wanted cash (maybe because of the commisions from the bank). It was a one night stay, but it was terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank Virginia-maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is very nice, excellent service at the hotel, the staff is attentive and friendly, answering all the questions. The room is comfortable, lovely pool. Right outside the hotel there is a huge supermarket where you can exchange money at a low rate. the only negative - to the center to take the bus 30 minutes. The perfect combination: price (low) - Quality (High).

Room Tip: No noise, quietly in any room (came to his colleagues on the trip)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludmila19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Dirty hotel - the restaurant floor was sticky, our feet stuck to the floors in the elevator;
Pillows and mattresses were very old – the cotton inside the pillow was wadded up and there were springs poking through the mattress.
Guests in hotel smoke in the rooms (tobacco and weed), loud guests were not stopped until 3 am.
No fans in the rooms, there are 2 fans for whole hotel.
Management charges $5 for 24 hours of Wi-Fi use.
Breakfast was inedible – salad looked and smelled like it was prepared a week ago, all other food didn’t look and smell fresh.
Very unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I spend three nights in this hotel, terrible! Room was dirty, pets are allowed so horrible stentch was everywhere. In addition food were uneatable, awful. Hotel has only one adventage, it's not so far from the city centre. Maybe one more, there is Tesco market and Mc Donald close to hotel, so You can buy everything You want for a minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We arrived to Budapest at 4 PM, driving from Brasov, trough Budapest to Gyor and back to Budapest. We were very tired and wanted to take a shower and sleep. The hotel is a nice place to stay and the price is just right for what they have to offer altough they said they have a swimming pool (and we bought ourselfs bathing suits just becouse of that) we couldn't use it becouse they had it shut down for the week end (they said we can't go swimming for there is no lifeguard at the pool). The food is not great, but it is our experience that you will never find good food in a 3 star hotel. The personel was ok, the room was clean, the shower was hot and we enjoyed our staying. The parking lot was supervised and the car stayed out of the sun becouse of the trees planted around the lot. This was pretty important for us.
Overall i would say, the room is clean, the bed is nice, shower is hot and clean, food is somewhere below average, personel is ok, not the best but they work with you if you're nice, It's not easy to get to the hotel but if you got a GPS it shouldn't be a problem, the swimming pool is indoor, small and sadly not always available. I would say that the price vs. staying is ok, you pay around 25 euro, in august, so you should realy not be expecting the that much :)

i wish you all a very nice trip and great weather!
I.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ildi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Passzio Pension
Passzio Pension
#207 of 336 in Budapest
12 reviews
Zugló
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#260 of 336 in Budapest
58 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#130 of 336 in Budapest
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oswaldo
#201 of 336 in Budapest
25 reviews
Rila Hotel
#237 of 336 in Budapest
94 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#107 of 336 in Budapest
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polus

Address: Szentmihalyi ut 131, Budapest 1152, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £27 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polus 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Polus is situated about 8 kilometers from the center of Budapest with easy public transportation to reach the all points of the city. The hotel is located next door to the large Polus Shopping center.The hotel offers 134 airconditioned rooms ranging from singles to apartments. Facilties include a restuarant, pub,swimming pool, solarium, sauna, fitness center and a bowling center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Polus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing