We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Architectural gem in bad condition”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiraly Baths

Kiraly Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.99*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #8 of 109 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Architectural gem in bad condition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had time to visit on bath, and chose Király (Royal) primarily because it was at walking distance from my hotel (Novotel Danube). The Gellert baths are much larger and more renowned, but I had visited them in a previous trip in 1984, and read some negative reviews about their current service.
The Király are in a very old building, dating from the Turkish occupation, centuries ago; indeed, its best attraction if the flavor of the Turkish style baths, with a pool under a very large cupola that lets light through its many holes. The installation offers the steam baths and hot air rooms (not Finnish-style dry saunas), similar to Gellert's, but differing from the styles of most saunas in neighboring countries such as Austria and Germany. They work, but do not look good.
The baths are coed, and swimsuits are required - Hungarian coed baths are not textile-free as in Austria and Germany. The staff tries their best, and the English of some is good enough, although not in the same level as in the best Hungarian hotels and restaurants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    258
    76
    37
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Spa in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Keraly was recommended by a local walking guide. If you like peace and tranquility, history and an authentic Turkish bath, this is the one for you. The entrance is on Fo Street near to the Margaret bridge. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. The signs were also in English so it was easy to find your way round. Would advise you take your own swimming costume and a towel from your hotel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not thw grandest, but does the job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Kiraly after reading the reviews on here and also reviews of other spa thermal baths in Budapest. We decided we didn't want to pay the much higher price for the "best tourist" attractions. Kiraly is noticeably old but very authentic and characteristic. Yes, very few signs are in English, but for me this shouldn't be a given. The staff are helpful and friendly - we found no problems with a little gesturing and pleasantries. The spa has three different pools of different temperatures, a jacuzzi, a steam room, a sauna and plunge pool. Yes, it's small and original. If you want the grand baths, go to The Gellert. But for an authentic, original experience, and as one reviewer said, go where the locals go!

Helpful?
Thank terri_havill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More for locals than for lush bath experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I went here for the first time last week, I usually go to the Gellert. It's about 1/4 cost of the Gellert, and will do the trick if you just want to soak, but it doesn't have the lush feel, or multiple room choices of the Gellert. I wish they would bling it up just a tiny bit, and put shower heads on the showers (they are just open pipes so no "spray", just a hard tube of water). The cabana assistants are friendly though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chefcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
367 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Don't let the condition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

After sampling most of the major bath houses in Budapest Kiraly ranks among my top picks. It is the oldest Ottoman bath in the city, dating from the mid-16th century, about 50 years before Shakespeare. It is relatively small and had suffered from a lack of maintenance until recent years. It was re-opened in the last couple of years as a facility which is open to all genders all the time. It was previously a very traditional bath which had separate days for men and women which allowed one to go without clothing, which this bather greatly prefers. Now only the comparable and lightly larger Rudas baths maintains this tradition. Still, it is a great pleasure to sit in the central pool under a dome studded with glass blocks that send shafts of light through the steam. There is a fine steam room with mint infused steam and very cold plunge pool next door. I find alternating between the two a number of times puts me in a better meditative mood than most other preparations. There are saunas and an array of different temperature pools, all within a relatively compact space. This makes it more intimate than many of the larger facilities and it is interesting just to sit and watch people over the course of an afternoon. For those on a budget, it is also about half the price of the Rudas baths and much less than the popular tourist haunts like Szechenyi which is now so expensive that there can be relatively few Hungarians. All around a lovely afternoon!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiraly Baths also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kiraly Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing